We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time at La Residence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Ranked #41 of 343 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing time at La Residence”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Paradise in Cambodia! My whole family had a great experience at the La Residence last week – the swimming pool was ideal, the rooms spacious and the food delicious. As an architect I particularly enjoyed the open air design of the buildings and use of wood and vernacular architecture. Furthermore, the hotel’s location was great as it was near the retail and market activities. The best part of the experience was the European/Cambodian restaurant offering – Jacques and the hotel’s team produced a delicious and high-quality menu and wonderful wine list. We will definitely return in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehyun V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,112
    182
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
248
754
67
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gstaad, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

It was our first time in Siem Reap, and it was worth coming so far away from home. The hotel is beautiful, the garden and the swimminng pool so generous. Very cozy bar, but the service there, a little weak. People go to bed early because of the early visits of the temples. So, for those who don't sleep well early, the bar could be a good solution. The problem is that the staff, cleans or does some maintenance work.
We had a very beautiful Suite, to the back, which should provide quietness. Very clean and nice decor. We had a choc on our first morning, at 5am, when a loud, very loud music started. A wedding we were told, was taking place at a neighboring house. Not much the hotel could do apparently. I'm afraid I did not send good vibes to the newly married couple! I appologies.
The breakfast was generous and good but service a little chaotic at times.
The best part was the Spa. Girls, thank you again for all your massage. Your kindness and careness. Your were perfect. I miss you all! Try the 4 hands massage it is heaven on hearth! Try also the Kmer massage, fantastic and healling! I suffer from strong back problems, for 5 days I had no pain.
A very special Thank You to Morn, at the reception, for taking such good care of us and our various demands. Happy New Year to you all ! Danielle Hakim
Overall, the hotel needs to improve its service and some of the facilities such as the bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gstaad320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was our second trip to Siem Reap. Last time, we stayed at the Sofitel which we thought was excellent. This time, we wanted to be a little closer to town so we opted for La Residence. And we were glad that we did. Although it does not have the extensive grounds or the huge pool of the Sofitel, it has the great advantage of having no more than 62 rooms. So the service is a lot more personal and the staff here are exceptional. Universally friendly and helpful, we were very impressed by the way in which every member of staff did their utmost to ensure that our experience was as perfect as they could make it.
Breakfast here is a real pleasure. We arrived straight from Bangkok where breakfast at the Peninsula was a melee with people at one's elbow wherever one turned. Here, there were never more than a few tables occupied and the staff were always on hand to help. In contrast to the Peninsula, it was a completely relaxing experience and the selection and quality of the food were far superior.
We also loved the al fresco lunches at Ember and drinks in the evening at the Martini Bar upstairs which is open and airy and again utterly relaxing. In fact, the hotel is the perfect place to relax in frenetic Siem Reap.
The only criticisms we would have is that the area for sunbathing by the pool is a bit compact (with the result that the sun loungers are a bit too close together) and that the pressure in the showers might have been a bit stronger,. These small quibbles aside, we would love to stay here again on our next visit to Siem Reap. While we were greatly impressed by the pool at the Sofitel and by the style of the Park Hyatt (formerly the Hotel de la Paix), we would prefer La Residence for its location, its ambience, its wonderful garden and, most especially, the wonderful staff who were always available to help.
We did not dine here in the evening. We prefer to go out in the evening so the reception staff recommended some excellent restaurants which were all within walking distance. We particularly enjoyed, the Chanreay Tree (just across the river) and Aha (in town).

Room Tip: River view rooms are likely to be more prone to street noise than pool view rooms or suites which ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

On a family Christmas trip to Thailand and Cambodia, spent 3 nights at this lovely property, including Christmas Eve, when the hotel went all out with a great dinner and fun show - fire twirlers, acrobats, and a precious Cambodian children's choir singing Christmas carols and songs. Our lovely suite's bathroom had a huge bathtub, two sinks, and a separate dressing room with thoughtful amenities. After touring Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom, and Ta Prohm, and the floating villages and markets, the hotel was a wonderful rejuvenating oasis with lovely gardens and a big swimming pool. Though located in the city, the hotel has a real feeling of seclusion. Terrific service with cooling towels always presented every time we returned to the hotel. In wracking my brain to think of any improvement, the only thing I could even come up with would be having two Kleenex boxes, instead of one. Now isn't that silly? There are hundreds of hotels in Siem Reap, but this one is a real winner.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at this property for four nights. La Residence d'Angkor was just the place to get back to after a morning filled with some amazing sight seeing...their pool side ambience and service quality was spot on. Ever attentive staff took care of every need without ever being all over the place. Food, Cocktails, Smoothies were perfect. The spa services were outstanding, the design and layout of relaxtion room could not have been better. The only thing i would like to see changed is the shower cum bath tub in the bathroom. Located on a nice area tree lined road, in front of a canal / river within walking distance to Pub Street, La Residence d'Angkor is simply wonderful....three cheers to the GM and the Team !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kosara61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at the Residence d''Angkor from the 7 th to the 14th of January and it was one of the most pleasurable stays we have ever had anywhere in the world.
We were 11 friends traveling together, all extremely seasoned and demanding travellers. We all thought the service was excellent . We had dinner at the hotel every night and the French G M could not have been more considerate and attentive to all our needs. Some were gluten free others had to follow different regimes. All our dietary needs were satisfied and on top of that the food was delicious and the menus inventive.
The rooms are roomy and ver comfortable,the bathroom also. Need more hangers though. Laundry was very efficient,the Spa very good and the items on sale at the shops truly greatly. Moreover if you needed something's that was not available the GM made sure to find it so that all your wishes could be satisfied.
We can not wait to go back
Helen Ph.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Battuta2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
90 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Only 10 minutes from night market, pub street, and services are excellent. The only bad about the hotel is in the shower, bath and bathroom. I do not know how to take a bath and there is no curtain , water can be all over the floor. Restaurant is expensive compare to outside and overall food is good. May be is New Year , so they charge a lot which all other hotel are fully booked.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tommyyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#45 of 343 in Siem Reap
1,256 reviews
2.1 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#27 of 343 in Siem Reap
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.6 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#33 of 343 in Siem Reap
1,307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Club
Shinta Mani Club
#11 of 343 in Siem Reap
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Property: Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Address: River Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#36 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate retreat that beautifully captures the region's history while offering every modern luxury. Located close by Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Tonle Sap Lake, it's an ideal base to explore the wonders of the region. Siem Reap's lively markets, galleries and thriving restaurant and bar scene are just steps away. Local elegance and stylish luxury are the hallmarks of the hotel's rooms and suites, furnished with traditional hardwoods and bamboo and exquisitely decorated in soft cottons and jewel-toned silks. At Circle restaurant, enjoy a unique gastronomic experience of International and Khmer cuisine or enjoy more relaxed fare at Ember. The Martini Lounge is a relaxed cocktail lounge with impressive views of the gardens. A tropical oasis-like large swimming pool is at the heart of the hotel and is complimented by the tranquil Kong Kea Spa. The hotel also benefits from a fitness centre, two boutiques, a tour desk and complimentary daily activities such as a monk blessing or shopping tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing