We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place when in Siem Reap” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Ranked #59 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan USA
Level Contributor
171 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wonderful place when in Siem Reap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed at this location when visiting Angkor Wat. Nice well maintained older hotel with two very fine restaurants. There is also a HUGE swimming pool. Vey nice property - well located. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your wonderful compliments.
When visiting Siem Reap, it is, indeed, worth staying at the best address in town, at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor.
I hope that you had an enjoyable, comfortable and memorable time in this historic hotel and in Siem Reap in general.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,202
    278
    82
    36
    15
See reviews for
277
801
101
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I was booked here for a business meeting and decided spend a few relaxing days in Siem Reap to look around , and based on the Raffles name and their iconic hotel in Singapore, I expected the best.

On the business side, the conference room was Ok, but the air-conditioning left a little to be desired. The staff were fantastic and flexible to our ever changing schedule and needs, they just said yes and executed with a smile. In fact, the service they gave was the best I had ever seen for a business session in a hotel. There was always someone there we could ask help of, to find the next coffee, food, mints.... stress free meeting for an organiser.

Then came the holiday part. Great pool, great bars, piano player every night, the spa a little expensive but high quality, but again.... this hotel has some of the best staff I have come across not only in Asia, but the world. The room we had was in the old part, and there were a few times the hot and cold water played tricks, and the air conditioner adjustment not so great. Back to the staff.... the housekeeping staff again superb. Rooms made, refreshed a couple of times a day, turn down service.... yes... I know.... what you would expect from a 5 star hotel, but these people are just so nice and friendly to go with it... just a joy, and collectively the best staff I have ever come across anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Get in the new Section of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful compliments especially with regards to our service. A world class service only comes from the dedication combined with the innate warm Cambodian hospitality that our team provides. I hope that you had a meaningful and wonderful visit to Cambodia as a whole. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

You had us at "hello"! Upon our arrival,were we warmly greeted by your reception staff. After a long journey , we were eager to sample one of your cocktails in your well known Elephant Bar and was impressed with the entire bar staff. No request was too great. A breakfast buffet fit for royalty awaited us the following morning with an eager, friendly and professional staff. They anticipated our every need with a smile from ear to ear. A marvelous way to begin our stay in Siem Reap. Special kudus to IM. SOTHEARY who made sure all our desires and needs were met daily. We hated to say goodbye to our "family" at the Raffles. Our beautiful home away from home!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Your compliments are truly inspiring and heartwarming, and we feel especially grateful to be considered as your family and our hotel as your home away from home. It is wonderful to know that you had a marvelous and enjoyable time in our hotel and I hope that you had a magnificent journey to the truly incredible temples of Angkor.

I hope that it was not a goodbye but, instead, see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Had two day stay ay the Raffles in Siem Reap at start of a trip to Cambodia and Vietnam. It was a lovely way to start the holiday in a beautiful hotel. All staff were excellent and friendly. Breakfast boxes were provided for our early start at Ankor Wat and were stuffed full of goodies. The room was excellent with every aspect of hotel stay being well covered. Booking in and out were made to be a very pleasant experience. So much better than standing in a queue.
When we had a problem with the time of sailing on our Mekong cruise it was Raffles which came to our aid, along us to spend a morning by their pool even though we had booked out.
On reflection, at least another day at the hotel would have added to our stay in Siem Reap and I will have not difficulties in recommending the hotel to anyone going to Siem Reap.
Well done everyone and thank you.

Room Tip: Any that look out on the pool would be recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
It is wonderful that your stay at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor had set your Indochina holiday right and I hope that it had been a magnificent and memorable trip all throughout. Your kind words will go a long way providing inspiration and encouragement to my team.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

In 10 years of travelling the world I have not experienced a hotel providing service perfectionized to an extreme as seen at the Grand Hotel D'Angkor. Within 12 hours after our arrival literally every employee from doormen over waiters to housekeepers addressed my friend and I by our names. Food and drink preferences were picked up on within one day which enabled the waiter in the breakfast restaurant to focus on a brief small talk with us instead of asking repeatedly the "Coffee or Tea" question. Housekeeping service was quick, efficient and extremely meticulous. The pool boy came running towards us with towels and refreshments the moment we approached the pool area. Very impressive!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BK83_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
It is both overwhelming and inspiring to be regarded as a “perfection” especially because our team endeavors to provide the best possible hotel experience for our guests in this historic hotel. From all of us at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Our stay at Raffles SiemReap was truly the height of elegance. From the doorman who awaits your entry with chilled scented towels to the turn down service who gently places slippers by the bedside and leaves you an article from the hotel's past, this old world five star service. The staff is attentive without being overbearing. The breakfast buffet was a huge selection and we were pleasantly surprised that is changed slightly each day of our 3 night stay. Our party of 11 was satisfied with each meal we had in the restaurant. The pool is serene, clean and well attended. Cool towels are brought to your lounge chair. The rooms are sized generously, bathroom amenities are wonderful, complimentary bottles of water are in the room as well as bug spray should you require it. We did not. - The lounge was a treat after a long day of touring and the piano player was a welcome treat. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: A room on the second floor overlooking the pool is fabulous and each has a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoshiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
To receive from our guests that the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor sets the bar in defining elegance is both overwhelming and humbling for us. We truly appreciate your compliments and rest assured that we will maintain this standard and that we will continue to develop and innovate our service yet keeping the old world charm and heritage of the hotel.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
279 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

One is greeted at door by a staff member bearing cold, refreshing towels, and offered cool drinks.
But that is just the introduction to service that is out of this world. When I asked for a wake up call at 5:00 AM they offered to send up coffee or tea.
It is an excellent hotel, easily. The rooms are lovely with luggage racks already opened, slippers by your bed, complimentary water bottles, and Internet that works.
We are a group of over 50 and all wished we could stay another night.
The pool is really lovely, I recommend using the spa for a massage that is reasonably priced.
My room was on the second floor and overlooked the most charming and elegant pool.
It is truly an exotic place, but has excellent service to go with it, making it a wondrous experience.
I would return...
The bathroom was beautiful, and elegant also.
There are lovely shops in the hotel.

This hotel experience, is something NOT to be missed, and quite unique from a Western hotel chain. It is worth it.

Souvenir pick:
My pick was buying a Raffles backpack ($29.oo) as a souvenir, and the tea towels ($10.oo) in one of the gift shops with the Raffles hotel emblems.
The tenth century Stone Temple fragments, etc, in the cases in the restaurants are also for sale.

Room Tip: I had second floor facing pool. There is a nightly show of Cambodian dancing with music. It did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcopolopaloalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
It is a pleasure to know that you and your group had a wondrous experience at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. Your compliments serve as our reward and our motivation to continue providing and improving ourselves, and thank you very much for sharing them with us.
We would be pleased to provide you another memorable experience should you have the opportunity to return again in this wonderful paradise that is Siem Reap.

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#38 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#19 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#54 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,495 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.3 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#26 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Property: Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#48 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#49 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set across from the Royal Palace, is one of the landmark historic hotels of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina. Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor first opened its doors in 1932 but the legend lives on today after careful restoration. The hotel is rich in Cambodia history and full of original treasures, right down to the original working cage elevator in the lobby. Our doorman still welcomes everyone in a uniform inspired by the Royal Palace With the privilege of over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens and built around the country’s largest swimming pool, the hotel is a peaceful oasis to which to retreat after exploring the temples in the UNESCO World Heritage site only 10 minutes from the hotel. Relax and revitalise under the fragrant frangipani trees beside the magnificent pool inspired by Angkorian architecture, or enjoy a massage to ease away the travel. Stroll along the river to the vibrant markets and wonderful array of dining options. In addition to beautifully restored guest rooms you can choose from one of the luxury suites, including our most popular Cabana Suites with direct access from the balcony to the garden and pool. You may be surprised to know that Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor also has two of Siem Reap’s most luxurious two-bedroom Villas, providing utmost privacy and personal butler service in the private poolside setting. Food gourmets will delight with a variety of options including the popular Raffles Afternoon Tea and the Apsara Terrace, Siem Reap’s best cultural dance performance and dinner in the poolside gardens. For golf enthusiasts, there are several international golf courses and we recommend the award-winning Nick Faldo designed Angkor Golf Resort. Golf packages are available Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh open since 1929 and the capital city’s only luxury landmark hotel. With lush tropical gardens and built around two swimming pools it is an oasis for travelers exploring the vibrant capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing