We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already planning to return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Ranked #42 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel is excellent and the place to stay in Siem Reap if its luxury you want. The staff are amazing and management make you feel at home as soon as you walk through the door.
Location is perfect in between all the temples and the downtown area. Rooms are great and we highly recommend opting for the suites. Such a wonderful sense of space and an amazing outside living area.
Food was excellent and especially the Fish Amok made with coconut milk.
Spent our mornings at the Temples, afternoons around the wonderful hotel pool and our evenings in town or relaxing at the hotel cocktail bar.
Carla, the hotel GM was always around making us feel like it was our home and that the entire staff was there to make us feel pampered and special. Look no further.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarPANAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,399)
There are newer reviews for Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

My wife and I stayed four nights and found this hotel absolutely ideal. Far enough out to be quiet, close enough to town to walk. But most of all the staff were just wonderful, cheerful, helpful and efficient. The hotel was pretty empty when we stayed, but the bar was atmospheric, the breakfasts offered a great variety, and the pool very welcoming after a long day out. The rooms were comfortable (though I found the beds a bit hard), the bath in our room looked a bit tired, but we only stood in it, so it didnt matter. All in all an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KillyQwertyuiop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Location: Easy access to Angkor Wat and the temples - 10 min drive. A 10 minute walk to Pub Street and night markets.

Service: Staff are friendly and knowledgable. A variety of tours of the temples available. Just speak to their ever-helpful concierge.

Room: the pool room is nice and big.

The hotel, as a whole, is nicely appointed and everything works as they should. The location is perfect if you want to walk around at night. Otherwise, nothing really to shout about.

Siem Reap is not a "sleepy" town. It's really quite buzzy and vibrant which was a nice surprise to me. Pub Street and the night markets are a must-see. Plenty to see and do and eat! Everything is in US$ but they are very cheap. For $10, you can certainly have a nice supper with drinks. Foot massages in abundance - $1 for 30 mins.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed for three nights in this wonderful hotel which is deceiving from the outside. It is beautiful, warm and friendly and run with precision and professionalism by Jaques and Team. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spacious and add a traditional flavour to reflect the Cambodian culture. The bathroom was a dream with a huge bath. Bedrooms overlook the pool but are private due to the lush gardens. The pool is beautiful and the quality of the bar menu food is excellent and good VFM. 10 minute stroll to the shops and night market. 10 minute Tuk-Tuk ride to Angkor Wat temples. Did not try the spa but plenty of excellent reviews from folks around the pool who we spoke to. Would highly recommend

Room Tip: Pool view is perfect, very quiet and shaded from the hot sun
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed in this beautiful boutique hotel for three nights, on our first trip to Cambodia (Siem Reap). I've seen some reviews claiming this hotel is five stars, and although wonderful it is certainly not. I can not comment on other Cambodian hotels, so maybe it could be a five start hotel in Cambodia, but compared to the world it is more in line with 4.5 stars.

We were pleasantly surprised at how efficient check in was, and how welcoming. We were promptly given a welcome drink, along with the recipe, then shown to our room. I learned about the hotel through jetsetter, although I did not book through them. Jetsetter recommended a poolside room for quietness and Im sure glad I listened to that. They offer a River view, and all though you do see a river, it is across a street. A loud, Cambodian street.

From that point, if you have never been to Cambodia is is quite the experience. Obviously it is a developing country, and within the resort you do not feel that. However looking out the windows or stepping outside the grounds you sure do. Beggars and street vendors are extremely aggressive. Not to the point of violence or fear, but to the point of following you down a street for five minutes pulling your arms to get money.

Putting that aside the staff is very friendly, however a great majority of them do not speak english very well. Because they do not speak english proficiently you will get a lot of "Thank you's". For example, just eating breakfast when a waiter would clear my plate he would say thank you five times. Continuing that point the staff would constantly check on you to make sure you were happy. This is great, however at times we would have a different staff member coming up to us every thirty seconds it seemed.

The rooms are great, however the bathroom offers very little privacy and I imagine would be an issue for family's. The TV says it gets specific channels but it does not (ESPN for example). During our stay the main show head would not run hot water. We called down to the front desk and two maintenance guys were sent up. They spoke very poor english and could not seem to understand what the issues were. We ended up giving up, saying thank you and just using the hand held shower faucet for the trip.

Housekeeping came twice a day, which was great but excessive.

The food was great. Very expensive for Cambodia, but not expensive for the quality.

The location is very close to pub street (where most tourist go after temples for food/drinks). Its close to temples, but not as close as the majority of other hotels. This is a boutique hotel, situated more so in town than by the temples.

As a bodybuilder the biggest disappointment to me was the hotel gym. They had various cardio equipment, but the weight equipment was only a bench, exercise ball and dumbbells up to 25 pounds (I think). I was fortunate to find a Cambodian gym down the street from the hotel, however this gym only had 280 pounds of total weight in the entire gym, no A.C. and equipment from the 60s. Never the less its Cambodia and I loved the experience.

We booked a couples Kymer massage for the experience, and it definitely was one. The masseuses basically climb on top of the table straddling you. They also massage some very intimate areas that Westerners are not experienced with. I would advise the hotel to put a disclosure on this massage.

All in all I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. As long as they understand what they are getting, which is a 4 star boutique hotel close to the centre of town.

Room Tip: Pool suites are a must.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We have now visited Cambodia 6 times in the last 2 years and on each occasion have stayed in this great hotel. The wooden architecture, stunning pool, good sized rooms and lots of small touches make this a really special place to stay in Siem Reap. Sure, there may be more opulent hotels but one that delivers such consistently high standard of service would be hard to find. A great hotel can only deliver on the strength of its staff and on every one of our visits, staff at every level have been courteous, friendly and helpful.

The location is great, both for walking into town or visiting the temples. Siem Reap is a lively place in the evening and the hotel is a real sanctuary with the staff always on hand with cold towels and a friendly greeting.

Breakfast may be taken either inside or round a series of ornamental pools. There is always a wide choice of fresh fruit and both western and oriental dishes cooked to order and consistently high standard.

The Spa has rightly been nominated for awards for excellence. It is a serene place to spend time after a busy day either at the Temples or in town and the Manager, Mr Dewa and his team, specially our chosen therapist Sokhon, are highly skilful and professional.

The centre point of the hotel is the pool, with rooms surrounding the pool being premium. The pool itself is well maintained and over 30 metres long, ideal for exercising, There is also a small but well equipped fitness centre .

In summary, this is one of our all time favourite hotels and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a poolside room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Everything about our experience here was wonderful. Large, well-appointed suite with comfortable bed; great service from registration to checkout. Good value for a luxury hotel. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant- we tried the Cambodian Khmer menu; both my wife and I were very happy with our meals (lobster tower and chicken/shrimp). Breakfast buffet here was fairly diverse with very attentive service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob-and-Mila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
2.1 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#26 of 361 in Siem Reap
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#41 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,331 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.3 mi away
J7 Hotel
J7 Hotel
#47 of 361 in Siem Reap
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Address: River Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#33 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#36 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £80 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate retreat that beautifully captures the region's history while offering every modern luxury. Located close by Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Tonle Sap Lake, it's an ideal base to explore the wonders of the region. Siem Reap's lively markets, galleries and thriving restaurant and bar scene are just steps away. Local elegance and stylish luxury are the hallmarks of the hotel's rooms and suites, furnished with traditional hardwoods and bamboo and exquisitely decorated in soft cottons and jewel-toned silks. At Circle restaurant, enjoy a unique gastronomic experience of International and Khmer cuisine or enjoy more relaxed fare at Ember. The Martini Lounge is a relaxed cocktail lounge with impressive views of the gardens. A tropical oasis-like large swimming pool is at the heart of the hotel and is complimented by the tranquil Kong Kea Spa. The hotel also benefits from a fitness centre, two boutiques, a tour desk and complimentary daily activities such as a monk blessing or shopping tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing