We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food and the people were amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Ranked #63 of 373 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at this hotel in Siem Reap. It was one of our favorite parts of our tour through Asia. We LOVED their breakfast. My husband had a fresh crepe every morning and I had an omelet each day with fresh juice. It was a beautiful property with some of the friendliest staff we have come across. The rooms were comfortable, though were not remarkable, but the grounds were lovely. The only part that we did not care for was their high-end restaurant. We were rather disappointed with the quality, but it did not overshadow the rest of our experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenHillJHCCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Thank you very much for your positive comments. I am glad to know that your stay with us had been a wonderful experience, and that the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor had created a special memory on your Asian tour. Your comments will serve as an inspiration for our team to further improve and innovate.

Once again thank you very much and we look forward to having you here again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 885 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a garden view room which was impeccable and very quiet. Staff brought a fresh bowl of tropical fruit daily and the housekeeping was excellent. Bed and pillows all very comfortable.The pool is huge and we enjoyed the poolside drinks and food service - had a great salad nicoise for lunch. Could I suggest more shakes and maybe smoothies on the menu? We were very impressed that the doorman and restaurant staff remembered our names too, the staff are efficient and charming. A step up from Raffles Le Royal in Phnom Penh where we also stayed.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JanineON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Thank you very much for staying at our historic hotels, the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor and the Raffles Hotel Le Royal. It is wonderful to receive your compliments and a pleasure to know that your stay with us had been tranquil, comfortable and enjoyable. Rest assured that your kind words will definitely uplift the morale of our teams.

Thank you very much as well for your suggestion and please be assured that we will look on ways to improve our beverage selections.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in our colonial paradise in Siem Reap or in any other Raffles property in the world.

Once again, thank you very much.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

After 4 weeks in Southeast Asia we were lucky to end on such a high note. The hotel is in an French colonial building which has been renovated and kept spotless. There is an impressively large swimming pool kept at a pleasant temperature for all swimming levels.
The service level is incredible with sweet attentiveness but never intrusive. Breakfasts are a delight on the terrace or inside, evening cocktails are available in two famous bars and dinner BBQ with traditional dancers is a must.
And of course, there are famous temples nearby!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e_borins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

It is a pleasure to hear that your Southeast Asian trip had fared very well and I am glad that the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor had created a lasting impression and that you had a wonderful time with us.

My team and I would like to thank you for your kind compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

If you are looking to be pampered and for the best accommodation then look no further than the Raffles Grand. We were warmly greeted upon our arrival and with friendly smiles the whole time we were there. Staff learned our names after just one interaction and noted our food preferences. Rooms are very well decorated and fully stocked. Pool staff is friendly and very attentive. Buffet restaurant has fantastic food and service while their high end restaurant offers a modest upgrade in food quality. The wine list in le grand is dizzying but very good. Overall prices are steep for Siem reap but this will be true first class service.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DharmaDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

It is both inspiring and rewarding to receive your compliments and rest assured that I will share your kind words with my team. I am glad that you only have great things to say about us and I hope that you’ve had unforgettable memories of this journey to the wonders of Angkor.

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Absolutely incredible place to stay for four nights while touring the temples. Had very nice luxurious park view room. Morning buffet breakfasts were wonderful sitting on veranda overlooking the pool. Used the pool everyday to cool off--so elegant and large and attentive pool staff. Staff was so helpful throughout our stay. Elephant bar was special with great cocktails and nightly happy hour.

Watch the crowds while you here but despite the crowds this is amazing place.

Go to Pub Street by tuk tuk and see the fun. Make a reservation early for the Haven Restaurant just off pub street--wonderful local and western food, draft beer and owners that take in orphans to train after they have to leave the orphanage.

Do not do what everybody else does while visiting the temples.

1. Plan your sunset trip to Angkor Wat carefully. Do not go to Phnom Bakheng unless you like huge crowds and a very distant view of Angkor Wat at sunset. Find someplace peaceful. Buy a bottle of wine and bring a towel and sit out on the moat around Angkor Wat with cheese and crackers and enjoy

2. Go to back gate (east gate) to Angkor Wat after a 6AM breakfast at the hotel. Enjoy the beautiful gate and back entrance nearly by yourself vs hundreds who come to front main gate to see sunsrise.

3. Spend 2-3 hours exploring Angkor Wat before the crowds get there around 930 or 1000

4. Then go to fabulous jungle temple Ta Prohm from 10 to noon while people are visiting Angkor Wat

5. Eat a late lunch so you can go to Bayon and Angkor Thom from 12 to 230 when everybody is at lunch and the temple is nearly deserted.

6. Enjoy the Raffles the rest of the day

7. One day rent a tuk tuk and go to the real jungle temple Beng Mealea. You will get a great view of rural Cambodia in an open air tuk tuk. It is nearly 50 miles but well worth the journey and the destination. Take a car if a tuk tuk does not appeal to you for such a long journey. This will be a long day.

Raffles is incredible for the hours you are not visiting the temples

Room Tip: Thought the park view rooms were better than the pool view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarkelovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Your kind words extended to us is just as incredible, and our team at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor sends our appreciation for your compliments. It is a pleasure to know that our hotel had served as your haven during your journey to the mystical temples of Angkor and I hope that you’ve had lasting memories from this wonderful experience to reminisce.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed at Raffles at the end of a six week trip to Asia and both the Grand Hotel d'Angkor and Le Royal in Phnom Penh were unexpectedly the highlights of the trip. The Grand Hotel d' Angkor is a beautiful hotel; built in the 1920's and in my opinion faultlessly updated and restored into a sort of timeless place that is all too rare today. We expected the hotel to be a bit stuffy considering the level of luxury, but instead found a happy, vibrant, smiling atmosphere among the staff from the minute we walked in the door until we checked out.
When we arrived I was under the impression that our room rate included breakfast, which it did not after I checked the details of my reservation. I mentioned this at check in and shortly after we were shown to our room we received a message that complimentary breakfasts would be included per the manager. We didn't ask for this, and it was a big deal because the breakfast is one of the best I've ever had in a hotel, anywhere. This set the tone for the excellent service we found throughout our stay.
The hotel itself is so pretty its just fun to walk around and marvel at the beautiful windows and details that more modern hotels now lack. Our room, which was one of the standard ones, was faultlessly appointed, comfortable, and the maid staff seemed to have refreshed the room just about every time we had been out.
I'm a distance swimmer and the pool is amazing. I was told it's 37 meters long and 17 meters wide. One of the largest hotel pools I've ever seen and swimming laps was a huge pleasure. After most of the day touring around the temples of Angkor (which can be pretty tiring) relaxing at this wonderful pool was really a treat.
The only fault I can mention is that the wifi went down or was slow a couple of times, but you have to remind yourself that you're in Cambodia after all.
I would recommend the Grand Hotel d'Angkor to anyone not just for the beautiful surroundings, but the graceful, serenely efficient atmosphere and service.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the pool would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

It is inspiring to receive such wonderful compliments and I am glad that both the Raffles hotels in Cambodia had been the highlights of your Asian cultural immersion. It is such a pleasure how you've described our hotel – elegant and timeless - two of the facets of this Siem Reap landmark’s unwavering charm.

From our team at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor in Siem Reap and the Raffles Hotel Le Royal in Phnom Penh, thank you very much and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here with our 2 teenage sons as the first stop on our holiday in Cambodia, and it was a lovely place to land and catch up on some rest after long flights. The service is quietly comfortable and luxurious, food delicious, and hotel is well located. The Aspara dance show was briefly interesting, but a bit lack luster. This is not a slick, modern hotel chockerblock full of Western amenities- and that is exactly what is so appealing about spending some time here. A stay at this hotel is to experience an era of times gone by, and a gentler, more elegant existence. We would stay here again if we return to Cambodia.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyN162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

It is wonderful to hear that the you had began what must had been a magnificent journey to this paradise at the storied Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. Thank you for appreciating the heritage and the ambiance of the hotel. I hope that you had collected lasting memories in our hotel and in Cambodia.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#50 of 373 in Siem Reap
1,420 reviews
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#29 of 373 in Siem Reap
777 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#62 of 373 in Siem Reap
3,174 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.3 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#43 of 373 in Siem Reap
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £179 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set across from the Royal Palace, is one of the landmark historic hotels of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina. Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor first opened its doors in 1932 but the legend lives on today after careful restoration. The hotel is rich in Cambodia history and full of original treasures, right down to the original working cage elevator in the lobby. Our doorman still welcomes everyone in a uniform inspired by the Royal Palace With the privilege of over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens and built around the country’s largest swimming pool, the hotel is a peaceful oasis to which to retreat after exploring the temples in the UNESCO World Heritage site only 10 minutes from the hotel. Relax and revitalise under the fragrant frangipani trees beside the magnificent pool inspired by Angkorian architecture, or enjoy a massage to ease away the travel. Stroll along the river to the vibrant markets and wonderful array of dining options. In addition to beautifully restored guest rooms you can choose from one of the luxury suites, including our most popular Cabana Suites with direct access from the balcony to the garden and pool. You may be surprised to know that Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor also has two of Siem Reap’s most luxurious two-bedroom Villas, providing utmost privacy and personal butler service in the private poolside setting. Food gourmets will delight with a variety of options including the popular Raffles Afternoon Tea and the Apsara Terrace, Siem Reap’s best cultural dance performance and dinner in the poolside gardens. For golf enthusiasts, there are several international golf courses and we recommend the award-winning Nick Faldo designed Angkor Golf Resort. Golf packages are available Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh open since 1929 and the capital city’s only luxury landmark hotel. With lush tropical gardens and built around two swimming pools it is an oasis for travelers exploring the vibrant capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing