We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa
Ranked #53 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2009

A group of four of us recently stayed at this hotel as part of a cruise package with Pandaw, a company which provides high-end travel between Ho Chi Minh and Siem Reap on beautiful boats which are replicas of the old Irriwaddy steamers from Burma. We were doing the down-river trip, so stayed at the Victoria Angkor at the very beginning of our trip. We arrived on Dec 24, having been told when we booked that there was an additional charge of USD90.00 for a Christmas gala buffet, although we weren't told exactly when this would be or what it involved. I was a bit unhappy at signing up for something without knowing what it involved and eventually emailed just before we left, asking for some more information. I did in fact receive a reply, although I didn't access emails until after our amazing Christmas buffet ... more of this later.

Our side-by-side rooms were superb, very large, upstairs with balconies looking out over the pool. The bed was enormous, very comfortable, and the general amenities in the room were very impressive - lovely furniture, dear little gifts on the pillow at night, very effective aircon, etc.

The bathroom was also spacious, but I must agree with someone else's comment that the shower had a mind and life of its own! Every hotel we stayed in in Cambodia and Vietnam used these ridiculous hand-held things that are meant to perch on the wall to provide what most people would recognise as a shower - oh to be so lucky! The first one of us to use the shower ended up spraying the whole bathroom, as well as most of the entry passage, as the shower head threw itself in a frenzy around the bath like a demented snake!!! We never did master it, having to basically hold the thing on the wall with one hand while showering. But never mind, this was the only criticism I have of this hotel.

I can't comment precisely on value for money, as we booked the hotel as part of the Pandaw package, but even at the rack rate I found on the hotel website, it looks like pretty good value to me. The breakfast was superb, and in keeping with the festive time, we drank champagne with our bacon and eggs! We lunched one day at the hotel (also included in the package), and the food was excellent.

And so, back to the Christmas buffet. The stunning pool and its surroundings had been dressed with fairy lights and candles, the chairs and tables all covered in gold and red cloth with beautiful flowers, and the staff all decked out in very Western Christmas hats, etc. The food was unbelievable - the most extensive and elaborate buffet I have ever seen in my life. There were oysters the size of teacups, along with a huge range of sushi and sashimi, a whole suckling pig, every salad you have ever dreamed of, ham, turkey, excellent Cambodian dishes, cheeses, amazing desserts, cakes and patisserie, and so much more that I can't even remember. It was well worth the money, and proved to be a lovely way to celebrate Christmas, in another place and in a different way.

I didn't try the swimming pool in the end, but it certainly looked lovely, and the way that the hotel is arranged around the pool, with lovely open air spaces and calm reflecting pools, makes for a delightful ambience.

We spent 2 days touring the Angkor complex, also part of the package, returning at night to our comfortable rooms where we could all 4 of us easily rest up on one of our balconies overlooking the pool, before venturing out on the town for an authentic Cambodian meal at one of the many excellent restaurants in Pub Street, just USD1 away in a tuk-tuk.

Once the shower heads are replaced with something more 20th century at least, this hotel would seem to me to be pretty close to heaven!

Overall, I rate this hotel very highly, for quality of amenities and service, for location and ambience, and for providing us with a once-in-a-lifetime Christmas experience.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,961 - 1,967 of 2,701 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2009

What can I say about the Victoria? Friendly staff, beautiful rooms, fantastic pool etc, etc...

It is (very) expensive by Cambodian standards and you could go to Siem reap for a lot less money, but by Western standards this place is a bargain. It is only a short walk to the FCC, a slightly longer walk to Pub Street (15-20 min.s) or a $2 tuk-tuk ride.

The hotel arranged a tuk-tuk driver for us to go and explore Angkor for $20 per day.

Loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank damilster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

Spent 3 days (including Christmas) at the Angkor Wat Resort & Spa -- definitely the highlight of a 2 week trip through Cambodia and Viet Nam. Wish we had stayed MUCH longer! The resort itself was very nice & featured a lovely lagoon pool which our kids loved. (Pool was unheated, so swimming was best mid-day.) Poolside meals were reasonably priced though service was very slow (45 min to get a pizza!) Our room was quite spacious & had a very nice bath (far better than the resort we visited in Viet Nam). Layout with adjoining rooms allowed us to have our kids in one bedroom & have a room to ourselves. The breakfast buffet was outstanding with an extensive mix of local, Asian & Western fare. Sorry that they didn't have a kids club, but we were able to use hotel babysitting one evening so we could go out to dinner.

Temples of Angkor Wat were 15-20 minutes away & downtown Siem Reap was 10 minutes away. We were very happy to tour temples in the morning, return for midday swim & lunch, and have another round of temple visiting and dinner in Siem Reap.

All in all it was a lovely, relaxing destination. Definitely wish we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 4BoysOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2008

Couldn't have been nicer. A great room with excellent bath room facilities. Very comfortable and large accommodation. We enjoyed being on the beachfront. Staff were wonderful and it's a short drive into town.

The ocean was very rough when we were there (December 2 & 3...08). Drizzle and wind, but still enjoyable.

Very nice breakfast. Staff went out of the way to assure we were happy.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Love vacation time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2008

Excellent hotel. Good location for town, including pub Street and the temples.

Hotel quite quiet at night so better to go to Pub St or surrounding for food.

Room nice although bath slightly run down looking. Shower had a life of its own. Welcome bottle of wine provided. Mosquitos bad and didn't realise that there was a mosquito repellent in room until the last night.

Weather fantastic in December so pool was welcome sanctuary after a days temple tour.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Aileen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2008

Stayed here for 5 days back in August on a trip to Vietnam and Cambodia. The rooms are very confortable , clean and well maintained.
The breakfast serverd is excellent and quite what you need to get your day started. Other than the breakfast, we only had dinner at the restaurant once. There is hardly any choice for vegetarians. Its quite surprising esp for that region. Anyways this wasn't an issue, you can get to the market area using the tul tuks outside for a about $1.
The pool area is excellent. Its great to relax in the pool having a snack after a tiring morning before heading out again for the afternoon. I believe this hotel provides a nice colonial atmosphere and a spacious relaxing environment close to the town center. Would definitely prefer this to the ones on the way to Angkor Wat.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank djock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2008

A really great hotel, great setting, beautiful room, pool and interior space. I felt like Catherine Deneuve less the hair while there.

You can't go wrong staying here while in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jabo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.2 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#61 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#76 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,594 reviews
0.7 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#37 of 361 in Siem Reap
5,311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa

Address: Oum Chhay Street | Central Park, Siem Reap 93145, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#10 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#42 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#47 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £93 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa, characterized by its typical colonial architecture, features 130 rooms overlooking the salted swimming pool and its tropical garden, or the magnificent Royal Garden. The 10 suites of 73m2 are each one decorated in its proper style. They offer the comfort of a living room, an outside terrace, a king size bed and a big bathroom with bathtub and separated shower. The Deluxe Room of 38m2, overlooking the pool, and Superior, with a view on the Royal Garden, can be chosen with a king size or a twin bed. Meeting place for local artists, retreat for diplomats, nature lovers, writers, romantic tourists or nostalgic from a dream time, the Victoria Angkor is an arty and authentic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Southall Travel, Fastbooking, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Victoria Angkor Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing