We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Ranked #43 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at La Residence with a group, and it was certainly very nice: lush grounds, comfortable rooms, attentive service, but you can find very nice hotels in Siem Reap for a fraction of the cost.

The prices in the restaurants reinforce the image of a hotel for those that insist on paying top prices.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Canute_the_Great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,397)
There are newer reviews for Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 1,397 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Our whole experience at La Residence is 5 stars. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by friendly hotel staff who seated us, offered us a yummy fruit drink and hand towels, and promptly showed us to our room. Our rooms were big with a nice spacious bed (with a mosquito net, very helpful!) and a huge bath tub. The only complaints I have with the bathroom is I wish the toilet cubicle had an air exhaust fan and that the shower head was designed better so that less water would splash out onto the floor. Other facilities include a hotel pool which was too cold to swim in when we went in December.
The Cambodian food at La Residence is excellent but I think what they really excel at is their French pastries. The baguettes, almond croissant, pies,... EVERYTHING was literally mouth watering and perfect. Not to mention, the servers and waitresses always has a smile on their faces and will go the extra mile to meet your needs. Everyone is very friendly and sweet.
Location-wise, it is within walking distance to some night markets and 10-15 min walking from Pub Street. There are lots of tuk tuks available outside the hotel anyway so transportation is convenient.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Siem Reap, it's worth it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We decided to book a suite at the hotel and were not disappointed. The room was located at the rear of the hotel on the first floor (away from the noisy road) and had a large patio. It did look exactly like the picture on the website. The bathroom was huge with a large walk-in rainfall shower and separate dressing area. There is a separate sitting area as well. The bed was very comfortable and the air-conditioning worked well, although it did turn off a couple of times at night, presumably due to the power cuts that seem to occur in the evenings in the area.
We chose to dine in the hotel every night during our 6 night stay with mixed results. Room service was delivered efficiently and the salad and pizza's excellent.
The food at Ember, the outside dining grill was fine although the service was slow and the dishes arrive in the order in which they are apparently cooked (which you are advised of when seated). This isn't ideal as vegetables arrived before the meat and fish meaning you had to eat them separately.
We dined at the Circle twice. The first time we ordered the Cambodian vegetarian speciality which was fine. The second time the pork dish was so tough a steak knife was requested. Despite leaving almost all the meat on the plate we were not asked if there was a problem when the please were cleared. The fish main was slightly dry. It took several attempts to get the wine we actually ordered. The first drink brought was beer!
The service was slow and not really up to the standard expected of a 5* hotel. That said, the staff are very pleasant and do try but improvements in training would help.
Breakfast was limited in choice but met our needs. The coffee is very good but as seems symptomatic of a number of hotels we have stayed in, you seem to have to make several requests before actually getting the coffee brought to you.
The bar was the highlight for us. There is a happy hour between 5-7pm where you buy 1 drink and get one free. The cocktails are excellent and prove to be good value for money even compared to the prices in the nicer bars in town.
The pool area is very nice and relaxing. A few quibbles which could be addressed by management are firstly the state of the wooden decking. It is broken in parts and loose and unstable in most areas. Given it bounces when walked on it is a matter of time before someone trips on it.
The temperature of the water in the pool was too cold for us. The pool is not heated and although the afternoons are hot and sunny even in winter, getting into the pool drew gasps from many people.
Fortunately the hotel was not too busy as we noticed some people chose to 'reserve' seats by the pool by putting books or hats on them then going off to visit the temples all day leaving those who arrived to use the pool with limited choices of places to sit. The seats usually left were nearest to the noisy road. This seems to be a problem in many hotels but some deal with it better than others by removing items left unattended on pool side seats.
The hotel 'fogs' once a week to control the mosquitoes. Unfortunately given the amount of water around the hotel (decorative pools) this doesn't seem to control the problem and we were regularly bitten whilst dining outside, around the pool and in the bar. Mosquitoes are a problem at the temples as well, so bring repellent.
To summarise this is a very nice hotel and the suites are lovely. A few improvements would make the overall experience even better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KV1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

An Orient Express Hotel, and pricey – we expected this hotel to be a luxurious oasis in the heart of a tourist trap of a town. We were partially right. The hotel is luxury by Siem Riep standards, however it is not in the very top league. Don’t get me wrong – we loved the hotel, and it was very comfortable and made Siem Riep enjoyable. But, a few small details were disappointing.

It is well-designed and thoughtful architecture. The pool is an oasis of calm and cooling waters with great landscaping. The rooms are large and spacious well appointed and clean. The towels/amenities and service are excellent and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is small and not overwhelming – from the moment you arrive over the bridge and receive the cool scented towel you feel relaxed and welcomed. The highlights were the outdoor space, the morning monk blessing ceremony and the breakfast buffet and outdoor tapas restaurant. The spa was very nice, and the treatment was excellent. So – what could be improved? The TV and wifi is excellent and staff make every effort to help you whatever you need.

The room has some cheap features (such as the Corian bath tub/shower, the plastic toilet seat, the cheaper toilet roll and few hangars), and the pool decking needs some attention. There is a limited menu at both restaurants, and it errs on the side of more western foods/snacks. The upstairs bar is nice and quiet, but a bit boring.

The staff are all very friendly, and at times seem to expect a tip (everything is in US$ and a lot of Americans frequent this hotel).

Overall – Siem Riep is like Luxor in Egypt, or Chitchen Itza – you visit it once and if you want luxury and comfort, you stay in this type of hotel. For this, the Residence is perfect. Amazing location in a tourist trap of a town – you welcome the chance to return to your oasis of comfort and clean! So – don’t hesitate but do compare to the other two luxe properties – Raffles and the Aman hotel. Any of these three will suit. I would still stay here again and highly recommend.

One thing for sure - you can trust this property 100% to deliver, and feel safe and comfortable. The monk blessings in the morning are thoughtful local touches, and the tuk tuk drivers with their t-shirts are also reliable. The hotel booked our tour/driver guide and he was superb. The laundry service was excellent, and room service too. If they just repair some of the tiny elements that have shown some wear and tear it would be perfect. Small details, but they matter if you want to be world class.

Two interesting features for us - the delicious home made yoghurt in the morning; and the torches at night lighting the pool area. a beautiful property.

Room Tip: careful that some face the main road by the river which is noisy, and some rooms face the pool with...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_Battersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Paradise in Cambodia! My whole family had a great experience at the La Residence last week – the swimming pool was ideal, the rooms spacious and the food delicious. As an architect I particularly enjoyed the open air design of the buildings and use of wood and vernacular architecture. Furthermore, the hotel’s location was great as it was near the retail and market activities. The best part of the experience was the European/Cambodian restaurant offering – Jacques and the hotel’s team produced a delicious and high-quality menu and wonderful wine list. We will definitely return in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mehyun V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

It was our first time in Siem Reap, and it was worth coming so far away from home. The hotel is beautiful, the garden and the swimminng pool so generous. Very cozy bar, but the service there, a little weak. People go to bed early because of the early visits of the temples. So, for those who don't sleep well early, the bar could be a good solution. The problem is that the staff, cleans or does some maintenance work.
We had a very beautiful Suite, to the back, which should provide quietness. Very clean and nice decor. We had a choc on our first morning, at 5am, when a loud, very loud music started. A wedding we were told, was taking place at a neighboring house. Not much the hotel could do apparently. I'm afraid I did not send good vibes to the newly married couple! I appologies.
The breakfast was generous and good but service a little chaotic at times.
The best part was the Spa. Girls, thank you again for all your massage. Your kindness and careness. Your were perfect. I miss you all! Try the 4 hands massage it is heaven on hearth! Try also the Kmer massage, fantastic and healling! I suffer from strong back problems, for 5 days I had no pain.
A very special Thank You to Morn, at the reception, for taking such good care of us and our various demands. Happy New Year to you all ! Danielle Hakim
Overall, the hotel needs to improve its service and some of the facilities such as the bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gstaad320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was our second trip to Siem Reap. Last time, we stayed at the Sofitel which we thought was excellent. This time, we wanted to be a little closer to town so we opted for La Residence. And we were glad that we did. Although it does not have the extensive grounds or the huge pool of the Sofitel, it has the great advantage of having no more than 62 rooms. So the service is a lot more personal and the staff here are exceptional. Universally friendly and helpful, we were very impressed by the way in which every member of staff did their utmost to ensure that our experience was as perfect as they could make it.
Breakfast here is a real pleasure. We arrived straight from Bangkok where breakfast at the Peninsula was a melee with people at one's elbow wherever one turned. Here, there were never more than a few tables occupied and the staff were always on hand to help. In contrast to the Peninsula, it was a completely relaxing experience and the selection and quality of the food were far superior.
We also loved the al fresco lunches at Ember and drinks in the evening at the Martini Bar upstairs which is open and airy and again utterly relaxing. In fact, the hotel is the perfect place to relax in frenetic Siem Reap.
The only criticisms we would have is that the area for sunbathing by the pool is a bit compact (with the result that the sun loungers are a bit too close together) and that the pressure in the showers might have been a bit stronger,. These small quibbles aside, we would love to stay here again on our next visit to Siem Reap. While we were greatly impressed by the pool at the Sofitel and by the style of the Park Hyatt (formerly the Hotel de la Paix), we would prefer La Residence for its location, its ambience, its wonderful garden and, most especially, the wonderful staff who were always available to help.
We did not dine here in the evening. We prefer to go out in the evening so the reception staff recommended some excellent restaurants which were all within walking distance. We particularly enjoyed, the Chanreay Tree (just across the river) and Aha (in town).

Room Tip: River view rooms are likely to be more prone to street noise than pool view rooms or suites which ar...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
2.1 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#26 of 361 in Siem Reap
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#41 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,331 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.3 mi away
J7 Hotel
J7 Hotel
#40 of 361 in Siem Reap
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Address: River Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#34 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £80 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate retreat that beautifully captures the region's history while offering every modern luxury. Located close by Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Tonle Sap Lake, it's an ideal base to explore the wonders of the region. Siem Reap's lively markets, galleries and thriving restaurant and bar scene are just steps away. Local elegance and stylish luxury are the hallmarks of the hotel's rooms and suites, furnished with traditional hardwoods and bamboo and exquisitely decorated in soft cottons and jewel-toned silks. At Circle restaurant, enjoy a unique gastronomic experience of International and Khmer cuisine or enjoy more relaxed fare at Ember. The Martini Lounge is a relaxed cocktail lounge with impressive views of the gardens. A tropical oasis-like large swimming pool is at the heart of the hotel and is complimented by the tranquil Kong Kea Spa. The hotel also benefits from a fitness centre, two boutiques, a tour desk and complimentary daily activities such as a monk blessing or shopping tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing