We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa
Ranked #41 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

There is nothing not to like about this beautiful hotel. The staff are helpful and charming, the position is great, the pool is beautiful. Breakfast and bar excellent (did not try the restaurant for dinner).
If I were to pick any holes it would be the dim lighting in the rooms and the fact that the free Wi-Fi did not reach the rooms.

Room Tip: our rooms faced the front overlooking the park, and were lovely - quiet enough and an ever-changing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannostamm, General Manager at Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Rosemary R,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

You obviously had a pleasant stay and we have addressed the WiFi issue by installing additional antennas; all rooms now receive free WiFi.

Once again, thank you very much and best regards,

Hanno Stamm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,873
    484
    51
    19
    7
See reviews for
511
1,194
127
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

What a wonderful experience. Our room was located on the ground floor with our own private garden to relax in at the end of the day. The pool was beautiful and its surroundings pristine and calming. Staff and food were A-1 in all aspects. We wish we could have stayed another week.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have their own private gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannostamm, General Manager at Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear bifocal,

Thank you very much for your review; you obviously had a great stay.

Safe travels and I do hope to see you at the Victoria Angkor Resort again.

Best regards,

Hanno Stamm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunbridge wells uk
Level Contributor
119 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is a pleasant colonial style hotel in the middle of the town, opposite a park, and a short tuk-tuk ride from the market area. For me the hotel was just too crowded with a wait for a table outside at breakfast and again for a table at 'happy hour'. The breakfast selection was excellent but you had to push through the throng to get to the dishes. However, it was high season and everything, including the temples, was heaving with crowds.
Eating on the terrace outside in the evening was very pleasant but the food was relatively expensive and the service slow. Beware the red chilli that seemed to appear on every dish, I only touched it with my tongue and it was very painful indeed, when I complained they just laughed and said it was only for display! DO eat in the Haven training restaurant in town during your stay for excellent, cheap food but make sure to book in advance,
The bedrooms were large but a little dark and there was no welcoming fruit as we had in other hotels of this standard. The little gift brought to our room every evening was a very nice touch. The aircon was terrible and we had 2 of our 3 nights sweating in bed as it seemed to fail completely. They did try to fix it but it seems that they do have problems in this area.
The staff were all very friendly and seemed very keen to sort out any problems.

Room Tip: Upper floor as they are lighter, and if you get aircon problems asked to be moved immediately!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mungoandmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannostamm, General Manager at Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear mungoandmaria,

I would like to thank you for the very long, and generally kind, review you wrote about our resort.

Admittedly, breakfast does get busy during the high season as most guests have pretty identical itineraries and come all at the same time; there is not much we can do about that I am afraid. This also explains the at times slow service during the other meal times at peak times.

I would content that our food is not pricey compared to other hotels here in Siem Reap that are of the same category. We can, of course, not compete with prices in local restaurants, but then we do pay decent salaries, insure all our staff, pay taxes and so on; costs that the local restaurants do not incur.

I have just had a meeting with the restaurant staff and talked to them about your comment that you were laughed at when you bit into the chili and burned your tongue. Whilst it is a bit of Cambodian habit to laugh, it is not meant in a mean way but I did remind them that that is just not on. Incidentally, chilies are part of the Cambodian cuisine and the food would not be authentic without it.

We are currently changing all our air conditioners. This process should be done by June and I do not expect to have any more problems with them after that.

Once again, thank you very much for your valuable comments.

Best regards,

Hanno Stamm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
741 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We treated ourselves to this copy of an old hotel.
Lovely but the crowd is definitely older & the staff used to pampering for tips.
The breakfast is good. The happy hour is excellent. Good central location.
Big rooms & balcony. Lovely old fashioned lifts.
But you could be anywhere!
Our ac was terrible & shower is in cramped bath.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hooray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannostamm, General Manager at Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Hooray H,

Thank you very much for your review of the Victoria Angkor Resort and Spa.

I take it that you had a good stay overall, though I do apologize for the problem you had with the air conditioning. We have started changing all air condition units and expect to finish the works by June.

As an aside: Cambodians are naturally gracious hosts; this is not just for tips as you suspected.

Safe travels and all the best,


Hanno Stamm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This colonial style hotel has a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The service is excellent and attentive , the breakfast served in the restaurant overlooking the pool is very good, making a great start to the day. The location is very good for exploring the town. Pub Street is worth a visit if you want a evening drink in a buzzy. atmosphere . Whilst staying here it's worth having a trip to Ta Prohm the temple complex that is being reclaimed by the jungle and is being crushed by massive tree roots.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannostamm, General Manager at Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Alan H,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write your review; it is good to hear that you had a pleasant stay.

Best regards,

Hanno Stamm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
187 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I really loved the colonial feel of the hotel, and the layout of the hotel ensured that the inner courtyard was shielded from the dust that's so common in Siem Reap. There's also a lot of greenery surrounding the pool, creating a lovely, relaxing atmosphere.

Room was spacious, bed was comfortable and the place was clean. Bathroom had all the necessities you needed. One small thing was that the body moisturiser had gone rancid. My partner applied it after a shower and had to wash it off.

Service was excellent, and everywhere the staff greet you with warm smiles. Breakfast had stations for noodles, eggs, smoothies and pancakes! There's also a large spread, with a choice of Asian, American and Continental breakfast.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay there, and had a very restful holiday!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryansg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannostamm, General Manager at Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear ryansg,

Thank you for staying with us at the Victoria Angkor and for writing this review.

I am glad ti hear that you had a pleasant stay but I will follow up with our Housekeeping Manager; that the body lotion was rancid is inexcusable.

Best regards,

Hanno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Choose your cruise/tour partially by the accommodations. Cambodia has been hosting large-scale tourism for less than a full generation. People come there from many places and by many means. Siem Reap is the nearest city to the iconic Angkor Wat. Owing to its remoteness and limited accommodation, this is not the sort of place where one expects to drive into town and look around for a place to stay, so here are some ideas. I'd consider use of this hotel as a deciding point for choosing a tour or cruise that takes you here. I traveled with Avalon Waterways on their "Fascinating Vietnam, Cambodia & the Mekong River." They chose this resort very wisely. The rooms and public spaces use a lot of wood, a luxurious and comforting touch in a land where wood for building has become very expensive. The staff are delightful and very helpful. And it would be hard not to love the various and delicious items on the breakfast buffet. And, while it sounds a bit strange, be sure to walk across the street to the park just before dark. Thousands of large fruit bats sleep by day in the large trees there and prepare for the nighttime adventures just before nightfall. (They haven't seen the movies: they won't hurt you.)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannostamm, General Manager at Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear RPaulM_11,

Thank you very much for your review; I take it you had an enjoyable stay with us here at the Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa.

Safe travels, and visit us again if you ever do come back to Siem Reap.

Best regards,

Hanno Stamm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.7 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.4 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#27 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#4 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#38 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa

Property: Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa
Address: Oum Chhay Street | Central Park, Siem Reap 93145, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#10 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#36 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa, characterized by its typical colonial architecture, features 130 rooms overlooking the salted swimming pool and its tropical garden, or the magnificent Royal Garden. The 10 suites of 73m2 are each one decorated in its proper style. They offer the comfort of a living room, an outside terrace, a king size bed and a big bathroom with bathtub and separated shower. The Deluxe Room of 38m2, overlooking the pool, and Superior, with a view on the Royal Garden, can be chosen with a king size or a twin bed. Meeting place for local artists, retreat for diplomats, nature lovers, writers, romantic tourists or nostalgic from a dream time, the Victoria Angkor is an arty and authentic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Victoria Angkor Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing