We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Ranked #44 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We have now visited Cambodia 6 times in the last 2 years and on each occasion have stayed in this great hotel. The wooden architecture, stunning pool, good sized rooms and lots of small touches make this a really special place to stay in Siem Reap. Sure, there may be more opulent hotels but one that delivers such consistently high standard of service would be hard to find. A great hotel can only deliver on the strength of its staff and on every one of our visits, staff at every level have been courteous, friendly and helpful.

The location is great, both for walking into town or visiting the temples. Siem Reap is a lively place in the evening and the hotel is a real sanctuary with the staff always on hand with cold towels and a friendly greeting.

Breakfast may be taken either inside or round a series of ornamental pools. There is always a wide choice of fresh fruit and both western and oriental dishes cooked to order and consistently high standard.

The Spa has rightly been nominated for awards for excellence. It is a serene place to spend time after a busy day either at the Temples or in town and the Manager, Mr Dewa and his team, specially our chosen therapist Sokhon, are highly skilful and professional.

The centre point of the hotel is the pool, with rooms surrounding the pool being premium. The pool itself is well maintained and over 30 metres long, ideal for exercising, There is also a small but well equipped fitness centre .

In summary, this is one of our all time favourite hotels and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

Everything about our experience here was wonderful. Large, well-appointed suite with comfortable bed; great service from registration to checkout. Good value for a luxury hotel. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant- we tried the Cambodian Khmer menu; both my wife and I were very happy with our meals (lobster tower and chicken/shrimp). Breakfast buffet here was fairly diverse with very attentive service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob-and-Mila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The architecture creates a wonderful atmosphere. You are instantly struck by the use of water features throughout the hotel which creates a nice sense of calm and relaxation - a million miles away from the hustle and bustle of Siem Reap. You enter the hotel by crossing a moat filled with carp fish, all lit up with lanterns. The ambience is just perfect. The spa and pool are the best antidote to a long tiring day touring the temples. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the bath is possibly the largest i have ever had in any hotel. The staff are just wonderful - Cambodians have to be the most placid and friendly people I have ever met on my travels. The hotel will, of course organise trips to the temples, but you can arrange your own tours independently for half the price. We made inquiries with the taxi drivers when we arrived at the airport. We saved a lot of money doing it that way and still had a great day with a driver for the day, a tour guide and lunch thrown in. You can of course do it without a tour guide, but if you're going all that way, a guide helps you make the most of it. The hotel is no more than 5-10 minutes from Angkor Wat, and downtown is walking distance so do make sure you get out and about, however hard it might be to pull yourself away from the hotel....

Room Tip: Definitely try a spa treatment after seeing the temples, the facilities are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

As someone who lives and works locally, I can easily say this is one of the best venues in Siem Reap, consistently over-delivering in style, flavour and service. I especially enjoy being able to chill out in the elegant Martini Bar with its airy decor, abundance of fans (!), fast wifi and a backup generator (which is very important as SR often loses electricity for a few hours). Martini Bar's food is delightful: I often snack on one of the bar's reasonably-priced pizzas with a great base (hard to find in SR) and high quality cheese, or if I'm feeling more healthy I will eat the delicious lamb koftas - seasoned beautifully and served with a light and fresh-tasting couscous with fresh lime. If feeling decadent, there is an extensive cocktail and wine menu, all delivered with faultless service and a smile. As an aside, I've also eaten in the main Circle restaurant on special occasions and was blown away by the carefully crafted worldly modern tastes - this is very much east meets west, often with mind-blowing results - the chef is obviously a genius. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AC_Wokas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This hotel is beautiful. Staff super helpful. Can't do enough for you. Lots of little touches (candle lights around pool at dusk, sheets turned down before bed, incense lit and dim lights so you can see at night in your room) made this stay. Great variety for breakfast, western and traditional. Worth the money

Room Tip: Pool view is great. Lots of vegetation, so to save bugs etc getting in, leave patio doors on to balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We've just come back after staying for 3 nights. If you want a great hotel close to all the main temples ( particularly Angor Wat) this is the place. 10 mins from the airport ideal. Built in a colonial style surrounded by tropical plants. The pool is large and secluded and the rooms well kept and equipped. The staff all speak limited English and the hotel manger Jacque who is French cannot do enough for you. Very tranquil and cool after a long day hiking around temples. I would definitely go again and give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rikengland99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We spent three wonderful days at La Residence d'Angkor in mid April. The service we received was impecable...not only did the staff go above and beyond, they all knew our names based on sight, knew our itinerary and we full of very helpful information. The airport pickup was prompt, with cold towels and water waiting for us in the car. The front desk was able to make suggestions, help arrange reservations and transportation to some delicious, authentic Cambodian restaurants. They also were very accommodating with our request for a late checkout, as our flight didn't depart Siem Reap until 7:30, they allowed us to checkout at 5:00 pm. The tour we booked through the hotel was also nice, albeit rather pricy. We decided to only do one day of guided tours and then hired a tuk-tuk for the other two days. The pool was beautiful and refreshing, and the grounds overall were stunning. Food: we enjoyed the breakfast, the baked goods were particularly tasty, although I personally didn't realize there was hot food available outside until the last day. We also enjoyed happy hour at the upstairs bar (2-for-1) but we did not usually have dinner at the hotel, preferring instead to find more local spots. Overall a truly lovely experience.

The room was clean and beautiful, the bed was quite comfortable, and I looked forward to the turndown service every night with a delicious treat left for us each night (tiramisu, macaroons, green tea donughts..all delicious!)

Room Tip: I do want to correct some mis-information that I have read in previous posts, contrary to what some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelSimps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#46 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
2.1 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#28 of 361 in Siem Reap
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.6 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#41 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Address: River Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#38 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £124 - £420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate retreat that beautifully captures the region's history while offering every modern luxury. Located close by Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Tonle Sap Lake, it's an ideal base to explore the wonders of the region. Siem Reap's lively markets, galleries and thriving restaurant and bar scene are just steps away. 59 Suites have been fully renovated in 2016 and exude local elegance and stylish luxury, furnished with traditional hardwoods and bamboo and exquisitely decorated in soft cottons and jewel-toned silks. At Circle restaurant, enjoy Khmer hawker-style cuisine or a more International menu at Ember. The Martini Lounge is a relaxed cocktail lounge with impressive views of the gardens. A tropical oasis-like large swimming pool is at the heart of the hotel and is complimented by the tranquil Kong Kea Spa. The hotel also benefits from a fitness centre, two boutiques, a tour desk and complimentary daily activities such as a monk blessing or shopping tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing