We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Ranked #41 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

What a gorgeous hotel with exceptionally good service. There was nothing we could fault with the hotel and the friendly and professional staff made our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing the pool and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marj0edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,095
    181
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
245
740
66
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

This is a wonderful hotel, the location is within walking distance to Pub Street and within a 15 minute tuk-tuk ride to the temples of Angkor.

The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. We had a garden view room with a king bed. The rooms were clean and as a part of the nightly turn-down service a lovely scented jasmine candle was lit for us.

Best of all was the staff. Everyone was genuinely friendly and accommodating. We had a very late departure flight and room check-out was at noon but unfortunately we didn't make earlier arrangements for a late check-out. While our room was reserved and needed to be prepared for the next guests, management helped move us to another room where we could hang out for a few additional hours. Additionally on our departure, the Assistant Front Office Manager, Mr. Pon stepped out and thanked us for our stay.

Our driver to the airport was also one of the baggage porter, he was friendly and very nice as all of the staff at the hotel.

We highly recommend this hotel for their rooms and their hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pengysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This was our fifth and last hotel in a two-week trip around Cambodia, so we'd seen quite a cross-section of upper-tier Cambodian hotels at that point. I thought the Raffles in Phnom Penh had clinched "best of the trip" only to have La Residence d'Angkor top it handily. I'd say the best thing about La Residence has to offer is the staff, who are among the best I've ever seen anywhere. As an example, we arrived on a Thursday afternoon to discover that was one of only two nights they do their special Cambodia dancing dinner show. Even in low season all the tables inside the restaurant were booked already, but one of the restaurant staff worked with us to find the best available table on the veranda, re-position it for optimum view of where the dancing would take place inside, and reserve it for us. This level of helpfulness and 'can-do' attitude is pervasive throughout the hotel. Beyond that the hotel has quite an intimate and relaxed feel, more like a large boutique hotel than is typical of most 5-Star hotels in my experience -- La Residence is comfortable being comfortable, I suppose.

La Residence was also the first hotel ever with which my architect/commercial designer girlfriend could not find a single fault in terms of design, construction, or anything else. Her words: "Whoever designed La Residence gets it."

As for amenities, I can only repeat what's already been said before: food excellent, service excellent, atmosphere excellent, pool area excellent, rooms excellent, staff excellent, overall experience excellent. Small touches were much appreciated, such as umbrellas in stands in all the buildings for use in event of a sudden shower.

One thing that really made La Residence different for me was this: on Friday nights they sponsor a group of disadvantaged children from the charity "Together for Cambodia" to come to the lounge area to just relax and enjoy the night, and if possible practice their English with hotel guests. We found the kids to be delightful, and stayed to talk to them well past our dinner reservation time. I think it's a tribute to La Residence that they are willing to sponsor these children like this, and this is something that would make me pick La Residence over any other hotel should I return to Siem Reap.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the propery may be noisier for a short time as another hotel is being buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UK_Gator_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

For an unprecedented starter, read on to check out what these guys do for you right from the airport. I mean, these guys understand the concept of "how to make an experience exceptional" better than almost anybody.
*We have never been so properly greeted from the airport like they do: Greeted by our name from the moment we stepped off the plane, BYPASSED CUSTOMS!!, handed our passports and baggage tickets to a hotel employee waiting for us there and walked right to a luxury SUV where ice cold waters & eucalyptus and lavender dipped towels awaited us with a concierge and driver on the team. Within 2 minutes of deplaning, we were off to see the wizard.
It was amazing from start to finish - every cent so well spent, you will not regret this masterpiece of architecture and function. The breakfasts and dinners are remarkable as well, so you can feel comfortable eating right there if you so desire.

Parked right in the heart of town, with your own private Tuk-Tuks which wait for you where ever you go - its such a rich, well thought out hospitality experience that I cant say enough about it. Cambodia is amazing, the temples are marvelous & if you're traveling there - don't consider staying anywhere else. Its the best spot in town - hands down.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessestrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We could not have been more pleased with our stay. Staff was gracious, cooperative, and top-notch in all respects. Property is stunning, particularly the pool area and terrace bar. (Pool-view) room was very well-appointed, with a comfortable bed and wonderful shower/tub. We were sad to have to leave it! One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at!

Room Tip: Room 7, overlooking the pool, but in a corner shaded by trees, feels very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asahmed7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

The hotel exudes charm and friendliness in all aspect.....from the time we arrived at the hotel to the time we left. Exceeded our expectations and we hope to be able to visit again!!! The staff made our stay extremely pleasant and memorable!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAPHNESAGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I would like to congratulate the management of orient express for the most amazing service i have ever experienced in my vacation stays. Beautiful smiling staff, well mannered who made your wishes in seconds. The hotel itself looks like an isolated tropical getaway althought it is at the center of the town. The swimming pool is with crystal clear sea water in a gorgeous setting where you can enjoy super coctails. The decoration of the rooms is traditional khmer with large rooms and and a huge bathtub on the bathroom. In room dining is excellent, taste the curry crab and you'll thank me later.........The hotel is in walkable distance to the night market about 10 minutes.The only con i could think is the breakfast which isn't something special but it's something that could easily get fixed.
Thank you La Residence!
Ps. Cambodia's people even thought they are extremelly poor, they are decent, respectful and so smilling faces especially the children that they in my heart. Please help them as much as you can.

Room Tip: don't choose the river view rooms, they have noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIK0S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#42 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
2.1 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#20 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#29 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Club
Shinta Mani Club
#8 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,889 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Property: Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Address: River Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate retreat that beautifully captures the region's history while offering every modern luxury. Located close by Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Tonle Sap Lake, it's an ideal base to explore the wonders of the region. Siem Reap's lively markets, galleries and thriving restaurant and bar scene are just steps away. Local elegance and stylish luxury are the hallmarks of the hotel's rooms and suites, furnished with traditional hardwoods and bamboo and exquisitely decorated in soft cottons and jewel-toned silks. At Circle restaurant, enjoy a unique gastronomic experience of International and Khmer cuisine or enjoy more relaxed fare at Ember. The Martini Lounge is a relaxed cocktail lounge with impressive views of the gardens. A tropical oasis-like large swimming pool is at the heart of the hotel and is complimented by the tranquil Kong Kea Spa. The hotel also benefits from a fitness centre, two boutiques, a tour desk and complimentary daily activities such as a monk blessing or shopping tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing