We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice for Angkor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Ranked #45 of 345 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
marseille
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very good choice for Angkor”
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Nothing to add with all the other comments ; this hotel is really a very good choice to visit Angkor.
I just want to add the the hotel found us a very nice guide to visit Angkor.
He was English spoken.
Eventhough he came from a poor family, he never asked us to go in that shop or that restaurant in order to get some tips.
He respected so much our choices (we wanted to visit only the main sites of Angkor) and never forced us to visit anything we did not want to visit.
At the end of the visit, he just asked us to write some words about him on TripAdvisor (what I am doing with some delay ... sorry my friend) ; and we decided with my wife to give him a huge tip !!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo1969Marseille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,114
    182
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
250
754
67
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Very elegant in a simple, open style. Relaxing, great staff, not too formal, quiet enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wasss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We stayed at this charming hotel for three days - as a base to explore the wonderful Angkor Wat temple complex - although three days does not really allow enough time to explore the area. The hotel proved to be a little oasis from the heat and crowds and it was lovely to stay in a hotel of local style. The pool is great (watch for the hidden steps in the water - I knocked my leg quite badly and would have appreciated some notice or warning of underwater steps) and pool service quick and efficient. The staff are always helpful and smiling. Our room was attractive, spacious with a comfortable bed and seating area - the bathroom however was rather small and we would have appreciated a bath that was easier to get in and out of, especially as it doubled as the shower. A shower screen to prevent water spray really needs to be added.One problem was that there was nowhere to hang clothes, and with two suitcases to manage it proved something of a daily struggle. Evening meals were excellent - far exceeding the level of cuisine we were expecting - a high standard. Good bar with a wide range of cocktails.A small arcade of shops selling quality items. This hotel is a peaceful haven.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LausanneFrederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
196 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Stayed here for four days around Christmas. Great accommodations, food and service. Fantastic pool area with comfortable loungers and umbrellas. We chose to spend two of our four days here relaxing around the pool. Perfect sunny weather with little risk of rain in December. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tokalosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east anglia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Siem Reap is best known for Angkor Wat which is just outside the town. This hotel makes a perfect place to stay to visit them.
It combines luxury with elegance and a fantastic pool. I would find it difficult to find a better hotel anywhere in the world. It is excelently located for visiting both the temples and walking to the town for a meal of just a trip round the markets, although the tuk tuks are astonishingly cheap here if you feel lazy.
We had three days here and could not rate it too highly morning of culture followed by the afternoon lazing by the pool. I thought the food was very good and the drinks reasonably priced. Sevice as ever in this part of the world was excellent
Our pool side room was very large with a huge double bath and shower.
It is very worthwhile taking the trouble to find some of the local restaurants although I would not recomend the butterfly sanctuary
free wi fi over most of the hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exfarmersteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2011

We stayed five night in Siem Reap and felt really happy to stay at this hotel. Although the entrance of the hotel is facing the street, inside of the hotel is so quiet and services provided by each staff were always very professional, and made our entire stay very comfortable and pleasant. We wish to come back soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDF-UH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

A great hotel. The service is second to none. In fact my only criticism is the service is a little too attentive. The room I had was massive with a great bathroom. My room was in the new wing, if you can try, and book your room in this section of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJMAUNDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#49 of 345 in Siem Reap
1,260 reviews
2.1 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#29 of 345 in Siem Reap
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.6 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#35 of 345 in Siem Reap
1,309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Club
Shinta Mani Club
#11 of 345 in Siem Reap
2,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Property: Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Address: River Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#36 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#39 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate retreat that beautifully captures the region's history while offering every modern luxury. Located close by Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Tonle Sap Lake, it's an ideal base to explore the wonders of the region. Siem Reap's lively markets, galleries and thriving restaurant and bar scene are just steps away. Local elegance and stylish luxury are the hallmarks of the hotel's rooms and suites, furnished with traditional hardwoods and bamboo and exquisitely decorated in soft cottons and jewel-toned silks. At Circle restaurant, enjoy a unique gastronomic experience of International and Khmer cuisine or enjoy more relaxed fare at Ember. The Martini Lounge is a relaxed cocktail lounge with impressive views of the gardens. A tropical oasis-like large swimming pool is at the heart of the hotel and is complimented by the tranquil Kong Kea Spa. The hotel also benefits from a fitness centre, two boutiques, a tour desk and complimentary daily activities such as a monk blessing or shopping tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing