We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellence in hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Ranked #63 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellence in hospitality”
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Stayed with , 3 adult children, sons/daughter -in-law and 2 grandchildren, in total 10 people. From the moment we arrived in the airport till we left for Phnom Penh this visit was a success, not least because of the service we were pampered with from the hotel. They went far to make this stay a memorable one. We were assigned a personal butler, mr. Sen, Sariboth who was no less than the most serviceminded person we could think of. It might be unfair to the rest of the staff to mention one person, they were all excellent, reception, restaurants , pool, bar. By arrival in Phnom Penh we were called that we had forgotten some valuable items in the suite. They were next day brought by courier ( the above mentioned butler ) to our Raffles hotel in Phnom Penh . During the stay in Siem Reap he also used off dutytime to accompany us on shopping and motorbikerides for the little children. The assistant manager mr. Sarawan ought to be mentioned too for outstanding service. We would all like to get back and the hotelmanagement will continue to pay high attention the the staff, who is the biggest asset of this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kielgast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,223
    279
    83
    37
    15
See reviews for
280
814
103
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Only stayed one night in Nov. 2010, but enjoyed every second. Service was very good, elegant style all over the hotel inside and outside. Our dinner experience when we ordered the Cambodian “menu degustation” was outstanding and the service in the restaurant was perfect. Definitely a hotel to relax and enjoy in. Price is reasonable for the quality given.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Many other reviewers have already outlined the many benefits of this "5 Star Hotel Gem" so I will simply add that this is the best hotel I have stayed at anywhere in Asia, or for that matter, most other parts of the world. This is the full package, the design encapsulates another era, another time in history that no modern hotel can hope to imitate. Enjoy the grounds, the charm of the staff, the quiet and dignified experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Spent 3 nights in a landmark room facing the gardens in front of the hotel. It is not a massive hotel even with the newer additions and retains a personal feeling from the excellent staff. This historic hotel has been beautifully restored, the newer additional wing blends superbly with the original building. The room was exactly what I expect from a colonial style hotel, ie the rooms are not massive but have wooden floors, good fittings and more than adequate bathroom and are full of character. We particularly enjoyed the little very private balcony as a place to sit and enjoy a coffee. The pool area is superb and the pool extra large. The location of the hotel is super, bearing in mind to travel to Angkor you will need some form of transport regardless of your location the position of Raffles tops all the other major hotels. Its is a very pleasant and easy walk right into the heart of the old Siam Reap, all the other majors require transport to get into town.

The restaurants and bar are very good and the food and service of high standard.

What made our stay that little bit extra special was the staff, they fully match the wonderful service you find in Raffles in Singapore, often greeting you by name and always happy to help, engage in good conversation and help whenever necessary.

If you want that colonial style and service you should not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkLucchese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We staying in a landmark room on the first floor overlooking the pool.
Nice bright airy room. Air con was good and quiet and a fan was also there.
Bathroom was quaint, older style but very clean. The temperature of the water whilst having a shower went hot and cold. This woudl be my only complaint of the room.
The room was very quiet even though not far from the stairs and looked onto the pool..
Room service (not food)- fantastic- Every time we left the room it seemed to be made up, clothes picked up and put on hangers,bottles of water provided, fresh towels, shoes straightened etc. At night with the turndown service a small gift was left which was nice to come back to.
Breakfast was good , the choice was as per any 4/5 star hotel. The fruit juice cocktails they freshly serve were beautiful.
Elephant Bar- nice atmosphere but service was just alright unlike the rest of the hotel. Also it became quite hot , the aircon didnt seem to run properly.
Restaurant- We ate there for one night- degustation menu for 2, 2 glasses of champagne and a bottle of wine US$300. compared with eating on Pub street very expensive. However, the quality of food was outstanding and the service impecible.
Conservatory- Service was again outstanding, nice for a drink - alcohol or tea at the end fo the night. Again I cannot say how good the service was.
Location- we walked to pub st several times. Just for the exercise. It didnt take long but there is always a tuk tuk around outside.
Atmosphere- the hotel is very fresh and bright and the staff friendly. It was not noisy other than once when a bus load of amercian tourists arrived at reception.
Reception- We stayed for 5 nights and after the second day the staff knew us by name. That was a nice touch. We also were met with a cold towel when we came back another nice touch.
A bit more expensive than some other hotels but well worth it and generally you pay for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We visited this wonderful old French Colonial classic in October 2009 and had a wonderful time. We arrived tired and exhausted from the airport and were greeted at the door by the concierge, bellboys, a young woman with a welcome cocktail, refreshments, and a much needed moist, fragrant towel. The bellboys swept our bags up to our room and the concierge filled us in on the hotel's services. After a brief rest in the reception area, where we enjoyed a concert of traditional music performed by local musicians and took in the colonial and exotic beauty of our home away from home for the next few days, we were escorted on a tour of the hotel and shown to our room. The room like the rest of the hotel was stunning with a balcony view of the courtyard and swimming pool, a large and luxurious bath, and the most beautiful ambience. I felt like I had just stepped back into French colonial Khmer. We would start each day with the pan-Asian brunch in the hotel's beautifully decorated restaurant with its lovely yellow walls, French doors leading to the landscaped courtyard, and ceiling fans. The brunch is definitely topnotch and included breads, local fresh fruits and juices, cocktails as well as culinary and breakfast specialties from all over Asia and the world. We would then spend the day seeing the sights and meeting the local people. This is the most incredible place to return to after a day of sightseeing in the 90-degree heat. As soon as we returned we would be greeted by the wonderful staff, all of whom were so impressive in their good manners, professionalism, and charm, that we had a hard time finding the will to leave at the end of our stay! Evenings, we would shower, book our reservations at a local restaurant with the concierge, and return for a nightcap on the Veranda in the company of various guests and our very personable hosts. We were also impressed by the resourcefulness of the staff at the hotel. When we experienced visa problems that alluded the Vietnamese, the staff at the hotel were able to come to our rescue in the most brilliant way and send us on our way over the border the next day. If you visit, we recommend that you pamper yourself by eating brunch at the hotel before you head out on your adventures--you will be glad you did. The hotel offers an evening banquet with local music, dancing, and local cuisine buffet-style. It is touristy, but well-done, convenient, and worth it, especially if your time in Siem Reap is limited. Do take advantage of the gym and treat yourself to a massage at the hotel spa. If you have any questions or recommendations about places to eat dinner or things to see, you can trust the concierge at this world class hotel to see to your every need. They will not disappoint. The hotel is centrally located. Make sure you take a walk in the park across from the hotel in the morning before you head out; the trees behind the temple are covered with huge fruit bats which take flight at dusk to feed in the local jungle!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlowFoodGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2010

A wonderful Hotel with lovely attentive staff. It is a top of the line Hotel so it is not cheap, but a hotel is only as good as its staff, who were friendly attentive and always happy to do what ever they could to make your stay a good as possible.

It was five days we will remeber with great affection and happiness

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishwiwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#44 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#27 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#30 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#60 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Property: Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#51 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#51 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set across from the Royal Palace, is one of the landmark historic hotels of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina. Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor first opened its doors in 1932 but the legend lives on today after careful restoration. The hotel is rich in Cambodia history and full of original treasures, right down to the original working cage elevator in the lobby. Our doorman still welcomes everyone in a uniform inspired by the Royal Palace With the privilege of over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens and built around the country’s largest swimming pool, the hotel is a peaceful oasis to which to retreat after exploring the temples in the UNESCO World Heritage site only 10 minutes from the hotel. Relax and revitalise under the fragrant frangipani trees beside the magnificent pool inspired by Angkorian architecture, or enjoy a massage to ease away the travel. Stroll along the river to the vibrant markets and wonderful array of dining options. In addition to beautifully restored guest rooms you can choose from one of the luxury suites, including our most popular Cabana Suites with direct access from the balcony to the garden and pool. You may be surprised to know that Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor also has two of Siem Reap’s most luxurious two-bedroom Villas, providing utmost privacy and personal butler service in the private poolside setting. Food gourmets will delight with a variety of options including the popular Raffles Afternoon Tea and the Apsara Terrace, Siem Reap’s best cultural dance performance and dinner in the poolside gardens. For golf enthusiasts, there are several international golf courses and we recommend the award-winning Nick Faldo designed Angkor Golf Resort. Golf packages are available Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh open since 1929 and the capital city’s only luxury landmark hotel. With lush tropical gardens and built around two swimming pools it is an oasis for travelers exploring the vibrant capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing