We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and location within walking distance to markets and restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Ranked #42 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2011

This is what you would expect from an orient express hote. Fine service, fine food and excellent facilities. The massages were the best in our two month trip to Asia. The VIP service at the airport got us through customs and visa services in less than five Koufax. Within 20 minutes of landing, we were at the hotel. They even brout our favorite drink to the airport for the car ride.
While we were the, my husband became I'll and the hotel assisted me in contacting a doctor and in getting him to the international hospital. They showed genuine concern for him and assured me in getting back and forth to the hospital for visits.
Only downside is that the tours through the hotel are rath expensive for Siem reap. I would arrange your tours privately to save about half. Tht being said, the tour was wonderful and incuded cold towels after each temple and cold drinks as well as an air conditioned car and English speaking guide and were well organized and easy to arrange through the hotel.
Among the five star hotels, this is the best located I my view. It is just five blocks or so from the part of downtown with shopping and restaurants and ten minutes to the Temple entrance.
Poll is lovely and refreshing after a hot day of touring. Good room service and food.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2011

I have never bothered to review a hotel before, because they never left a deep enough impression for me to think about it, but I must say that I was truly impressed by La Residence d'Angkor and wanted to share my recent experience.

After almost a two week tour through Vietnam Laos and Cambodia staying in nice, but run of the mill hotels, we heard good things and decided to stay at La Residence in Siem Reap. We booked a room and I can definitely say that this was the best night of my trip.

From our arrival the staff was very friendly and helpful, giving us a tour of the hotel, room, as well as any information on the city and sights. The attentive staff almost knew what we were looking for with little details such as preparing our slippers next to our beds after lunch, so we could relax and enjoy the pool. We were also pleasantly surprised when random staff throughout our stay were referring to us by name and asking if they could help us in anyway. These are the type of details that distinguish a 5 star establishment form the rest.

The location is also excellent- right in the center of town next to the river and walkable to most popular areas.

The restaurant and breakfast buffet was also delicious and they had a free show of a traditional dance at the restaurant when we went.

The pool is small, but when we went there were no other guests so we had the whole pool to ourselves. It is stylish and great to relax in. You could also order drinks there.

The theme of the hotel resembles the statues and sculptures of Angkor Wat, which is great as it gets you in the mood for adventure before seeing the real thing.

On the downside, I can't think of anything to mention. Even the pricing which is in-line with 5 star hotels was very reasonable.

All in all, if you are looking for a luxurious stay at an excellent resort in the center of Siem Reap, look no further than La Residence. I know I will be coming back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

This was my fourth trip to Siem Reap but my first stay at this property. This is definitely the best property in town.

The staff very quickly recognized their guests. The pool was extremely pleasant with numerous loungers and two large beds. Unlike many properties, the pool was available 24 hours a day. At night the pool area is enhanced for evening drinks.

I had a few issues that I directed to the management and they were quickly addressed. Kudos to the property's management - Vorana na Champassak (General Manager) and Mr. Rivong (Assistant Manager).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

we stayed at la residence for our anniversary and my birthday and it really lives up to its reputation, we were completely catered for ! The staff are so friendly and sweet and seem really happy to be working which is rare these days!
the pool is to die for like a warm bath no smell of chlorine
breakfast is superb and I have no complaints at all
booked with mr and mrs smith and got 2 massages free!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misstree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The hotel is fairly new with every thing you would expect.
Situated on the riverbank and just a short walk from the tourist strip.
Staff were execlent.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozbraids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

I did extensive research before choosing this hotel for our visit to Angkor Wat. The reviews, particularly on Tripadvisor, made La Residence d'Angkor bubble right to the top as our choice. Now that I have returned, I wanted others to know, La Residence d'Angkor is awesome and exceeded our already high expectations.

The hotel is beautiful, peaceful and in a perfect location. All the people that work at the hotel were wonderful. The tour arrangements they made were outstanding. Our stay at La Residence d'Angkor was the highlight of our month long trip through Asia. I don't usually do reviews but this place has earned my praise and I wanted to pass along that you can trust La Residence d'Angkor to make your visit special, very special.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy-Travel-Gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

I have been at La Residence for 5 days with a friend. It was a perfect stay. The location is very good: not far from Angkor Wat (you can easily go by tuk-tuk), but in town and you can walk to the market and to restaurants. The hotel itself is very beautiful and comfortable. Rooms are large and very well furnished in colonial stile. The swimming pool in the tropical garden is a perfect place to rest after having been to the temples and very long so that you can actually swim if you like. The breakfast is the best one I’ve ever had in a very pleasant garden. Service is very good: everyone is very kind and attentive, even if you have to bear in mind that you are in Cambodia and not in NY: sometimes is difficult to understand their English because of the accent and their concept of time is sometimes different than western people’s one. The SpA was amazing a open till late, so that you can enjoy it even if you want to enjoy the fantastic pool before. Ok, place is expensive for Siem Reap standards, but it’s worth every dime you spend if you are looking for a quiet, beautiful, very comfortable luxury hotel. The only thing that was perhaps too expensive compared to what you can find in Siem Reap was the dining at the hotel.

Room Tip: prefer rooms on the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marietta55Roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
2.1 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#28 of 384 in Siem Reap
823 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#51 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Angkor
Shinta Mani Angkor
#14 of 384 in Siem Reap
3,198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#50 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Address: River Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £158 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate retreat that beautifully captures the region's history while offering every modern luxury. Located close by Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Tonle Sap Lake, it's an ideal base to explore the wonders of the region. Siem Reap's lively markets, galleries and thriving restaurant and bar scene are just steps away. 59 Suites have been fully renovated in 2016 and exude local elegance and stylish luxury, furnished with traditional hardwoods and bamboo and exquisitely decorated in soft cottons and jewel-toned silks. At Circle restaurant, enjoy Khmer hawker-style cuisine or a more International menu at Ember. The Martini Lounge is a relaxed cocktail lounge with impressive views of the gardens. A tropical oasis-like large swimming pool is at the heart of the hotel and is complimented by the tranquil Kong Kea Spa. The hotel also benefits from a fitness centre, two boutiques, a tour desk and complimentary daily activities such as a monk blessing or shopping tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing