We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the BEST hotels in the WORLD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Ranked #43 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I have travelled the world for over 35 years and this Hotel is up with the Best of them. Great location in Seam Reap, close to shops,Pub Street and Markets. Facilities,rooms, spa, bars and restaurant all excellent. Do eat in the restaurant, great food and service usually accompanied by a local dance or other cultural show. The best is the staff, they provide a service with professional excellence and charm.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GOLDCOASTGURU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,396)
There are newer reviews for Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

901 - 907 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in Siem Reap at the La Residence d'Angkor. The hotel is centrally located - the old market, central market and most recommended restaurants (by Frommer, Rough guides etc) are all within a 5-10 minute walking distance - you don't even need a tuk-tuk. The hotel was very charming with a french colonial look and feel, with lots of wood. The hallways were open and airy with a pool at the center of the hotel. We had two pool-facing rooms and it was very quiet - though we were in the off-season period. The standard rooms were large (almost like a suite), with a bed and a futon-like couch that can function as a bed. A nice western breakfast (such as cereal, eggs, fruits, cakes, different breads, yogurt, jams) and wireless internet is included in the price of the room. The staff was friendly, courteous, helpful and spoke English. Security was good as they would not let us leave for the sunrise viewing at Angkor Wat without us giving our room number. We did not find any problem of mosquitoes - the hotel said it fumigates the premises every Saturday. It was a pleasure to return to the hotel after the exhausting walks and climbs in the muggy, steamy, hot days of May. We thought that the prices were reasonable for the luxury and amenities provided. All-in-all it was a first-class stay!

Room Tip: Generally calling and asking for a discount works
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PhatExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

This is what you would expect from an orient express hote. Fine service, fine food and excellent facilities. The massages were the best in our two month trip to Asia. The VIP service at the airport got us through customs and visa services in less than five Koufax. Within 20 minutes of landing, we were at the hotel. They even brout our favorite drink to the airport for the car ride.
While we were the, my husband became I'll and the hotel assisted me in contacting a doctor and in getting him to the international hospital. They showed genuine concern for him and assured me in getting back and forth to the hospital for visits.
Only downside is that the tours through the hotel are rath expensive for Siem reap. I would arrange your tours privately to save about half. Tht being said, the tour was wonderful and incuded cold towels after each temple and cold drinks as well as an air conditioned car and English speaking guide and were well organized and easy to arrange through the hotel.
Among the five star hotels, this is the best located I my view. It is just five blocks or so from the part of downtown with shopping and restaurants and ten minutes to the Temple entrance.
Poll is lovely and refreshing after a hot day of touring. Good room service and food.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I have never bothered to review a hotel before, because they never left a deep enough impression for me to think about it, but I must say that I was truly impressed by La Residence d'Angkor and wanted to share my recent experience.

After almost a two week tour through Vietnam Laos and Cambodia staying in nice, but run of the mill hotels, we heard good things and decided to stay at La Residence in Siem Reap. We booked a room and I can definitely say that this was the best night of my trip.

From our arrival the staff was very friendly and helpful, giving us a tour of the hotel, room, as well as any information on the city and sights. The attentive staff almost knew what we were looking for with little details such as preparing our slippers next to our beds after lunch, so we could relax and enjoy the pool. We were also pleasantly surprised when random staff throughout our stay were referring to us by name and asking if they could help us in anyway. These are the type of details that distinguish a 5 star establishment form the rest.

The location is also excellent- right in the center of town next to the river and walkable to most popular areas.

The restaurant and breakfast buffet was also delicious and they had a free show of a traditional dance at the restaurant when we went.

The pool is small, but when we went there were no other guests so we had the whole pool to ourselves. It is stylish and great to relax in. You could also order drinks there.

The theme of the hotel resembles the statues and sculptures of Angkor Wat, which is great as it gets you in the mood for adventure before seeing the real thing.

On the downside, I can't think of anything to mention. Even the pricing which is in-line with 5 star hotels was very reasonable.

All in all, if you are looking for a luxurious stay at an excellent resort in the center of Siem Reap, look no further than La Residence. I know I will be coming back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

This was my fourth trip to Siem Reap but my first stay at this property. This is definitely the best property in town.

The staff very quickly recognized their guests. The pool was extremely pleasant with numerous loungers and two large beds. Unlike many properties, the pool was available 24 hours a day. At night the pool area is enhanced for evening drinks.

I had a few issues that I directed to the management and they were quickly addressed. Kudos to the property's management - Vorana na Champassak (General Manager) and Mr. Rivong (Assistant Manager).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

we stayed at la residence for our anniversary and my birthday and it really lives up to its reputation, we were completely catered for ! The staff are so friendly and sweet and seem really happy to be working which is rare these days!
the pool is to die for like a warm bath no smell of chlorine
breakfast is superb and I have no complaints at all
booked with mr and mrs smith and got 2 massages free!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misstree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The hotel is fairly new with every thing you would expect.
Situated on the riverbank and just a short walk from the tourist strip.
Staff were execlent.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozbraids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
2.1 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#26 of 361 in Siem Reap
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#42 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,331 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.3 mi away
J7 Hotel
J7 Hotel
#40 of 361 in Siem Reap
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Address: River Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#34 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £80 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate retreat that beautifully captures the region's history while offering every modern luxury. Located close by Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Tonle Sap Lake, it's an ideal base to explore the wonders of the region. Siem Reap's lively markets, galleries and thriving restaurant and bar scene are just steps away. Local elegance and stylish luxury are the hallmarks of the hotel's rooms and suites, furnished with traditional hardwoods and bamboo and exquisitely decorated in soft cottons and jewel-toned silks. At Circle restaurant, enjoy a unique gastronomic experience of International and Khmer cuisine or enjoy more relaxed fare at Ember. The Martini Lounge is a relaxed cocktail lounge with impressive views of the gardens. A tropical oasis-like large swimming pool is at the heart of the hotel and is complimented by the tranquil Kong Kea Spa. The hotel also benefits from a fitness centre, two boutiques, a tour desk and complimentary daily activities such as a monk blessing or shopping tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing