We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Ranked #64 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“High Tea”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Treatment my friend to high tea here for her birthday. contacted the hotel weeks before and they were very helpful.
On arrival the room was nice enough, the tea and cakes were divine the only thing that spoilt it was an overweight middle age American smoking his cigars right next to us loudly moaning about everything in the hotel to staff. So glad of the UK smoking ban !
What we saw of the hotel it looked lovely, but have to say had better high tea experiences.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awils71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, Director of Food and Beverage at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
I am delighted to know that you had enjoyed our Afternoon Tea and thank you for appreciating the old world charm of the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. I regret to hear about the inconvenience that you had but I hope your overall experience had been wonderful.
Thank you very much and our team hopes to welcome you back for a stay in our storied hotel.

Kind regards,
Charles Demange
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,227
    279
    83
    37
    15
See reviews for
282
815
103
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Pacific
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Angkor Wat must be one of the best short breaks ever and we were incredibly lucky with the weather with a quick tropical shower only on the last afternoon. It was always such a great feeling returning to this hotel in a trishaw, having chilled champagne in our room overlooking the gardens out the front before a swim in the nice clean and large pool, massage in the spa and dinner. The concierge arranged a very competent tour guide and driver who were available for our exclusive use the 4 days we were there. We were convinced the tour guide must have been a spy once upon a time, such was his intimate knowledge of IndoChina politics. A tour on the lake is an eye opener and one should be prepared to make a donation to any orphanage visited and to take pot luck with the lunch venue tied to the tour. Breakfast and dinner in the hotel was excellent with ample quality choices. Service with sincerity is in the Cambodian DNA. Overall a fabulous unique experience with great memories.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGRL100313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, Director of Food and Beverage at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Indeed, the setting of the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor, with its exquisite luxurious interiors still gleaming as its glory days, evokes timeless elegance. I am delighted that your stay, although short, was one of your best with unique and memorable memories to match. Finally, we are glad that you did enjoy a swim in our expansive pool and the magnificent view of the Royal gardens coupled with champagne in our balcony.
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Charles Demange
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The best hotel in Siem Reap by far, in terms of authenticity, location and customer service. I am a business traveler and decided to take advantage of a low season offer to live like royalty for a few days and i was not disappointed. The bedrooms are luxurious (I got upgraded to a signature room) the breakfast is vast (free espresso coffee options) the pool is huge and the service through out was attentive.
As is often the case when I travel, I forgot something and this time it was a tie. Being a banker with no tie on is a crime and my discovery occurred in the early morning just before a meeting. I asked the breakfast staff if they could help and within 2 minutes they came back with a new 'Raffles' tie which was given to me as a gift.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, Director of Food and Beverage at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you very much for your very inspiring compliments. I am pleased to know that we had met and gone beyond your expectations most especially with the service of the hotel with the ‘can-do’ attitude that our team had displayed on one of your crucial moments during your stay.
You are more than welcome to come back to the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor should you need a break from the strenuous business life for a regal, luxurious and tranquil experience in this historic hotel.
Once again, thank you very much.

Kind regards,
Charles Demange
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cushendall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Grand Hotel d'Angkor. Staying in such an historic hotel really added to the experience of visiting Siem Reap. It was always a pleasure to come back to the hotel after a day of touring the temples.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, Director of Food and Beverage at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your lovely experience with us. It is a pleasure to know that your stay had been a magnificent touch to your Siem Reap visit, and we are glad that your experience with us had been one of the best you have had.

From our team at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Charles Demange
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Colonial hotel with afternoon tea in the Conservatory overlooking pool and gardens. Comfortable chairs with ceiling fans. Wide selection of cakes accompanied fresh scones and very good sandwiches Rave reviews from family members. Not cheap for Cambodia but worth splashing out for a treat. We were not rushed and all in all a very pleasurable few hours. Service was impeccable .may need to book in high season.

Room Tip: Book in high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluehat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, Director of Food and Beverage at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
It is a delight to read about your wonderful time at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. We are glad that you enjoyed our afternoon tea as well as the service at the Conservator and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Charles Demange
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

At first, the hotel seems really nice... it looks like an old, charming, youve-seen-it-in-movies hotel... but then you start to realize that it has probably been around for as long as it looks like. Besides the creepy elevator, the sewage is as old as the hotel is. On top of the gross bathroom, our room was horribly humid. Out of all the places we stayed in for our honey moon, this is the one I liked the least. - did I fail to mention the cockroach we found inside the salt dispenser?? (that was, of course, after we poured salt all over our $20-dollar french fries and ate them all). I do have to say though, the breakfast is really nice... so that saved it a bit for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lulyolvera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I am staying right now in this hotel, the room is old and full of different insects, wifi is not working, the shower is about 100 years old, the hotel is expensive and I can't believe I am staying here, there are certainly much better options. My room is 4128, it's supposed to be a luxury room!! Disappointed!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SONFAS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesSiemReap, Director of Food and Beverage at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
First and foremost, thank you very much for sharing your concerns with us. We appreciate that you had provided us a way to address these concerns promptly during your stay with us, and I am glad that we had been able to provide solutions for your issues and that, in the end, everything had ended well.
I hope that, overall, you had a wonderful stay and visit to the splendor that is Siem Reap.

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies for our shortcomings and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Charles Demange
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#46 of 342 in Siem Reap
1,255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#27 of 342 in Siem Reap
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#33 of 342 in Siem Reap
1,307 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#60 of 342 in Siem Reap
2,772 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Property: Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#52 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set across from the Royal Palace, is one of the landmark historic hotels of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina. Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor first opened its doors in 1932 but the legend lives on today after careful restoration. The hotel is rich in Cambodia history and full of original treasures, right down to the original working cage elevator in the lobby. Our doorman still welcomes everyone in a uniform inspired by the Royal Palace With the privilege of over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens and built around the country’s largest swimming pool, the hotel is a peaceful oasis to which to retreat after exploring the temples in the UNESCO World Heritage site only 10 minutes from the hotel. Relax and revitalise under the fragrant frangipani trees beside the magnificent pool inspired by Angkorian architecture, or enjoy a massage to ease away the travel. Stroll along the river to the vibrant markets and wonderful array of dining options. In addition to beautifully restored guest rooms you can choose from one of the luxury suites, including our most popular Cabana Suites with direct access from the balcony to the garden and pool. You may be surprised to know that Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor also has two of Siem Reap’s most luxurious two-bedroom Villas, providing utmost privacy and personal butler service in the private poolside setting. Food gourmets will delight with a variety of options including the popular Raffles Afternoon Tea and the Apsara Terrace, Siem Reap’s best cultural dance performance and dinner in the poolside gardens. For golf enthusiasts, there are several international golf courses and we recommend the award-winning Nick Faldo designed Angkor Golf Resort. Golf packages are available Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh open since 1929 and the capital city’s only luxury landmark hotel. With lush tropical gardens and built around two swimming pools it is an oasis for travelers exploring the vibrant capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing