We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Ranked #41 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming hotel with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

This is a very charming hotel, close to town but far enough so that you do not hear the noise of the all night bars and clubs of Pub street. Large sliding doors let in enough light to make the rooms airy and bright, gorgeous wooden floors and wooden vanity in the bathroom offset by white towels and bed linens. Staff in the restaurant, around the pool, cleaning our room and at the front office are all very helpful and most probably the friendliest we have ever encountered. Management is always around but it seems like she empowers her team to interact with the guests - so often the foreign management in Asia steps in every time we try to talk to staff, at this hotel the employees were well trained to help us with all our needs. Highly recommended

Room Tip: They all seem to look the same, just the view is different
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    181
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
243
739
66
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed for 3 nights (sep 9 -12, 2012). This was our first trip to Cambodia. Wonderful service - we were very very impressed with all aspects of the hotel – the property was impeccable (probably the best presented hotel we have stayed in - staff using toothbrushes to perfect teh already sparkling floor edges); the food in the restaurant was excellent and the Spa was outstanding – all delivered with a low key commitment to real service. We both travel a lot and rarely give feedback but wanted to take the time here to acknowledge a wonderful job well done. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSLS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We booked La Residence d'Angkor as a special treat for our last nights stay in Siem Reap. It was a gift from our friends, for our honeymoon. It looked very romantic and luxurious, a top quality hotel from Orient Express. We had a requested hypo-allergenic bedding when we had booked the hotel a month before, this had been confirmed in an email and when we checked in reception reassured us that they had already arranged the room as requested. Being told this was a relief as usually I always have to double check, with this in mind I assumed it was all taken care of. We enjoyed our evening only to find at 11.30 at night that the bedding was not hypoallergenic and actually duck feathers, causing an immediate allergic reaction. We tried to explain the situation to the night reception who were not able to offer us a solution apart from some old brown polyester blankets, we asked to talk to the manager and were told she has gone home. My husband and I were very disappointed by the hotels response to a very simple request and left immediatley to stay at Raffles. In stark contrast Raffles greeted us with understanding and kindness in the middle of the night. They promptly tried to find an alternative hotel with a room with hypoallergenic bedding, while they checked if they could accommodate us themselves. La Residence has a long way to go if they want to provide a genuine 5 star service to their customers, after all that is the basis of their business, customer service not just a glamourous backdrop to your photos.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mrs_CXD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gm-Angkor, General Manager at Belmond La Residence d'Angkor, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Mrs. CXD
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at La Residence d’Angkor. I am sorry that the experience did not live up to your expectations and have made some changes to our linen options since your stay. We should have realized that the request for hypoallergenic pillows meant all bedding should be hypoallergenic. We appreciate your feedback and have taken the necessary steps to avoid a similar situation in the future. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back at La Residence d’Angkor for your next visit to Siem Reap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We were pleasantly surprised when we visited La Residence dÁngkor in Siem Reap last month.
Coming from Vietnam where accommodation were not that great, we did not expect the level of service and excellence we received from the moment we arrived at this beautiful hotel. The hotel is not new, but it is spotless and very well maintained. It is small enough so that the friendly staff can remember your name and preferences but on the other hand big enough so that you can have your privacy when you want. Airy rooms with large bathtubs, wonderful breakfasts and some interesting special dishes at lunchtime. We had dinner on the night of the traditional dance show - try on of the traditional Khmer dishes, you will not be disappointed. The spa is luxurious and I felt I was treated like royalty - a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

From the first friendly greeting with a cool refreshing towel, and drink, the staff and amenities exceeded all expectations. Highlights; the stunning Khmer decor of the foyer and rooms.The friendly outstandingly well-trained staff. That pool! A bath that could pass for a pool on it's own.
A wonderful oasis in Cambodia.

Room Tip: River view was fascinating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

What a beautiful hotel, managed by Orient Express. We have stayed in Orient Express Hotels in Europe but this was our first experience of South East Asia, so we choose a hotel group that we felt comfortable with and we were not disappointed.
Rooms are very large and airy. Decorated with local wood and silks. Fluffy bathtowels and soft white linens on the beds
Restaurants - there are two. One is large for breakfast and fine dining and a smaller one that is more informal for lunch or all day sweets. Coffee is very good
Bar upstairs are cool and breezy with good views of the pool and gardens
They seem to like water at this hotel as you cross a large pond filled with koy when you enter the hotel. On the other side of the reception is another koy pond and then there is the amazing swimming pool - it is refreshing and long enough to swim laps
The spa is modern and cool and smells fantastic. Our treatments were professional.
We really enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel and can recommend the service by the friendly staff

Room Tip: The garden and pool rooms are set in a tropical paradise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nelsonsbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

A hotel that offered more than expected. From the moment we arrived and were welcomed with a delicious fresh mint drink, we knew this will be the perfect place for us. Rooms are cozy and offers traditionl charm. Large oval bathtubs with overhead showers and more fluffy towels than what we could use. The pool is surrounded by tropical plants and deep enough to stay cool even in the heat of Cambodia. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The front desk staff arranged our tours with a lovely guide who speaks perfect English. It may be less expensive to get a guide off the street, but our understanding is that this can be risky as you do not know how good he will be while tour guides arranged by the hotel have been vetted by them. My wife tried the local spa treatment with a local herbs and thought it was great

Room Tip: River rooms cannot all see the river, though we were lucky to be on the top floor where there is a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugar339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#40 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
2.1 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#20 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#29 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Club
Shinta Mani Club
#8 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Property: Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Address: River Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate retreat that beautifully captures the region's history while offering every modern luxury. Located close by Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Tonle Sap Lake, it's an ideal base to explore the wonders of the region. Siem Reap's lively markets, galleries and thriving restaurant and bar scene are just steps away. Local elegance and stylish luxury are the hallmarks of the hotel's rooms and suites, furnished with traditional hardwoods and bamboo and exquisitely decorated in soft cottons and jewel-toned silks. At Circle restaurant, enjoy a unique gastronomic experience of International and Khmer cuisine or enjoy more relaxed fare at Ember. The Martini Lounge is a relaxed cocktail lounge with impressive views of the gardens. A tropical oasis-like large swimming pool is at the heart of the hotel and is complimented by the tranquil Kong Kea Spa. The hotel also benefits from a fitness centre, two boutiques, a tour desk and complimentary daily activities such as a monk blessing or shopping tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing