We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value during the off season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Ranked #67 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
geneva
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value during the off season”
Reviewed 24 September 2009

The hotel was very good, and the staff service were excellent. Got upgraded on check-in, which is always a joy.

Rooms were large and comfortable. The breakfast was superb. Champagne in the morning!

Good value as I got some great deals from expedia. You need to shop around. I would recommend this hotel in siem reap.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leunig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,252
    287
    85
    37
    15
See reviews for
299
823
107
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2009

The cold towels after a day of sightseeing were heaven! The nearby temples/ruins superb. The guide and driver provided at additional cost to us were worth every dollar/riel and helped us see much more than we could have on our own. Would recommend spending the first afternoon at the nearby Museum...a very well done display of Cambodian/Khmer history, religions, architectural styles, symbols, and costumes. A must read before you go is Dawn Rooney's Angkor, Cambodia's Wondrous Khmer Temples.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LafayetteTravelers70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2009

After reading numerous reviews on the Hotel options available , based on my previous good experiences of Raffles in Singapore, i opted to to try the one in Siem Reap.
Its a gem! whilst retaining its old traditional style it provides for a first class place to stay, from the initial pick up at the airport right the way through to your departure.
I think the biggest positive is the extremely helpful and efficient staff in all departments, they can't do enough for you.
The bars and restaurants, whilst not the cheapest places you will ever go, you get what you pay for and the food and the service was first class.
The rooms are very clean and tastefully decorated to maintain the old style of the hotel, whilst having all the modern facilities you would expect.
The swimming pool is beautiful and a refreshing oasis, after a day clambering around old ruins. The gym is small and if i have a criticism, the equipment is a little limited and getting a bit dated, but that really was no big deal.
Organising trips to see the various sites was exceedingly easy and painless via the concierge, we had a car and guide (Tim) for a couple of days which proved to be an excellent way to really learn all about the history of the magnificent sights you were seeing, without our guide we would have missed so much.
All in all, great place to stay, well worth paying that bit extra.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkyinSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

As soon as I walked into this hotel, I knew it was a special place. When we arrived, we were shown to the lobby area overlooking the pool and given a luscious tropical juice to drink. The colonial and historic atmosphere was quite striking right from the beginning of our stay.

The architecture of the hotel is quite stunning and comfortable. The public areas are so well decorated and well-kept. The hallways are black and white marble and simply dazzle. I did like our rooms in the old section of the hotel very much. You reach the rooms in one of the quaintest and oldest elevators that I have ever used. Such was the condition of the elevator, however, that it gave you no worries. It was perfectly kept, and quite a pleasure to ride. I would have to say that it was one of the best elevators I have ever used in a hotel, despite its small size.

If I had any critique of the Grand, it would have to be the rooms. The bedrooms are quite charming, but the baths don't quite measure up. My main dislikes were the wood toilet seats, and the somewhat ratty shower curtains.....they need to be replaced. I almost subtracted a star for this, but the overall ambience of the hotel was so nice, I couldn't quite bring myself to do it.

Also, the staff of the hotel is quite great. Very friendly and helpful. They quite efficiently arranged a car and guide for us so we were able to tour Angkor in comfort. Angkor and the surrounding temples more than met our expectations. We also enjoyed our drive down to the Tonle Sap.

Food in the hotel is quite good both in the casual restaurant and the more formal restaurant. Apparently, the chef for the hotel also works for the Cambodian royal family when they are in residence in Siem Reap.

I also really liked the unique gift shops in the lobby of the hotel. Even the hotel gift shop in the casual restaurant had an interesting array of gift items.

A nice touch was that on our departure for the airport, a number of the staff came out to the steps to see us off. It was quite a nice ending to a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingsroadgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

I've travelled to Cambodia a couple of times - first was in 1998, a bit rougher than this time. Decided to splash out this visit. The Grand to me will give you a taste of what it must have been like to be fabulously wealthy in the 20s and travel. We were greeted by the Manager of the hotel on arrival. Our room was in the old part of the hotel - well renovated, not flawless but lovely character. I enjoyed my stay here more than the Metropole in Hanoi (same trip). The pool alone is worth staying here for - if you go out in the morning to visit the temples and return in the heat of the day for a rest, you can't fault it. The hotel can arrange a car, driver and guide who will sit and discuss your itinerary with you to avoid the crowds. You may pay a little more but it saves the hassle and negotiating (and will be air conditioned, water, cool towels etc) - depends on the experience you were after. We paid $60 for the whole day (in 07). I think this compared well considering. We ate dinner for my birthday in the restaurant - which was quiet but we had excellent service again and an amazing wine flight (which was unexpected!). The Elephant Bar is a fun place for pre dinner drinks - great cocktails. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Hotel de la Paix was excellent for an alternative dinner as well. Staff at the Grand were outstanding overall - a fabulous choice with my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

This is an excellent property. This was my third time in Siem Reap but my first time at the Raffles. In the past, I have overlooked the Raffles for fear that it was too traditional / stuffy. I was pleasantly surprised by the property and would highly recommend it to others.

Best things about the property:

- Incredibly friendly and attentive staff -- a wonderful place to see the Khmer smile first hand
- Classic without feeling dated. The Raffles tactfully embraces its heritage without sacrificing modern amenities
- High quality food and beverage offering, including a great breakfast buffet -- small but with good selection and a few distinctive options (e.g., 5 different types of fresh honey)
- Convenient location near the te\mples but not very far from town (walkable in 20 min or an easy 5 min tuktuk ride)
- Large attractive swimming pool

The only negative is that the property does not have full fitness facilities. That said, you will be plenty of exercise as you visit the local sights.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Japan_Gaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Managed to get a very cheap deal off ebookers for a deluxe room for three nights and it was completely worth it. Hotel was lovely, service was impeccable and the room was great (we had two queen sized beds and a balcony overlooking the pool - which was massive). Couldn't really fault the hotel, although it was strangely empty, but then everywhere seemed to be around town, with a few hotels actually shut. The breakfast had to be a highlight, everything you could possibly want from the buffet, eggs / waffles / pancakes etc all prepared excellently, spent an hour eating each morning! sparkling wine included in the buffet was a nice touch for our last day, and when we asked if they had any mangosteens (not on the buffet) they brought some out to our table. Location of the hotel also has to be among the best in town, 10 minute walk to the centre on the temple side.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamiep84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#50 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#30 of 356 in Siem Reap
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#40 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,320 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#62 of 356 in Siem Reap
2,952 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Property: Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#53 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set across from the Royal Palace, is one of the landmark historic hotels of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina. Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor first opened its doors in 1932 but the legend lives on today after careful restoration. The hotel is rich in Cambodia history and full of original treasures, right down to the original working cage elevator in the lobby. Our doorman still welcomes everyone in a uniform inspired by the Royal Palace With the privilege of over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens and built around the country’s largest swimming pool, the hotel is a peaceful oasis to which to retreat after exploring the temples in the UNESCO World Heritage site only 10 minutes from the hotel. Relax and revitalise under the fragrant frangipani trees beside the magnificent pool inspired by Angkorian architecture, or enjoy a massage to ease away the travel. Stroll along the river to the vibrant markets and wonderful array of dining options. In addition to beautifully restored guest rooms you can choose from one of the luxury suites, including our most popular Cabana Suites with direct access from the balcony to the garden and pool. You may be surprised to know that Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor also has two of Siem Reap’s most luxurious two-bedroom Villas, providing utmost privacy and personal butler service in the private poolside setting. Food gourmets will delight with a variety of options including the popular Raffles Afternoon Tea and the Apsara Terrace, Siem Reap’s best cultural dance performance and dinner in the poolside gardens. For golf enthusiasts, there are several international golf courses and we recommend the award-winning Nick Faldo designed Angkor Golf Resort. Golf packages are available Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh open since 1929 and the capital city’s only luxury landmark hotel. With lush tropical gardens and built around two swimming pools it is an oasis for travelers exploring the vibrant capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing