We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable resort in a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Ranked #40 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My wife and I, along with our 2 year old daughter, booked a 3 night package with the hotel, and we had a great time. It was our first trip to Cambodia and my first time staying in an Orient Express hotel. It was a great experience. One problem I had was the wireless internet connection. The signal in our room was so weak that most of the devices wouldn't connect. They tried to address the issue a couple of times, but it wasn't successful. Despite that, the overall experience was excellent. I highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room 31 if you want a stable internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superpan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

Fantastic smaller hotel - great spacious rooms, excellent bar and nice little pool with no "bed" hogs in sight. We had dinner in the hotel an a tour and all went well

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed 4 nights in April 2012
A great location within walking distance of main centre or a short trip by Tuk Tuk but in a low key & quiet setting by the river
Lovely buildings, great room over looking the pool, very spacious & comfortably furnished
We ate in one evening (to watch dancing show) & very nice food. Great breakfast spread in the mornings with local, asian & European/American choices
Staff are exellent - always very helpful & friendly - great service without being overbearing
Also used the Spa which is great

Room Tip: Rooms over looking pool probably best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clanc00per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Our third time staying at La Residence and first since it was taken over by Orient Express. New wing now with larger suites which we got to see but preferred the old rooms with pool view. Great staff and wonderful restaurant 'The Dining Room' - superb food. Turndown service very thorough. Nice bar now on first floor with free wifi all through the hotel and a spa which I didn't use but which friends did and thoroughly enjoyed. Quite a few tuk tuks outside the hotel which charge $20-25 per day to take you to and from Angkor a couple of times - ours even took us to Banteay Srei. Hotel will recommend restaurants as they have a list of the best ones. I thought the food at the Foreign Correspondents Club had gone off for what its worth. Perfect hotel to base yourself in Siem Reap. We started out at 5:30 each morning, must sees Angkor Wat, Preah Khan, Ta Phrom, Bayon, Angkor Thom, Banteay Srei

Room Tip: Room overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

La Residence d'Angkor is a group of low-rise, two story buildings, sitting on the small muddy Siem Reap River that runs through the town of Siem Reap. It has an unassuming presence compared to other hotels in town, and that's just fine. It is quiet (for the most part, but see below), cool and a perfect escape from the heat and noise that can be overwhelming in Siem Reap.

You experience one of THE best things about La Residence the moment you arrive. A cold towel is presented to you as you step in the front gate, and you pretty much get one every time you return to the hotel. At the end of a hot morning or afternoon trek through the ruins, this simple act cannot be beat. We received our first ones from the driver who picked us up at the airport, and still loved the one we got on arrival at the hotel.

We had a ground floor room, #7, just off the pool, and while it was described as a River View suite, we were looking at the wall that separates the property from the street. That was fine, as we didn't spend any time on the small terrace outside the room. The room was spacious and had a huge terrazzo tub/shower, big walk-in closet, tea/coffee maker, safe and television. Wi-Fi was complimentary, and available in the room, and around most of the property.

Breakfast was served off the main reception area, and had a nice variety of options, both Western and Asian. Breakfast was the best time for sitting outside as it was always cooler. The Martini Bar, which is above the reception area, was a nice space for evening cocktails, and offered 2 for 1 happy hour specials, which made it easier to ignore all the other happy hour specials around Siem Reap, and stay at the hotel.

The menu of treatments for the Kong Kea Spa was extensive. We selected the "after tour" package, which consisted of a 60 minute body massage and 30 minute reflexology session. You are offered an array of scented oils to choose from for your massage, and the masseuse was very good about explaining the differences between the various oils.

The Old Market area with its shopping, bars and restaurants is a short tuk tuk ride from the hotel ($1.00 per person and no more), or if it’s not too hot, a leisurely stroll along the river will get you there in about 15 minutes. Wat Bo Road runs parallel to the river and is behind the hotel. This is an up and coming area with a number of restaurants, cafes and bars. Viroth’s is a well known restaurant in town, and just behind La Residence.


All of the buildings are built around the hotel's long blue tiled pool. It can be a very relaxing spot to lounge around after a long hot day of touring. In the evening it is ringed with torches and two large fire pits offer some dramatic lighting. This was the one spot where the La Residence experience was a bit underwhelming. There were a number of families staying at the hotel while we were there. One afternoon there were 11 children in the pool. It is not possible to relax when there are 11 children playing Marco Polo in the pool. On another evening two young boys were taking great delight in attempting to, and finally succeeding in, dousing out one of the fire pits. On one afternoon a mother remarked to another guest that they had gone to the Bayon Temple and it was just too crowded and too hot for the kids (5 of them), so they just brought them back to the pool. Families are – of course – allowed to travel where they like, however La Residence is not a Disney resort, and really not set up to accommodate children, and what children want to do – play. Children being children detracted immensely from the relaxing atmosphere.

On the one occasion that I called Reception to say a family was being too loud at the pool (it was 10:30pm), the matter was taken care of immediately. I don’t believe it is automatically the hotel’s responsibility to police families and their children’s behavior, but at the same time – the other guests are paying premium prices for their stays, and somehow our experience shouldn’t be diminished by noisy children.

This aside, the hotel is a peaceful spot in a bustling town. The staff was friendly, efficient and genuine – always ready to help or serve.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This is a great hotel with great service and a wonderful design and atmosphere. All details have been paid attention to, from the lobby entrance to the excellent pool. We also reserved one of their vintage cars to pick us up from the airport which is worth the splurge. Even the gift shop was great, which lots of Cambodian goods for sale.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saiyingpun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel really exceeded expectations. The design and layout is very impressive. The rooms are large, and having stayed in many hotels, I can tell the architect really put extensive thought into the design, beacuse the flow of the rooms work really well. There was only a large tub/shower combo, so it may be difficult for some people to climb into, as opposed to a walk-in shower, that was my only observation.

The bar/lounge is grand and tropical.

The restaurant, we dined at twice as well as had breakfast there each day. I highly recommend the Khmer Discovery menus; 4 different set menus put together as complements.

The pool and the grounds are lush.

The service was very good. The location is easy walking or short tuk-tuk to the old town center or the other way to FCC shopping boutiques.

We used the spa a couple times; very good prices for this quality-level of spa (on a global standard) and one of the best massage.

We will definitely look to stay at another Orient-Express hotel in the future.

Room Tip: "Pool View" room was excellent size and nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lahlahlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
2.1 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#25 of 365 in Siem Reap
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#46 of 365 in Siem Reap
1,396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.6 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#41 of 365 in Siem Reap
1,348 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Address: River Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#33 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £148 - £453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate retreat that beautifully captures the region's history while offering every modern luxury. Located close by Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Tonle Sap Lake, it's an ideal base to explore the wonders of the region. Siem Reap's lively markets, galleries and thriving restaurant and bar scene are just steps away. 59 Suites have been fully renovated in 2016 and exude local elegance and stylish luxury, furnished with traditional hardwoods and bamboo and exquisitely decorated in soft cottons and jewel-toned silks. At Circle restaurant, enjoy Khmer hawker-style cuisine or a more International menu at Ember. The Martini Lounge is a relaxed cocktail lounge with impressive views of the gardens. A tropical oasis-like large swimming pool is at the heart of the hotel and is complimented by the tranquil Kong Kea Spa. The hotel also benefits from a fitness centre, two boutiques, a tour desk and complimentary daily activities such as a monk blessing or shopping tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing