We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Budget Stay I've found in Asia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smiley's Guesthouse
Ranked #374 of 493 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Orange City, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Budget Stay I've found in Asia”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I've stayed in budget hotels in Thailand, China, and Cambodia, and this is the best budget hotel that I've stayed in. This was a school group, and we had single, double, triple, and quad rooms. My single room had a double bed (excellent mattress: like memory foam, that was an amazing surprise), air conditioning, older 13" TV (worked fine) with local cable TV including CNN and about 35 other channels. The room was very clean: shiny, ceramic tile floor. All our rooms (group rate) were very reasonable; under $20.

Bathroom has on-demand heater: took a bit to figure out to press the button which turns on the shower and then the heater comes on for hot water. Like many Asian bathrooms, the whole bathroom gets wet, so wear the (provided) slippers.

Location is about 12 minutes walk from the Night market, or 15 minutes from the old town market (or take a Tuk Tuk for a couple dollars). Seem quite secure, and the (family-owned) staff was very friendly and helpful. Restaurant was very good: $2.50. Didn't eat other meals there.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room B5, which is shown in pictures. Building B is newer, but building A is well-maintai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blawrensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    25
    14
    10
    14
See reviews for
1
21
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We stayed in the Smiley Guesthouse for 7 nights and only that long because one of us got sick. First of all, the rooms are really nice, big and have a comfortable feel. We saw two rooms because we had to move. In our first one, the tv didn't work any more because of the construction (every morning from 10-12, then long tv break, no working in the afternoon...) they had going on in another room. I guess they didn't realize that it was because of that. We told them, but they only offered us a new room the next day. So we had to move after 2-3 days. Pack all our stuff, move to another room. No sorry, no nothing. Just a 1$ more expensive room ("Room has fridge, so you have to pay more"). We lived with that because it was still only 12$ for a/c, tv, fridge but cold water. Hot water would be 15$, but you don't really need it in Siem Reap in March. The cold water was acutally always very warm - WHEN there was water pressure. One day we didn't have water anymore, so they flooded the whole bathroom to clean the pipes with brown, dirty water. After the water turned clear again, the guy just left - with the bathroom still totally dirty from the rust in the pipes. We asked him if he could clean it, and he was really surprised that we wanted him to clean up the mess. He did reluctantly, and left us with a half-dirty bathroom. Ok, lived with that and turned over the key the next day to have the total room cleaned (now we stayed here for about 6 days). We hung out the sign "Please clean room" and left for the temples. Came back: Room of course wasn't clean. We asked for new towels then, and the girl at the counter chatting on facebook said somebody will bring us new ones. After 30 minutes we asked again because we really wanted to get a shower, and she said, that the cleaning lady isn't there right now. So we asked if there is any way we can get a clean towel, and all of a sudden she got up and gave us new ones... She seemed really annoyed to have been disturbed. And talking about disturbed: When ordering breakfast or dinner in the restaurant, we could be lucky if we were heard, because the whole crew sits in front of the tv all day. They don't even start right now with preparing your order, when they want to finish something on tv. All the time, we had the feeling that we were disturbing them in their every-day-life by being guests in their guesthouse. Food was ok, but it was always a hassle to get it. Once, one girl even talked on the phone while taking our order and didn't listen...
The wifi didn't really work as it was supposed to.
I know, we are still in Cambodia and we have to deal with a couple of things differenty than in Europe. But we travel for 4 month now in South East Asia and this was the worst service ever. We can live with broken things in our room, with food not as good and bad tv reception. No worries - but please: At least even apologize and be friendly! ThatÄs all!

There was one highlight in the guesthouse: Our driver to the temples. He was VERY friendly and always observant and helpful. The best service in the guesthouse. If he hadn't been there, we would have moved a couple of days earlier. He even sometimes brought us the menu to order food (normally you had to get it yourself).

So, if you want to stay there, you should know, that the rooms are nice, the food is ok, but the service is the worst.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Siem Reap hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We had a lovely room for about $10; unlike many budget rooms in SE Asia it looked as though a bit of thought had gone into the decor, rather than just being furnished with cast-offs from someone's grandma. The restaurant was in a lovely partly open-air garden setting with big wicker chairs which were perfect for relaxing in the shade after a hard day's sightseeing.

Some of the staff weren't that helpful but it didn't really detract from our visit. We hired push-bikes for local trips for $1.50 a day and they were fine.

We discovered when we went out in the evening that the guest house is next door to a brothel, but nobody bothered us.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aviatrix_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambodia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2010

Smiley's is a very, very nice place withy a great patio with a area where you can eat, but also chill out. Staff is very friendly. clientelle divers and so are the room. There are rooms from $4 to $ 15 dollar, from very basic (cold water, fan, but all rooms have a bathroom in the room) to full equiped with aircon, TV and hot water.
Like a second home. Great place!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cambodia2008-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I stayed there every year from 2003 to 2007 and can only recommend the house. It is well situated, cheap enough, a variety of rooms, has a fine garden and friendly staff.
No one is forced to use the tuck-tuck servive from the house. There are plenty of opportunities everywhere. The food is OK but there are better places in the town. If you only want to have breakfast or drink some beer in the evening the place is as good as any place and the garden is better.
The criticism in some articles neglect the fact that Smyley's is a budget place and friendly guests usually get a better servive than those who only demand and expect 5 Star facililies.
In the last stays I notived some red light places quite nearby but they where usually frequented by locals and did not affect my stay.
I will be there Nov, 2009 again and will write again then.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldiepoldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Staying at Smiley's Guest House with a school group travelling Cambodia and Thailand, it was everything we required.
We had a bed to sleep in, tidy rooms, rooms were secure and we also had a toilet and a shower. When chosing to stay at a guest house this is all we required.
We found Smileys because we had previously stayed at Narin Guesthouse and had been recomended.
We ate out for most meals on our two night stay but when we didnt feel like travelling far we simply ate at their in house restaurant.
The staff at smiley's were friendly to us and very homey.
They assisted us in booking our tour around Ankor Wat, and for our trip to bangkok they were very helpful :)
The only let down was that, as a group of 14 we wanted to travel together and we were told they had a mini bus that could pick us up.
When we arrived there were tuk tuks.
So be prepared to travel In tuk-tuks from your drop off point :)

  • Liked — Friendly
  • Disliked — There was nothing I didn't like. All part of the expierince
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eeellllaaaaaa_bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuggy
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2008

I got to Smiley's through a Cambodian friend and i experienced that the service wasn't really nice just from the beginning. First, they said on the phone that they would pick me up, but no one came. later i figured out that the guy who should have picked us up forgot about it, because he was to drunk.

The food was okay, but not really special and sometimes i had to wait for a very looooong time to even get just a coffee.
I'm sure that they are more accomodations in teh same cheap price rank than Smileys with a much better service and friendly stuff.

Its okay if you dont mind dealing with all that, but i recommend to search for something else.

at

germany

  • Liked — ...
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MuiBiBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#86 of 354 in Siem Reap
856 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Aviary Hotel
The Aviary Hotel
#36 of 354 in Siem Reap
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#92 of 354 in Siem Reap
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#50 of 354 in Siem Reap
1,281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mekong Angkor Palace Hotel
Mekong Angkor Palace Hotel
#148 of 354 in Siem Reap
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
I Lodge
I Lodge
#160 of 493 in Siem Reap
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiley's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiley's Guesthouse

Property: Smiley's Guesthouse
Address: 21 Boulevard Sivatha | Krom 1, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 493 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Smiley's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiley`s Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing