We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Built in 1929 with upgrades and with very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Ranked #60 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Built in 1929 with upgrades and with very friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

Special deal on prices attracted our attention. Overall clean but upgrades still don't hide the antique character which is probably intentional and would appeal to many. Building works were in process whilst we were there (June 2010) so if you wanted a sleep in the morning or afternoon the chip, chip chip of hammer and chisel would be annoying (peaceful at night). Best features were the staff (friendly Cambodians) and large pool, worst features: amenties such as WiFi Internet a high price - why do they still charge for this? Most hotels provide a free service or $0.50 for an hour downtown internet cafe.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andihce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    280
    83
    37
    15
See reviews for
278
806
102
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

The staff was the best thing that I liked. They were very friendly, warm welcome and helpful. They called out my name and greeted me every time when we met. The room was clean and beautiful. I also liked the elevator very much. The hotel is located near the centre and temples. The breakast was excellent. They served me with champagne, delicious cocktail and fresh fruit juices. I will come back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Praphaphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

Our second stay was as good if not better than the first time we stayed. Its still a top notch property with top notch staff who pamper the guests. Facilites, grounds and accompodations are superb as is the food. We weren't sure if we could get the same guide as before but found him again on www.davidangkorguide.blogspot.com - he did a terrific job and we would highly recommned him as he speaks perfect english - guide was Eath Sovann but you can call him David.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricGrossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

My two girls and I had an absolutely amazing few days. My youngest daughter loved to ride on the old elevator- there was a sweet staff person that would race her to take her up. At breakfast, they would make us a delicious mocktail from fresh juices and mint- exquisite. Lunch was expensive for Cambodia, however, they got us hooked on a green tea and fresh lime drink. We would come in from touring the temples and have one by the beautiful pool while the girls cooled off. We felt very welcomed- everyone knew our names and seemed especially happy to see us when we came barreling through the door. They would ask us about our day and ask questions that pertained to what we did. They are very proud of their country. Our room overlooked the garden- we had a beautiful view and it was very clean. The bathroom was wonderful with a big tub. I really would recommend this hotel to everyone wanting to be pampered. The staff goes above and beyond. They had a special spa package that was quite a deal. It was one of the best massages that I have had.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AveryGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

We had a wonderful stay in this gorgeous hotel. The staff are very accomodating and attentative, nothing was too much trouble from the restaurant manager arranging a special meal for our son, reheating food, delivering more towels and servicing the room twice a day. There was a ready supply of bottled water in the room and we were always greeted with cold flannels when returning from a hot days sightseeing. Citronella candles in every hall way & the best pool in SE Asia.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fudgebobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hue, Vietnam
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

We stayed 3 days and felt like we were at home in a very distant land. The room was comfortable and quite spacious. The staff new our name and addressed us as they greeted us at the main entrance after every tour. The food was very good and there was a nice selection..

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyedocrtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

Simply one of the best hotels in Asia. A beautiful grand dame, updated to modern convenience and comfort. Probably the best 5-star hotel staff in SE Asia. Incredible value for the price. Location is central to Siem Reap and Angkor and is integrated right into the city's gardens (unlike the newer fortress-style hotels).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBofElLay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#41 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#20 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#28 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#54 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Property: Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#50 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#51 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set across from the Royal Palace, is one of the landmark historic hotels of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina. Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor first opened its doors in 1932 but the legend lives on today after careful restoration. The hotel is rich in Cambodia history and full of original treasures, right down to the original working cage elevator in the lobby. Our doorman still welcomes everyone in a uniform inspired by the Royal Palace With the privilege of over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens and built around the country’s largest swimming pool, the hotel is a peaceful oasis to which to retreat after exploring the temples in the UNESCO World Heritage site only 10 minutes from the hotel. Relax and revitalise under the fragrant frangipani trees beside the magnificent pool inspired by Angkorian architecture, or enjoy a massage to ease away the travel. Stroll along the river to the vibrant markets and wonderful array of dining options. In addition to beautifully restored guest rooms you can choose from one of the luxury suites, including our most popular Cabana Suites with direct access from the balcony to the garden and pool. You may be surprised to know that Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor also has two of Siem Reap’s most luxurious two-bedroom Villas, providing utmost privacy and personal butler service in the private poolside setting. Food gourmets will delight with a variety of options including the popular Raffles Afternoon Tea and the Apsara Terrace, Siem Reap’s best cultural dance performance and dinner in the poolside gardens. For golf enthusiasts, there are several international golf courses and we recommend the award-winning Nick Faldo designed Angkor Golf Resort. Golf packages are available Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh open since 1929 and the capital city’s only luxury landmark hotel. With lush tropical gardens and built around two swimming pools it is an oasis for travelers exploring the vibrant capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing