We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 nights Siem Reap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Ranked #70 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Wonderful experience, extremely attentive personnel and well trained, the prices of the drinks at the bar are a little steep but the overall experience was outstanding! The dance show behind the pool was absolutely worthwhile and for us much better then the commercial "Smiles" show!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter_burgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, Executive Assistant Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us on your recent visit. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the luxury and service our team provides, in particular that you enjoyed the Apsara show which is one of signature events.
From our team at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Cyrille Carmona
Executive Assistant Manager i/c Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 1,776 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is located within a short walk to the old market area where there are several resaurants and bars along with the markets so we could easily leave the hotal and experience the good quality local food and shop for some bargins at the markets then return to the hotal to enjoy time around the pool, and gym.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, Executive Assistant Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you very much for staying at the storied Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. We are pleased that you had a great and memorable exploration of the wonders of Angkor and all the fascinating places that Siem Reap has to offer.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Cyrille Carmona
Executive Assistant Manager i/c Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Superb service as always from a Raffles establishment in very elegant surroundings. This hotel is as grand as the Grand Angkor name suggests. There is a very high service level - nothing ever seems too much to ask for

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Thank 187147George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, Executive Assistant Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

It is great to hear that that you had a wonderful and elegant holiday at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. I hope that you had a memorable and inspiring journey to the magnificent ruins of Angkor.

Kind regards,
Cyrille Carmona
Executive Assistant Manager i/c Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We returned to Siem Reap and Angkor after a 10-year hiatus. We were astounded at the growth (e.g., more than 240 hotels from a base of a couple of dozen a decade ago), although dismayed at the exploding, if inevitable, commercialization of a once-tranquil site. The community surrounding one of the man-made wonders of the world is increasingly going the way of Bali, Boracay and Phuket. So the placid oasis of excellence we found at the Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor was that much more appreciated.

The hotel is superbly maintained, having been completely refurbished in the late-1990s. Virtually all rooms in the main wing of the hotel have excellent views, are bright and deploy tastefully the Art Deco embellishments that are a trademark of so many colonial-era hotels of this period. The dominant impression is one of understated elegance, rather than the ostentation and kitch so prevalent in many new hotels.

The staff at the Raffles are superbly attentive, unfailingly cheerful (with only one or two exceptions), and impressively proactive. Of particular note was Amanda in the Restaurant Le Grand: she was knowledgeable, interactive, clearly proud of her profession and doing her profession proud, and possessed of a wonderful personality. The staff of Café d'Angkor were likewise a pleasure to meet in the morning - going out of their way to start one's day cheerfully. The Front Office and Concierge staffs were of the highest quality. Our butler, Vutty (forgive the spelling!), organized trips and events for us with speed and efficacy. Our driver, Chamman, was personable, justifiably proud of his hotel and his city, and unfailingly punctual and helpful, doubling as a tour guide. The doormen never failed to address us by name, providing towels on return from the outside heat and inquiring regularly about our activities.

The quality and variety of food in the hotel was very high. The wine list in the Restaurant Le Grand was extensive but not overwhelming and very well-chosen - both for quality and for value. The bar areas are comfortable and intimate. The spa and fitness facilities are up-to-date, clean and aesthetically pleasing. The pool is quite large and visually attractive, but for some reason the water was practically opaque - it should be crystalline in its clarity. Because of that, and the lack of any lane markers, the pool is of limited use for serious lap swimming and more suitable for wallowing about on the periphery. More attention should be devoted to its cleaning/treatment.

An excellent hotel and one to which we will surely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KGRLaCroix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, Executive Assistant Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

It’s great to know that you had found the serenity you deserved amid the hustle and bustle of budding Siem Reap at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor, while trekking the heritage sites of Angkor, and I hope that your experience had been insightful and memorable.
Thank you very much for your wonderful compliments to Amanda, Vuthy, Chamnan, and for the whole team and rest assured that these will serve as an inspiration to them.
Lastly, thank you very much for appreciating the old world elegance of the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor that, I hope, had created a lasting impression on you.
Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Cyrille Carmona
Executive Assistant Manager i/c Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I travel a lot. I've stayed in many of the finest hotels in the world - Oberoi's, Four Seasons, Peninsula's, Mandarin's, Waldorf's, etc. Other hotels can match the ambiance, décor, facilities. I have yet to encounter better service - anywhere. Certainly, staff were everywhere. However, their approach was subtle and sophisticated. It was never onerous or misplaced. The entire team tries their hardest to greet you by name in every hotel venue. (We came in late one night and the night doorman had to think for a split second - AND got the name right!) The experience was exceptional.

Regarding the hotel itself, the accommodation were the perfect blend of French Colonial retrospective and modern convenience. Given the location in the South East Asian tropics, it was amazing how the rooms were clean, bright and fresh with the AC on or off. Somewhat remarkable for folks that have visited a lot of tropical climes. The restaurants were great. I typically rate restaurants by consistent performance across all meals throughout day, as well as, across the courses in a meal. Raffles gets an A+. All aspects of the breakfast buffet passed with flying colors. Dinner was exquisite. As importantly, while prices were a bit high for Cambodia, they were a bargain for NYC (last week) and my home town of Pittsburgh (not the epicurean capital of the world.)

Cambodia itself was great. Being at Angkor Wat on Easter was a bit spiritual. I know I'm crossing Christianity, Hinduism and Buddhism, but spirituality transcends human-defined boundaries. The temples were awesome. My wife and I did tuk-tuk's and tour guides at the sites versus pre-arranged operators. We did do one day of "pre-arranged". The guide was insightful and helpful. However, we prefer our pace to someone else's. All sites are a very manageable tuk-tuk ride from the Raffles. Also, the concierge was very helpful providing "insider information" once we told him we wanted to go solo.

Finally, the hotel was tremendous. It's in a great location and is as genteel as can be imagined - anywhere. Two minor things to mention. The hotel does have a 14-day cancellation policy. I had to leave a day early. This was a bit inconvenient. The hotel manager did work out an arrangement for which I was very appreciative. However, be aware, as 14 days is a tad unusual. Lastly, the pool water was a bit too warm. The nearby shower did help to re-invigorate. Folks, the fact that I'm providing tips on the temperature of the swimming pool tells you everything you need to know; my wife and I debated on the flight home whether Raffles Siem Reap was the best or the second best hotel experience we've ever had.

Oh yeah, we were debating between Raffles and a hotel in Agra we paid >$1,000 per night. I think Raffles wins on price/performance.

Enjoy your stay. We truly did.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, Executive Assistant Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

The mystical Angkorian temples are, indeed, remarkable and worth visiting in a lifetime. I hope your experience had been inspiring and thank you very much for making the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor as your sanctuary on your spiritual journey.
I am glad that our team had help create a wonderful journey not just of the temples but of the Royal Cambodian cuisine as well.
Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Cyrille Carmona
Executive Assistant Manager i/c Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We dropped by the hotel for its famous "Singapore Sling" cocktails after touring the area. Service is impeccable. What a relief to be enclosed in airconditioned space after being in the nearby Victoria, where mosquitos rule the roost (until being consumed by the noisy bats in the evening).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cambriariter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, Executive Assistant Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for dropping by at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor and I hope that you enjoyed your Singapore Sling. We hope that you would be able to pave a visit again to Cambodia and stay with us to be able to fully experience our service, and have a sip of our signature cocktail, Airavata.
Looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Cyrille Carmona
Executive Assistant Manager i/c Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel offers everything you desire from excellent service in all areas, almazing food and very comfortable and charming rooms to helpful and very professional personnel. It is very well situated and easy to find.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Thank Marie-amelieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, Executive Assistant Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

It is a pleasure to receive your heartwarming compliments that I will surely pass on to my team. I am glad that you had enjoyed the luxury and the ambiance as well as our gastronomic treats of the historic Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor.
I hope that you would be able to return again in the future for another visit to the wonders of Angkor.
We look forward to serving you again on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Cyrille Carmona
Executive Assistant Manager i/c Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#51 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#28 of 384 in Siem Reap
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#67 of 384 in Siem Reap
3,323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#50 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,374 reviews
0.2 mi away
J7 Hotel
J7 Hotel
#76 of 384 in Siem Reap
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#60 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £157 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set across from the Royal Palace, is one of the landmark historic hotels of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina. Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor first opened its doors in 1932 but the legend lives on today after careful restoration. The hotel is rich in Cambodia history and full of original treasures, right down to the original working cage elevator in the lobby. Our doorman still welcomes everyone in a uniform inspired by the Royal Palace With the privilege of over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens and built around the country’s largest swimming pool, the hotel is a peaceful oasis to which to retreat after exploring the temples in the UNESCO World Heritage site only 10 minutes from the hotel. Relax and revitalise under the fragrant frangipani trees beside the magnificent pool inspired by Angkorian architecture, or enjoy a massage to ease away the travel. Stroll along the river to the vibrant markets and wonderful array of dining options. In addition to beautifully restored guest rooms you can choose from one of the luxury suites, including our most popular Cabana Suites with direct access from the balcony to the garden and pool. You may be surprised to know that Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor also has two of Siem Reap’s most luxurious two-bedroom Villas, providing utmost privacy and personal butler service in the private poolside setting. Food gourmets will delight with a variety of options including the popular Raffles Afternoon Tea and the Apsara Terrace, Siem Reap’s best cultural dance performance and dinner in the poolside gardens. For golf enthusiasts, there are several international golf courses and we recommend the award-winning Nick Faldo designed Angkor Golf Resort. Golf packages are available Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh open since 1929 and the capital city’s only luxury landmark hotel. With lush tropical gardens and built around two swimming pools it is an oasis for travelers exploring the vibrant capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing