We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Stay and the Best Service in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Ranked #41 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay and the Best Service in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed in Siem Reap for about 6 days to see the surrounding temples, but really we spent the whole time half-thinking when we could go back to the hotel.
The hotel room had a huge bath which was a wonderful pale green colour, and the beds were so comfortable. The AC system was easy to control and changed the temperature immediately. The best part of the experience for me, was returning to the room after a day of sight-seeing to be greeted with a little present by the foot of the beds as well as a stick entwined with Jasmine Flowers. We got a cotton scarf on the first day, a buddhist statue the second day, some famous Kampot Pepper the third, etc. It was marvellous. The breakfasts were amazing, and had catered to everyone's needs, American, British, Continental, Malaysian, Muslim Style breakfasts were on offer as well as people on hand catering to anything you wanted.
While relaxing by the pool, waiters would come round every once in a while and surprise you with a plate of fresh local fruit - on the house. It really was a lovely surprise. As for dinner, we only ate there once as we wanted to try out the best restaurants according to Lonely Planet's guide but we would have loved to eat there again. All in all an amazing experience. Perfect for Honeymooners and families.
The Spa is also amazing if a little pricey, but it was the best Spa I went to in Cambodia.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afc_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    181
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
243
739
66
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We had a spacious room and bath overlooking the pool. We stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. Our room was a welcome relief after touring all day. The boutique was well priced and had some unique pieces. We had dinner one night with the show. The food was good, but service great. Definately stay here.

Room Tip: Overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel2747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shasta Lake, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We found that the La Residence really offered good value for our family. We enjoyed most meals at the hotel and the staff always put effort in to ensure that our needs were met. We used the sofa in the room as an extra bed which left us with more than enough space to move around without feeling crowded, which is often the case when an extra bed is put into a room. Our daughter really enjoyed the pool and made friends with some other visitors. It is a 3 minute tuk tuk ride to town ($1) or a 10 minute walk, most of it next to the river, so it is quite scenic. We will recommend this hotel to our friends and will stay at the sister hotel in Luang Prabang when we visit there later this year!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angielake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

After cozy Luang Prabang, we were surprised to see the size of the airport and the road into town. Luckily our agent choose the best hotel in town for us. Once you step into the lobby the you are so far removed from the busy city, you may as well be on a private island.
Our room was very big and even though it is not a new room, it had all the amenities you would expect from an Orient Express hotel. Enough power points in the room to charge phones, computers, camera batteries, iPad and more. Internet is not as fast as in Singapore, but then again, the pace of life is also not as fast. We enjoyed the spa treatments offered by well trained therapists. Try to interact on a personal level with the staff - they are lovely people and are genuinly interested in learning about other cultures.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baymouse11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

When you stay in places like "la recidence de Angkor" you expect the best of the best. A five star hotel, top recommended in lonely planet and winner of the traveler award on tripadvisor. We stayed for 4 nights and had a fantastic stay.
Still, the place was more amazing than all the photos and reviews. Fantastic boutique rooms, chill pool area, and small but nice gym. What I especially like about la residence is the feeling of beeing one of a few guests, instead of staying in a "factory" five-star hotel with hundreds of guests, and no connection with the staff. I felt privileged to stay in a place like this.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andersmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

La Residence is a very good option in Siem Reap. Big clean rooms, beautiful swimming pool (nothing better if you need to relax and chill out after hiking around Angkor temples), nice decor.
But...they really try to charge you and overcharge you for anything they can. We had barely stepped in the hotel and even before showing us our room they were already trying to book us on a temple tour the day after and convince us that dining at the hotel was a must. It is certainly not the fault of the local Cambodian staff (lovely people), probably they are just complying with "superior orders".
However, we found this approach really disturbing. And the last day was the cherry on the cake: we had booked a transfer to the Battambang boat and after having paid their hefty bill the chased us pretending that we had to pay something like US 2 for the mosquito repellent that we had never requested or used (nor opened). If they just had a better management and client-conscious training...
A final word on the spa: its location is stunning but services are just average and very much overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giorgionet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gm-Angkor, General Manager at Belmond La Residence d'Angkor, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Giorgionet
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at La Residence d’Angkor during your visit in August 2011. A new general manager was appointed shortly after your visit and the hotel has concentrated its training program over the past 6 months on customer service, assertive behavior and the Orient Express values. As you say, the people of Cambodia are lovely people and the combination of the above training combined with English language classes have improved service levels tremendously.
We would like to invite you back to La Residence d’Angkor during your next visit to Siem Reap to experience first hand the more assertive approach our employees have developed towards our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Our first trip to Asia and we booked after checking Tripadvisor. Now we see why it is so important to read all the reviews before making a decision and as we travel on the rest of journey I will post our reviews.
Everything we read on Tripadvisor was just as promised:
A huge bathtub big enough for two with enough hot water to really enjoy a bath. Large bedroom and bed with crisp white linens. Fresh fruit in the room every day and and a pool to die for! Good breakfast with 9 different juices. Lovely drinks at the bar and friendly and well trained spa therapists.
I hope the rest of the hotels we booked will be as nice as this.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangotree3693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#40 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
2.1 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#20 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#29 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Club
Shinta Mani Club
#8 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Property: Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Address: River Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate retreat that beautifully captures the region's history while offering every modern luxury. Located close by Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Tonle Sap Lake, it's an ideal base to explore the wonders of the region. Siem Reap's lively markets, galleries and thriving restaurant and bar scene are just steps away. Local elegance and stylish luxury are the hallmarks of the hotel's rooms and suites, furnished with traditional hardwoods and bamboo and exquisitely decorated in soft cottons and jewel-toned silks. At Circle restaurant, enjoy a unique gastronomic experience of International and Khmer cuisine or enjoy more relaxed fare at Ember. The Martini Lounge is a relaxed cocktail lounge with impressive views of the gardens. A tropical oasis-like large swimming pool is at the heart of the hotel and is complimented by the tranquil Kong Kea Spa. The hotel also benefits from a fitness centre, two boutiques, a tour desk and complimentary daily activities such as a monk blessing or shopping tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing