We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely colonial style hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Ranked #65 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We spent two nights at the elegant, colonial style hotel in a quick visit to Siem Reap and we couldn't have made a better choice!
The building is a 1920's built with large elegantly decorated lounges and restaurants.
Our suite with very large four posted bed was huge plus a very large and elegant lounge.
Two marble bathrooms one with a large shower enclosure both with all the amenities you would expect from a 5 star hotel.
The hotel has a beautiful and huge swimming pool with lots of loungers in surrounded by well looked after tropical grounds.
Rooms are clean and serviced twice a day, including the double terrace looking towards the pool.
We dined twice in the hotel restaurants and the food is excellent with a good choice of local dishes and also western food.
The staff everywhere are excellent and always pleasant and helpful.
All prices in the hotel are in US dollars as it's the norm in Siem Reap so you don't need to change any money into local currency.
The hotel is located between the town centre and all the temples and airport which makes the distances anywhere about 15-20 minutes by car.
Breakfast is again very good with large variety of international and local tastes.
We really enjoyed our stay and we highly recommend the hotel especially for its tranquil atmosphere after a a hard day visiting the sights.

Room Tip: The suites facing the pool are really fantastic
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OTT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on your stay at the storied Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. I am glad to know that our hotel served as your perfect haven on your short visit to Siem Reap. It is wonderful to receive all your inspiring compliments and please be assured that I will share your kind words with my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for another luxurious, tranquil and, hopefully, longer escapade to the mystical ruins of Angkor.

Once again, thank you very much.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,691)
There are newer reviews for Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 1,691 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed at Raffles because the swimming pool area and gardens were very spacious and we were not disappointed. The welcome at the hotel was excellent with Christian the Manager and many of his staff greeting us. The hotel is very spacious, the lounges, restaurant and the pool area is very calm and relaxing. They bring you a sun hat, clean your sunglasses and spray your face with lemon grass refresher if you wish! The rooms are very nice, the hotel is slightly old fashioned but that is to be expected of this type of building. Spotlessly clean throughout, the housekeeping was outstanding and the staff could not do enough for you. The bathrooms do need to have thermostatic control showers and the lighting could be better in the bathrooms. The breakfasts were excellent and they offer wine tasting, cocktail tasting. Vandy at concierge was excellent and recommended and organised many things for us. Thank you for a wonderful stay. I would highly recommend to stay here if you want time to relax and be looked after while visiting all the wonderful temples in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKMary611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments on your stay at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. We appreciate and value your suggestions as well, and rest assured that we will have a look on how to improve our room facilities further.
Overall, I am glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us and particularly loved our vast gardens as well as our famed pool.
The pleasure is on us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We arrived in Raffles from a short flight from Hong Kong, by Dragon Air. The check-in was very simple with a good arrangement of drinks which are specialities of the Elephant Bar. We went to our rooms and are very good to say the climate and economy of Cambodia. The staff greeted us very well with constant greetings, I was specially greeted by the Pool staff and the Doormen. Every time we came back to the hotel there would always be a man with a plate of cold towels to refresh you. The food was very good not specialising very well in Western Cuisine but still a good effort. Breakfast was very good, a wide array of everything from Bacon to Omeletes. The pool was very big, refreshing after a day of visiting tiring temples. It is a classic worth visiting.

Room Tip: If you get a higher level it tends to be quiter and has better service yet room service comes later...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xavi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

I am glad to know that you had a great time at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor with its culinary flair, heritage and, most of all, service. Our signature Restaurant Le Grand is actually known for the Royal Cambodian Cuisine and I hope that you had a taste of the recipes handed down from generations of the Royal family.
It had been a pleasure having you here with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We arrived at Raffles after 3 flights and 36 grueling hours travalling to a warm welcome and relaxed check-in. The room was comfortable and spacious. We had an early start the following morning to visit Angkor Wat at sunrise so the hotel prepared a breakfast for us to take with us which was excellent, and was ready for us in a rucksack at reception. The following morning we were treated to a champagne breakfast before leaving, 5* from beginning to end.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback and I hope that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the historic Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor and that your exploration of the mystical Angkorian temples had been a meaningful and inspiring journey.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We were 3 couples visiting Siem Reap on our vacation together. Our travel agency- infinite journey- from Pune, India made all the arrangement . Since all of us live in USA, we were little worried about the arrangement. What a wonderful surprise!
This hotel is a very classic colonial style hotel with a royal touch. Beautifully located just across the King's Palace , it is ideally located close to the city, night market and all the restaurants.
It has a beautiful swimming pool and a Garden.
Rooms are specious, staff is very friendly and the manager went out of his way to make sure that we would have variety of vegetarian choices in the Buffett .

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bharat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and I am glad that it had been a splendid, comfortable and enjoyable vacation for all of you. We, indeed, expanded our vegetarian options and thank you very much for your compliments. I hope that you had enjoyed our gastronomic treats of the Royal Cambodian Cuisine.
We look forward to welcoming you for another grand vacation at the historic Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this lovely hotel after a long journey from the UK. We particularly liked the colonial style of the building and decor, and the service throughout was particularly good, just as we had expected from this luxury brand. Staff really welcoming and helpful. Our room was spacious, all mod con, and a good (firm) king-size bed. I particularly enjoyed the huge swimming pool, 40m long, and a joy for morning lengths prior to breakfast! The breakfast itself was terrific, great buffet, egg station and crepe station too. We sampled the fine dining restaurant one evening, and were guided through the Cambodian food menu by an attentive head waitress and had some lovely local food, prepared to a very high standard. Prices, at today's exchange rates were roughly what you currently pay for a 4* hotel in London. So really quite reasonable by those standards. And the Singapore sling in the cocktail bar came out at much less than you pay in Raffles in Singapore - but the same drink and comparable ambience! A recent reviewer complained about crowding from a tour group; there was a tour group in the hotel when we stayed, but this didn't bother us at all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

A warm appreciation for your wonderful, all-encompassing review. I am glad that you had appreciated and enjoyed all aspects of the hotel - the service, facilities, culinary treats and, most especially, the heritage of the hotel. I appreciate that you had enjoyed our Singapore Sling and I hope that you also had our signature drink the “Airavata.” Overall, I hope that you had a magnificent and memorable exploration of the wonders of Cambodia.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one night when visiting Siem Reap. The hotel was nice with clean, spacious rooms and service was generally good. However, there was a large tour group staying when we were there so the hotel felt very crowded and noisy. While we would recommend it to other travelers, we didn't feel like it was as nice as other hotels we've stayed in around Asia.

A few tips:
- Consider applying for an e-visa online before arriving in Cambodia. While you can do a visa on arrival, the line was very long especially when multiple flights land around the same time. We had done the e-visa prior to arriving and were able to go straight to the immigration counter and be the first to get through.
- They accept US dollars everywhere we went in Siem Reap.
- If you are able to, I would highly recommend getting a private tour guide and driver for the day to visit Angkor Wat and the surrounding temples. The hotel can arrange this for you. The reason for this is that the driver will drop you off at one entrance and then pick you up at a different exit. This meant we didn't have to walk all the way back through in the same direction we came. They can also organize your day so you avoid the temples at peak hours and tell you which entrances are less crowded. We thought it was well worth the money.

We stayed in one of the suites in the villas surrounding the pool. The suite was very spacious and quiet but there were a lot of mosquitoes. Breakfast was included with our rate and was a buffet with great selection. Overall a good hotel to serve as a base for exploring Angkor Wat and the surrounding temples but nothing extremely memorable about our stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PradaLuggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on your stay at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. I regret to know that you had encountered some minor discomforts during your stay with us. Despite these, I am glad that you had enjoyed our champagne breakfast and that you appreciate our service.
We have well noted of your comments and suggestions and we would be glad to have you back here with us and rest assured that you will have a more memorable and pleasurable stay.

Thank you very much.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#26 of 361 in Siem Reap
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#62 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,004 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#41 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,331 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#52 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £158 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set across from the Royal Palace, is one of the landmark historic hotels of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina. Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor first opened its doors in 1932 but the legend lives on today after careful restoration. The hotel is rich in Cambodia history and full of original treasures, right down to the original working cage elevator in the lobby. Our doorman still welcomes everyone in a uniform inspired by the Royal Palace With the privilege of over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens and built around the country’s largest swimming pool, the hotel is a peaceful oasis to which to retreat after exploring the temples in the UNESCO World Heritage site only 10 minutes from the hotel. Relax and revitalise under the fragrant frangipani trees beside the magnificent pool inspired by Angkorian architecture, or enjoy a massage to ease away the travel. Stroll along the river to the vibrant markets and wonderful array of dining options. In addition to beautifully restored guest rooms you can choose from one of the luxury suites, including our most popular Cabana Suites with direct access from the balcony to the garden and pool. You may be surprised to know that Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor also has two of Siem Reap’s most luxurious two-bedroom Villas, providing utmost privacy and personal butler service in the private poolside setting. Food gourmets will delight with a variety of options including the popular Raffles Afternoon Tea and the Apsara Terrace, Siem Reap’s best cultural dance performance and dinner in the poolside gardens. For golf enthusiasts, there are several international golf courses and we recommend the award-winning Nick Faldo designed Angkor Golf Resort. Golf packages are available Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh open since 1929 and the capital city’s only luxury landmark hotel. With lush tropical gardens and built around two swimming pools it is an oasis for travelers exploring the vibrant capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing