We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, but rooms and bathrooms showing their age”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Ranked #65 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The setting of the hotel is gorgeous. The food at all venues was spectacular. The breakfast buffet was extensive, the lunch buffet also very good and the Apsara Dinner show was an excellent event. The food stations highlighted local foods and the performance was extremely well done. The soft shell crabs I ate at dinner one night were phenomenal. Service is professional and many of the staff will acknowledge you by name. The chilled towels that you are presented with upon returning to the hotel are so refreshing and beautifully scented. The biggest downside is that the rooms feel old and not in a charming, historic way. The bathroom is small and cramped. On the bright side, the bath towels are the plushest I've ever experienced and the shampoo, conditioner and lotion lovely.
I found it strange that the hotel still uses actual keys and requests that you leave them at the front desk when away from the hotel. That doesn't seem terribly secure.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank TexasChilicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

My team and I would like to express our warm appreciation for your kind words. I am glad that Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor had served as a gastronomic haven and that you had a great time savoring our culinary delights.

With regards to our facilities, we are currently doing refurbishments in our bathrooms, however, only to a certain extent in order to preserve the heritage of the hotel. Nonetheless, I can guarantee that it will bring a significant improvement to our facilities.

In addition, in line with the theme of the hotel, we still use the old-fashioned locks, however, I beg to differ that we have an issue on security because of this. The safety and security of our guests and their belongings is definitely one of our foremost concerns and there has been no security issue in our hotel stemming from the use of these locks.

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,691)
There are newer reviews for Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 869 of 1,691 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

From the moment we arrived at this hotel, we were blown away by the courtesy and professionalism of the staff, and the charm of the hotel. We were greeted at the door with cold, damp facecloths to refresh ourselves (this was everytime we entered the hotel having been out), and shown to the bar where we were served a welcome drink whilst the staff checked us in. The rooms were checked about four times a day, and hand towels we had used early afternoon were changed by late afternoon. Beds were turned down each evening.
The restaurant staff were all very attentive and the food was excellent. We ate breakfast there each day and also had dinner on one occasion; all excellent.
Do check out the original 1929 elevator, which has been beautifully restored. The concierge was kind enough to take us up and down it; loved it!
I would definitely recommend a Tuk Tuk to travel in to town (approx. $1 per person each way). Couldn't fault this hotel at all, and we also stayed at Raffles in Seam Reap, which was just as good!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aldersbarnboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

It is heartwarming to read your positive review on every aspect of the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. I am proud to say that the elevator, restored to its former glory, is one of the hotel’s treasures and assets contributing to the hotel’s status as a landmark in Siem Reap. But what really makes the hotel stand out is the warm hospitality combined with the Raffles brand standard of service that makes our hotel like a home away from home for our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My wife and I have been in this hotel during our honeymoon in Vietnam and Cambodia, we chosen each hotel very carefully all of them 5 star but this one is quite odd and old fashion, you can see walls with not well painted and above all the bathroom is from the same time the Angkor temples. We have also have to say that the breakfast buffet is one of the best we have ever enjoyed. Additionally we asked for late check out since our flight was in the evening and they did not allow us to do it alleging that our room was ocupied the next day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

I regret to hear that your stay had not been fully well-spent and I apologize for the inconvenience that you had encountered during your stay. Please be assured that I had already taken necessary steps in rectifying these issues and, in addition, we have created a line-up of trainings for our staff with the end goal of providing the utmost service that we could.
Thank you very much and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

If you are visiting a place like Seam reap you would like to stay in a hotel which has history itself and this is certainly then a good choice for you. Gorgeous property, fantastically decorated lobby and room are old style but very well decorated. Stayed here a few years back but would highly recommend it. The Elephant Bar at the raffles is simply gorgeous. I would say this hotel is not to be missed...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ira D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

A warm appreciation for your wonderful review from our team at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. A stay in this historic hotel, which is also a landmark in Siem Reap being the first hotel catering travelers visiting the Angkorian temples, is indeed a great match to fully experience mysticism, heritage and luxury.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very pleasant, the staff very efficient and courteous. The cold towels each time we returned were very welcome! Our room was clean spacious and well appointed. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyne2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I hope your overall visit to the ancient Angkorian temples had been insightful and memorable, and I hope that we would have the opportunity to welcome you back again at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had two interconnecting rooms one for us and one for the children. The children's room was enormous with huge King single beds that they loved. Its a classic old colonial building that had been renovated although the hallways were long and cold (and I hazard, with my kids, noisy) as were the stairwells, somewhat reminiscent of an old hospital. Some wallpaper and rugs would do the trick. I'd also put in glass shower screens and the shower curtain reminded me of my first home!

The staff were very friendly, efficient, always on hand and genuinely seemed happy to help. There was also free wi-fi in room and fruit provided daily which was nice given the hotel prices were very high although the Raffles burger that I had for lunch was absolutely sensational.

The pool is the largest in Siem Reap and the pool staff were really on the ball with supply of cold towels etc.

The Breakfast Buffet although is a small space in a stunning dining room that was truly lovely to sit in. They had a great selection of fruit and different types of yoghurt dishes in little cups that were delicious.

The concierge even organised Mr Dong, a super friendly local tuk tuk driver to take me out to dawn at Angkor Wat, Bayan and to visit the elephants for $15 and his English and knowledge was fantastic. Great place to stay too as its close to the river and Pub St where all the good cheaper eats are. Loved Bayan- amazing!

They have two tennis courts and are right next to the National Museum. Tennis was free for guests which was nice as we were charged in the Four Seasons in Singapore. Be great to get more than three balls when playing tennis though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MADSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you very much for a wonderful review, but what really makes it wonderful is that you appreciate the hotel and our service, and most especially, that you had an enjoyable time with us.
Rest assured that we have noted of your suggestion and thank you very much for sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had the opportunity to have 2 nights here at the end of a pre-packaged Mekong Cruise.
This again is a classic old french colonial building renovated beautifully.
Staff at check in and porters very friendly and efficient.(actually being friendly and smiling seems to be natural to most Cambodians you meet)
The foyer and lounge area extremely comfortable.
Rooms for the group were not ready but still provided welcoming drink and cold towels and allowed us to sit there and take up space,
Actually went down town on Tuk Tuk obatined by hotel staff.
Room again was extremely well appointed, high ceilings, clean and maintained, bathroom was large and shower was great. There was also free wi-fi in room, dressing gowns for wearing to the pool area, slippers and fruit provided daily. Bottled water seemed to be replenished constantly(complimentary) as everytime we went out with a bottle of water another was there on our return.
Pool area was a beautiful setting and the pool staff were anazingly helpful with supply of cold towels etc.
Breakfast Buffet was another grand affair as it had an amazing selection of fresh food. The different types of yoghurt dishes in little cups was amazing. One has to ask one self how these countries can provide such fresh food and we struggle in Australia. It was a multi-national buffet. Staff remember your name.
The one down side to the hotel is the price of drinks and food(Dinner and Lunch) the prices are horrendous. One can go downtown on Tuk Tuk($USD6 for 2 people return) have a couple of beers and a good meal for 1/4 of the cost.
Note using tuk tuk is Siem Reap is not dangerous at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank queenslandtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you very much for your all-encompassing review and for your heartwarming compliments which I will pass on to my team. I am glad that you appreciate the heritage and the old-world ambiance of the hotel as well as our luxurious and delectable champagne breakfast. I hope that your Mekong Cruise concluded with wonderful and lasting memories of Indochina.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#26 of 361 in Siem Reap
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#62 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#41 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,331 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#52 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £158 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set across from the Royal Palace, is one of the landmark historic hotels of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina. Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor first opened its doors in 1932 but the legend lives on today after careful restoration. The hotel is rich in Cambodia history and full of original treasures, right down to the original working cage elevator in the lobby. Our doorman still welcomes everyone in a uniform inspired by the Royal Palace With the privilege of over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens and built around the country’s largest swimming pool, the hotel is a peaceful oasis to which to retreat after exploring the temples in the UNESCO World Heritage site only 10 minutes from the hotel. Relax and revitalise under the fragrant frangipani trees beside the magnificent pool inspired by Angkorian architecture, or enjoy a massage to ease away the travel. Stroll along the river to the vibrant markets and wonderful array of dining options. In addition to beautifully restored guest rooms you can choose from one of the luxury suites, including our most popular Cabana Suites with direct access from the balcony to the garden and pool. You may be surprised to know that Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor also has two of Siem Reap’s most luxurious two-bedroom Villas, providing utmost privacy and personal butler service in the private poolside setting. Food gourmets will delight with a variety of options including the popular Raffles Afternoon Tea and the Apsara Terrace, Siem Reap’s best cultural dance performance and dinner in the poolside gardens. For golf enthusiasts, there are several international golf courses and we recommend the award-winning Nick Faldo designed Angkor Golf Resort. Golf packages are available Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh open since 1929 and the capital city’s only luxury landmark hotel. With lush tropical gardens and built around two swimming pools it is an oasis for travelers exploring the vibrant capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing