We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service is great and staff are always willing to give a helping hand.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Ranked #66 of 343 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The service is great and staff are always willing to give a helping hand.”
Reviewed 13 January 2010

The Raffles hotel is a wonderful place if you want to relax and spend some quiet time with yourself. The breakfast buffet includes many things, even champagne for breakfast! It has a wide range of asian food to pastrys. The staff are always willing to give a helping hand. The pool is very big and the hotel, very grand. It even has special dancing at one of the resturants of specials nights ( Nights Vary). A wonderful place for anyone sa it is close to the anicient temples. Great location.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,228
    279
    83
    37
    15
See reviews for
283
815
103
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
112 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Incredible hotel with wonderful people! The hotel feels like an oasis after a day of touring Ankor. Peaceful pool area. Great breakfast buffet. Traveled by tuk tuk to the old market in the city which is worthwhile. The staff at restaurant and lounges were the best - seemed to think of everything you needed even before you did. Hotel arranged a great tour guide and driver for the temples. I recommend you leave early for the tour - it gets both hot and more crowded as the day wears on. Airport transfer from hotel made the whole experience easy.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmop_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Our family recently stayed with a friend and his family at the Raffles Siem Reap. We had two very nice rooms in the old section and our friend's room was located in the new section. All rooms were nicely appointed including an in room coffee maker. Bathroom amenities were exceptional. The rooms were serviced on a timely basis. Everyone on the staff from the doorman to the servers to the desk staff were fiendly and helpful. We would like to acknowledge the Front desk manager who gave several restaurant recommendations and tips on going to Angor Wat for the sunrise. Food and Beverage - Breakfast buffet had something for everyone, The pool facility is fabulous, but the pool food service was slow and understaffed. At each dining opportunity the food was good but it longer than one would expect. The hotel had several nice touches for Christmas - Santa stopped by the pool, a group of children from a nearby school sang carols on Christmas Eve night and on Christmas Day.

One observation we made on this trip to Thailand and Cambodia over several stops is that hotel restaurant pricing has no correlation to local prices, but instead seems to be based on prices at hotels in major cities such as London, New York or San Francisco. This huge disparity furthered our natural inclination to leave the hotels for our meals. We found several local restaurants that had great food at very reasonable rates. Dinner for six at one of the best local spots cost a total of $40. The Hotel Holiday Menu was $85 to $95 per person.

We weren't sure what to expect at Siem Reap, the Raffles and the spectacular ruins of Angkor Wat made this a highlight of our trip. We are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank explore4mor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights with my husband as part of our honeymoon. We had originally booked a Personality Suite but were upgraded to one of the Cabana Suites since it was our honeymoon. What a great way to start our stay!

Check in was easy and comfortable in the Conservatory, as opposed to at the reception desk.

Our cabana suite was gorgeous. A bottle of Champagne as well as a basket of fruit, which was replenished daily, was waiting for us. Additionally, a little decorative textile with "Happy Honeymoon from the Raffles Siem Reap" was waiting on the bed. Such a cute touch.

Both the sitting room as well as the separate bedroom each had their own patios just steps away from the gorgeous pool, where we spent some time. The room was beautifully appointed, and I loved having 2 separate bathrooms, one with a claw-foot tub, the other with the shower.

The service was exemplary. The doormen always greeted us by name and with cool towels. The pool boys were very friendly, too.

Buffet breakfasts were a delicious blend of both Asian and Western specialties. We particularly enjoyed the congee with various condiments. My only complaint was that we called for room service on our final night since I wasn't feeling well. I had requested some croissants since I had enjoyed them so much during the breakfasts but was told that that wouldn't be possible since it wasn't the morning. Now, I would understand if it wasn't possible because there were none left, but not to provide croissants because of the time of day was a bit upsetting, especially since I wasn't feeling well.

Despite this glitch, we really enjoyed our time at this hotel and we would return here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLadyinRed03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Raffles Grand ticks all the boxes --we stayed in a room in the older part and found it entirely charming --huge, comfortable bed arm chairs overlooking parterre gardens ,quiet and serviced 4 times daily. then buffet breakfast was excellent including champagne and a huge choice with constant service--the staff were very attentive and friendly-it initially seemed a little over the top but after 12 hours we found them friendly and speaking good English. the bathroom haad a big bath but the shower with a modern head was over the bath The TV was not very modern but had channel programmes. there was a lovely lounge with and excellent pianist with no pressure to buy drinks etc. we did not use the immaculate large pool . Althogether a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

My friend and I stayed here in August. The service was absolutely amazing. The staff remembered our names, were helpful with restaurants, places to go in Siem Reap, etc. My friend left the memory card to her camera in the business center, and they called to let her know and delivered it to our room. The breakfast buffet was delicious - it wasn't the largest, but the food was excellent. We stayed in the deluxe room in the older part of the hotel, and it was very big. The bathroom had been remodeled in the 1920's style. You can walk or take a short tuk-tuk ride into Siem Reap.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler123020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2009

It was wonderful to be greeted by the Raffles driver at the airport and transported to the hotel in the 1999 BMW limo (US$50) . We felt our care and attention had already begun. We had the option of taking the limo or a taxi at the end of our stay.
The hotel has a Somerset Maugham colonial ambience with its beautiful art -deco style. We had a Landmark room which was bigger than the State rooms with a lovely sense of space and attention to detail overlooking the gorgeous pool. The bathroom whilst not modern had pretty feminine extras and was regularly serviced with extra fluffly white towels. The pool is purportedly the biggest in Siem Reap and was a wonderful refuge after a hard day at the temples and is complete with a lovely poolside spa facility . The poo-boys were always there with refreshing cold, mint perfumed towels and skewers of pineapple. Lovely!
The breakfast at about USD25 was fantastic and the dining in the Grand Restaurant was first class - we especially liked the local Khymer food which was a bit like Thai but not as spicy.
Of course the staff were plentiful, attentivel warm and friendly. There was always someone to help us at the desk or door.
We also loved the lemon-grass oil burners used throughout the hotel give off a beautiful cool fragrance. The musician who played in the afternoon was an added touch.
Overall the Raffles was an excellent hotel and can be highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessClassBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#47 of 343 in Siem Reap
1,256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#27 of 343 in Siem Reap
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#33 of 343 in Siem Reap
1,307 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#60 of 343 in Siem Reap
2,790 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Property: Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#53 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set across from the Royal Palace, is one of the landmark historic hotels of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina. Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor first opened its doors in 1932 but the legend lives on today after careful restoration. The hotel is rich in Cambodia history and full of original treasures, right down to the original working cage elevator in the lobby. Our doorman still welcomes everyone in a uniform inspired by the Royal Palace With the privilege of over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens and built around the country’s largest swimming pool, the hotel is a peaceful oasis to which to retreat after exploring the temples in the UNESCO World Heritage site only 10 minutes from the hotel. Relax and revitalise under the fragrant frangipani trees beside the magnificent pool inspired by Angkorian architecture, or enjoy a massage to ease away the travel. Stroll along the river to the vibrant markets and wonderful array of dining options. In addition to beautifully restored guest rooms you can choose from one of the luxury suites, including our most popular Cabana Suites with direct access from the balcony to the garden and pool. You may be surprised to know that Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor also has two of Siem Reap’s most luxurious two-bedroom Villas, providing utmost privacy and personal butler service in the private poolside setting. Food gourmets will delight with a variety of options including the popular Raffles Afternoon Tea and the Apsara Terrace, Siem Reap’s best cultural dance performance and dinner in the poolside gardens. For golf enthusiasts, there are several international golf courses and we recommend the award-winning Nick Faldo designed Angkor Golf Resort. Golf packages are available Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh open since 1929 and the capital city’s only luxury landmark hotel. With lush tropical gardens and built around two swimming pools it is an oasis for travelers exploring the vibrant capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing