We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, great pool, rooms/spa need improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Angkor Village Resort
Ranked #68 of 371 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We stayed at the Angkor Village Resort for five days in Mar 2011.
Here are our thoughts:
-The pool is fantastic. Wonderful snaking pool means that each room feels like it has a private section of pool. Terrific design
-Lots of staff. The staff is constantly working on the property (imagine if your lawn was the jungle) and they do a nice job. They are also helpful with excursions.
-Speaking of excursions, the hotel has its menu of excursions and they do not stray from it. So, get a Lonely Planet or Fodors to get names of other tour guides (the one the hotel gave us had a hard time with English) and make sure you know how much excursions should cost (they are more expensive through the hotel, albeit a lot easier to book)
-The room was fine, nothing special. It felt smaller than I would have expected for $189/night in Cambodia. Everything about the room was fine. Nothing about the room was spectacular. We weren't disappointed, but it did not exceed our expectations. The balcony is nice, but the pool is nicer.
-There is not free internet in the rooms and they overcharge for it. There is free wifi at the bar.
-Noise: The cicada noise is incredible and adds to the ambiance of the hotel. The pounding music from a nearby club on Friday night was not great. No one at the hotel could tell us if the music was a regular thing or how late it would go (we eventually just fell asleep). Fri night was the only night we heard the music.
-Spa: The spa is disappointing. The people working at the Spa are clearly very eager to please but they need some training. The massages were a lot of rubbing, but not a lot of actual, good massaging. The Pedicure was essentially just an application of polish without much more and was more expensive than we pay here in the US ($25). The spa decor is nice, but their prices are high and, again, the staff is in need of some serious training.
We ended up at another spa, paid less, and had a better massage.
-Food: We only had the breakfast buffet at the hotel, but it was quite good. Well worth it.
-Note that the hotel is not near downtown Siem Reap. That means that you get extra quiet and feel like you're away from the hub bub (which is great). It also means that you have to take a tuk tuk into town for dinner, etc (which we enjoyed).

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the street as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jakeseattle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 406 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2011

stayed for 3 nights - amazing serpentine pool, rooms set in villas in lovely grounds. staff all very helpful and friendly. relaxing ambience, spotless rooms with nice local furnishings. breakfast - nice choice of pastries and fruit, "egg corner" and usual cereals.
would highly recommend.
spa - had a lovely massage, prices on par with other hotel spas.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirminghamMilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

This place is incredible. Everything about it is just perfect - landscape design, the pool (which is designed in the way that each cottage has it's own haven), rooms design, soom service, friendly staff, food, spa, it's just amazing.
The only downside is that WiFi is free only near the lobby and costs $2 per hours in the room. However if you want to have a bit of internet detox this limitation helps.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acidpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

The landscaped grounds are beautiful and the swimming pool is wonderful. If they improved the food and the internet service, I'd give it another try. But the breakfast buffet was really quite awful--stale croissants, sausages with a definite off-taste, runny eggs, and bland soup. And they never could get the internet to work for us, giving me bogus excuses about signal strength when the problem was plainly with their server.

The location isn't all that convenient--far from the town center where the shops and restaurants are. But it's still easy to get there by tuk-tuk.

If you don't care about edible breakfast or internet, and you love lush landscaping, give it a try. Otherwise, there are better options.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cayhorstmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

A haven of peace with a French chef who proposes the delicacies of Asia.
A very long swimming pool that meanders between the bungalows
Attentive service always delivered with kindness and smile.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emeric312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Overall, the resort was good with the exception of the food. You get the same breakfast everyday, and there is a very limited selection. Food-wise it isn't your money's worth. Internet is pay as you go.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Nathan107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

My husband and I both liked the beautiful lush grounds of the resort, great pool, our cottage room with balcony looking over the pool was also great with Khmer style, beautiful lounge bar and breakfast restaurant. The food in the restaurant is nothing but AVERAGE/over priced. It was BLAND. Very far from reasonable priced yet tasty food in Thailand. If I did not know how to cook at home, I would probably just satisfied with an empty pocket.

The spa was pricey but really enjoyed our 2-hour body and foot massage. I had to teach both therapists on how to do the foot massage though. They were massaging more our legs and shins and it really hurt.

Its close proximity to the Angkor Wat was also good. We hired the tuk-tuk just outside the hotel. The price was good and fair. Because we like the driver, so we use the same tuk-tuk day out and night out during our 4 days stay. We managed to see all the major temples in the Angkor area, Bantei Srei and Kbal Spean (sorry can't remember the spelling). It was a very hectic schedule but enjoyed lounging in the pool during 5 p.m.

Moreover, we seemed to have noticed that this resort is more for adults without children tagging alone :-) So, it was a good short holiday after all and really re-charged our batteries............ from screaming twin-toddlers at home :-)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floflobolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.8 mi away
Angkor Village Hotel
Angkor Village Hotel
#67 of 371 in Siem Reap
553 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nita by Vo Luxury Hotel
Nita by Vo Luxury Hotel
#23 of 371 in Siem Reap
401 reviews
1.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#31 of 371 in Siem Reap
884 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#43 of 371 in Siem Reap
1,356 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#9 of 371 in Siem Reap
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Village Resort

Address: Phum Traeng, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#58 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#60 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £80 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angkor Village Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to Angkor, "Angkor Village Resort" a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World features beautiful cottages, restaurants and spa all set amongst lush tropical gardens and along a unique 200 metres river shaped swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelbag, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angkor Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angkor Village Hotel Siem Reap
Angkor Village Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing