We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Ranked #65 of 344 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Relax”
Reviewed 4 March 2010

If there are images in this attachment, they will not be displayed. Download the original attachment

For our first trip to Cambodia, we decided to stay in Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. We took the Mystical Angkor Package in the Landmark room for three nights which included airport transfers, breakfasts, one night dinner and hot-air balloon ride. The price, we thought, was reasonable in view of what was included. When we looked at Google Earth to determine the location of the hotel, it was perfect – it sits on many acres of land and the large pool stamps the place. Of course, we always read the Trip Advisor reviews.

There were two musicians playing Cambodian music when we arrived. After our heavenly welcome drinks, Chris, who we later found was the Assistant Manager, took us to our room. To our delight, he had suggestions for our short stay. He had arranged our whole-day tour, and our dinners

It was not the usual room that we’re used to at Raffles Singapore but the price of this room is about one third of Singapore’s.

Our breakfast included actual (pork!) bacon. This is a downright silly craving but having lived in Kuala Lumpur for 1-1/2 years, we are in want of it! The service was also a class act. The coffee we ordered came in a pot, was poured and filled as soon as our cups were half-filled.

We tried Restaurant Le Grand and had a wonderful Khmer dinner. A set dinner with wine for $75/person was in the Menu, which we would have taken if we had an extra day just to relax. We also tried the sports bar, the Elephant Bar, which offered half-off drinks at a certain time of night – “happy hour.”

The buffet dinner in the Apsara grounds of Raffles Hotel was excellent. The pork ribs were heavenly, as was the Khmer fare and the various seafood dishes!

The hotel provided us with a wonderful guide, Mr. Sokun. He has mastered the history of Cambodia. He had also worked with a professional photographer for 11 years and, at his recommendations, we were able to take photographs that will grace the walls of our house in US. Ask him the names of the trees that adorned the wats, he knows them.

In a nutshell, Raffles Hotel d’Angkor has everything we needed. The huge garden has my favorites - Plumeria obtusa and rubra - frangipanis. Needless to say, the lotus water plant has a special place on the hotel grounds. The huge pool was a refreshing treat after a day’s tour in the very hot, humid days of the dry season. The piano music after dinner was an added treat, providing a very nice great place to unwind. And, best of all, the location. The Cambodian Museum is behind the hotel. The Aman Resort is across the street. And the adjacent and surrounding gardens were special! We recommend the Grand Hotel d’Angkor in the highest terms.

Everything is paid in US dollars. Internet use in the hotel is $30/day. The two-day tour of the temples was $40/person payable in cash at the ticket booth where our pictures were taken for our pass. The cost of the car for the day was $40 and our guide was $35. The per capita gross domestic product of Cambodia is $1,900. The tourists came from all parts of the globe (in droves!) primarily from Korea, China, Germany, France, and United States.. Bring hats, sunglasses, and sunscreen.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gardentraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,230
    279
    83
    37
    15
See reviews for
284
815
103
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Great "Old World" style Hotel with great staff and facilities. Absoluteley suited our leisure holiday where we wanted a bit of luxury and were happy to pay accordingly. Food excellent a bit expensive but there are plenty of good inexpensive dining opitions 2-3mins away by tuk-tuk. If you are used to modern hotels with all latest / hi tech facilities then this probably isn't for you and if I was travelling for business I'd probably stay elsewhere but for our holiday it was really excellent

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTinAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moxiepoodle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

I had a chance to stay @ Grand hotel and also HOtel de la paix.... I stayed at Hotel De la Paix first and unfortunately did not book my second night there. I was so spoiled by the free wifi, great location, great bed and delicious food of Hotel De La paix that Grand hotel was a HUGE disappointment.

[--] is the best tuk tuk driver out there. His name is Choeum (rhymes with zoom). He speaks English and is trustworthy. He will pick you up from the airport and wait for you at the temples for $20 bucks a day!!!!

I came into the night listening to a nice piano playing and a really bad singer that would make any karaoke singer sound like Diana Ross. Other than the mystique of this hotel being "grand" a long time ago...There is no reason to stay here. The park across the street is really pretty.
Pros. Beautiful outdoor pool

Cons: Really ugly old wicker furniture, poor service, old outdated bathroom, breakfast service was poor (I had to ask for water twice). Internet as extremely expensive. They also charged me $32 for a phone call which didn't connect, but they said it did (it just rang). Rooms can be quite far from main lobby/food. Hotel is big, rooms are small and directions to lobby are not easily marked.

With that aside...most of the workers were very kind and sweet...that is the cambodian way. It is not their fault that everything is overcharged and overpriced. It is so obvious that this hotel is a chain. It's unfortunate that the only beautiful thing about this hotel is it's outside facade.

Go to Hotel De La paix. I got that tip from tripadvisor and the reviews are true.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Moxiepoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We were so looking forward to staying at this historic hotel but were sorely dissappointed. The public areas and grounds were beautiful but the room was a NIGHTMARE! The furniture was old and worn out, the door knob fell off and we had to call the front desk and have someone come to get us out of the room. The bathroom was small and outdated. If you're in the shower and someone flushes the toilet or runs water in the sink you're either scalded or sprayed with ice cold water. There are many tour groups staying there (lots of buses) and the lines at the breakfast buffet were long and food ran out often. I actually saw 2 people get into a fight over toast. We enjoy visiting other hotels when we travel and in Siem Reap we went to Amansara, La Residence d' Angkor and Hotel de la Paix. All were much nicer than this one. We fell in love with La Residence (and Orient Express hotel) and had drinks there every night and Valentine's dinner there as well. If I were to go back I'd stay there and skip the Grand Hotel. It's clear they're living off their reputation and not investing anything back into the business. Don't waste your money at this place.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PanzanoNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
131 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

We stayed at Raffles d'Angkor as part of a trip to Thailand and Cambodia for my wifes 50th birthday. The hotel compared favorably with other 'grand' hotels we stayed at in Thailand. Our room a junior suite was comfortable with all expected amenities in a colonial style. Without exception the staff were helpful, polite, always smiling and friendly. We only ate breakfast in the hotel which was buffet style and faultless.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grinders13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2010

The Landmark room is spacious, clean and comfortable, although we believe the bathroom frankly needs updating (no separate shower), however housekeeping was to a high standard. Although due to stomach problems contracted in Phnom Penn our culinary experience was frankly nil although it must be said the presentation and quality looked superb - we would have loved to have enjoyed it!

May we take this opportunity to thank Robert Hauck, GM and Martine together with all the staff for their assistance and friendliness throughout our visit.
With our very best wishes from "The Johnson's"

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caterina99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2010

we found everything very good , except : no fruits/ flowers in the bedroom and
we found it very funny that a hotel like yours charges fees for @mail usage - are the rooms rates not expensive enough ????

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALVISGRABER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#46 of 344 in Siem Reap
1,258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#28 of 344 in Siem Reap
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#34 of 344 in Siem Reap
1,308 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#60 of 344 in Siem Reap
2,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Property: Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#52 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set across from the Royal Palace, is one of the landmark historic hotels of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina. Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor first opened its doors in 1932 but the legend lives on today after careful restoration. The hotel is rich in Cambodia history and full of original treasures, right down to the original working cage elevator in the lobby. Our doorman still welcomes everyone in a uniform inspired by the Royal Palace With the privilege of over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens and built around the country’s largest swimming pool, the hotel is a peaceful oasis to which to retreat after exploring the temples in the UNESCO World Heritage site only 10 minutes from the hotel. Relax and revitalise under the fragrant frangipani trees beside the magnificent pool inspired by Angkorian architecture, or enjoy a massage to ease away the travel. Stroll along the river to the vibrant markets and wonderful array of dining options. In addition to beautifully restored guest rooms you can choose from one of the luxury suites, including our most popular Cabana Suites with direct access from the balcony to the garden and pool. You may be surprised to know that Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor also has two of Siem Reap’s most luxurious two-bedroom Villas, providing utmost privacy and personal butler service in the private poolside setting. Food gourmets will delight with a variety of options including the popular Raffles Afternoon Tea and the Apsara Terrace, Siem Reap’s best cultural dance performance and dinner in the poolside gardens. For golf enthusiasts, there are several international golf courses and we recommend the award-winning Nick Faldo designed Angkor Golf Resort. Golf packages are available Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh open since 1929 and the capital city’s only luxury landmark hotel. With lush tropical gardens and built around two swimming pools it is an oasis for travelers exploring the vibrant capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing