We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Ranked #43 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

There is nothing I can fault for this hotel. I loved it. Even the bathtub that so many people seem to mention. If your biggest gripe is the style of the tub, you're doing alright.

The location is perfect, the facilities are perfect, the room is spacious, the service is fantastic, the breakfast is great, and the service is fantastic. I hemmed and hawed about spending extra money to stay here but I'm very happy I did. My trip to Angkor Wat was fantastic and it was great to come back to a place like this for a little rest and respite from the sweltering heat.

Upon arrival we were given a welcome drink, some cool lemongrass scented towels and were able to just sit at a table while they brought everything to us for check in. Additionally, we got a complimentary room upgrade. I heard birds but never any street noise at night. It was a very comfortable hotel room where they cleaned the room twice and brought us a treat each night. (All the sweets and pastries are awesome, btw.)

Since we were going to get up around 4:30 the next morning we had arranged for them to provide us with a breakfast on the go as opposed to the breakfast in the restaurant. Included was fresh juice, fresh fruit, pastries, bread, jam. It was perfect.

The pool is fantastic.

I concur with the other 5 star ratings of this hotel. A great place to stay.

p.s. I didn't realize this until we were about to leave but the key fob is shaped like a lingam.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pacomcnacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

We recently experienced La Residence. Jacques Varet and his team are excellent! The restaurant was also a fine dining experience to remember. Great location, helpful staff and the bar after dinner was a classy way to finish the evening.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank WellTraveled835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I have spent 6 days in Belmond La Résidence d’Angkor, such a marvelous experience! The service was great and I really liked the food. I give my warmest recommendations to this amazing location and hotel

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JosephineChat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed in the hotel and had a few meal in the hotel restaurant for the past weekend. I was amazed by the decoration and the design of the hotel. Also, I was deeply touched by the helpful and patience of the staff in the hotel. Explaining and help me to arrange all the activities I could do in the town. Their food is incredible, with no difference than what I have tried in Europe. It is definitely a hotel that I would choose to stay for my next journey in Siem Reap!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kohtatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here during the the 3rd week in April as part of a multi country SE Asian vacation. Overall, I think that this is quite a good hotel with some excellent features. It is well located in Siem Reap, and not far from the major attractions. There is an outstanding pool (40 meters long) which my wife and I swam laps in each morning after sunrise. This was necessary because of the intense heat, which made the water bathtub warm by the middle of the day. Nonetheless, it was a terrific pool, and a real asset for anyone who likes to swim. We also enjoyed the food, especially the breakfast buffet, which was plentiful and delicious. Dinner wasn't quite as good, and was a bit overpriced given the smallish portions. However, hotel dining rooms are often overpriced. There is also an excellent Kmer dance performance which appears in the dining room twice a week, and this offered some compensation. Service at the hotel seemed genuinely warm, gracious, and efficient, and we generally enjoyed our contacts with the line staff.

Now for the problems, which were twofold. First, our room was decidedly underwhelming in both it's appointments and furnishings. It definitely seemed at least a cut below what one might expect of a property of this kind. Even more importantly, our AC wasn't working properly, and it was much to warm in our room, pretty much on an ongoing basis. This was especially important because of the blazing heat outside, as there was then no good place to retreat and cool off during the middle of the day when everyone lies low. Someone did eventually come in and tune it up by the 3rd day, which was helpful, but it felt a bit like it was to little to late. On another front, we also had an unpleasant disagreement with management about the package inclusions that we had arranged when making our booking, and which were clearly delineated on our written confirmation from the hotel. I will not bore you with all of the details, but we really ended up feeling that we were being nickeled and dimmed solely over what was acknowledged as a technicality in the way the reservation was booked. This dispute was not resolved at all until the second day of our stay, and it definitely did taint our experience at the hotel even though we were hoping that it wouldn't. Again, I'd like to stress that the problem was with the manager, who never did speak to us in person about the problem, and not the line staff who were generally excellent.

Would these problems cause me to choose another hotel if I had it to do over again? Honestly, it's hard to say. Existing separately perhaps not. But taken together during the same stay it might be difficult to want to return. Again, to be fair, this is a very good hotel with some real virtues, including a generally warm and welcoming staff. Unfortunately, there were also some real problems during our stay.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool is probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank medtraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Location, location, location. The rooms are large and spacious. The bathroom is lovely to look at but a times a bit impractical (the tub is very large and if you have short legs, it's hard to get into). The pool is beautiful, especially when it's lit up at night. Everyone that waited on us was extremely helpful and concerned with our welfare. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at the La Residence for 3 days in late April. That's the off-season in Siem Reap because of the heat, so there were not many other guests. It felt like we had the place to ourselves. It's a beautiful property, not far from the old town portion of the city (a few blocks). The room was spacious, the service was outstanding, and everyone was very friendly. I would sure like to see the 7 properties rated better than this, because it was first class all the way. I would highly recommend it.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#44 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
2.1 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#28 of 361 in Siem Reap
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.6 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#41 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Address: River Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#34 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £131 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate retreat that beautifully captures the region's history while offering every modern luxury. Located close by Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Tonle Sap Lake, it's an ideal base to explore the wonders of the region. Siem Reap's lively markets, galleries and thriving restaurant and bar scene are just steps away. 59 Suites have been fully renovated in 2016 and exude local elegance and stylish luxury, furnished with traditional hardwoods and bamboo and exquisitely decorated in soft cottons and jewel-toned silks. At Circle restaurant, enjoy Khmer hawker-style cuisine or a more International menu at Ember. The Martini Lounge is a relaxed cocktail lounge with impressive views of the gardens. A tropical oasis-like large swimming pool is at the heart of the hotel and is complimented by the tranquil Kong Kea Spa. The hotel also benefits from a fitness centre, two boutiques, a tour desk and complimentary daily activities such as a monk blessing or shopping tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing