We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smiley's Guesthouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arunnotey Spa(Siem Reap)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parklane Hotel(Siem Reap)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angkor PhC Hotel(Siem Reap)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Neak Pean Hotel(Siem Reap)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
11
25
14
10
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
25
14
10
14
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Out of the way enough to be quiet, but central to everything in Siem Reap! Walking distance to Pub street, night markets, the river front etc. Super cheap and the food there is very decent too for the price. A place to do your washing a couple of doors up for $1 a kilo. The staff were absolutely incredible, always keen to help out and will organise your transport for you as well if you ask them in advance. Great courtyard in the center to eat at or just relax. Pool at a hotel down the street for a very small fee per day. They offer push bikes for hire for around $1.50 which some people used to ride to the Angkor Wat Temples.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brydie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The staff was very friendly! As a 23 year old at the time, I felt very safe. The food in their restaurant was so good and had american food (with a Khmer touch). The courtyard in the hotel was beautiful! There was a internet cafe close by with friendly staff! The air conditioning didn't work in my room so they were nice about putting me into a different room! Beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here a year ago on an extended trip through South East Asia and thought the quality to price ratio was excellent, the room was large and airy very clean and nicely designed. We arranged a tuk tuk tour of the temples through the hotel and our driver was excellent and really friendly. What really lets this place down is the service, in the restaurant you will have to find your own menu (they're piled up near the serving hatch) if you've just arrived and didn't realise this you could be in for a very long wait before any of the staff will interupt their tv viewing and acknowledge your presesnce once you've found the menu no one will take your order until you interupt their tv viewing for a second time makes you feel like a pest more than a guest, the poor service is a real shame because once you finally get something the food is really nice. Service at reception is also rather dismissive and yet again your made to feel like the staff have more important things to do than deal with paying guests. All in all with a little bit of staff training this could be one of the best budget options in Cambodia but for the timebeing they have the facilities but not the service standards.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights getting over jet lag while I was on my way to a charity project and then alone for 3 nights to explore prior to my flight onwards. It's a bit of a walk out of the centre but it's very easy to get tuk-tuks there/back.
Very good value, I had a spacious double room with the added luxury of hot water - having not had a hot shower in 3 weeks I coughed up the extra few dollars for hot water.
The staff were really friendly and helpful with advice on getting about.
The restaurant served good food - the fruit pancakes and fruit shakes were particular favourites with my group. I really enjoyed my time there and couldn't recommend it enough. I've paid a lot more for 'budget' hotels in asia and this is still the best.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed here about 5 years ago and I remember thinking highly of it back then so I was excited to return for another week here whilst passing through on my way to Vietnam.

The actual guest house is pretty large, the rooms are spacious and it is kept clean. The building itself is large, open and airy, which is refreshing in the heat and humidity of Cambodia.

Tuk tuk drivers are outside if you need them, but they never hassle you, equally the reception doesn't try to force any tours or bus tickets etc.. on you.

The Restaurant area seems to be a communal area for a number of guest house staff to sit and watch TV for a large part of the day, whilst this isn't a negative in itself it invariably means when you are looking to order some food you have to distract someone from the TV which can be uncomfortable and doesn't make you feel like a valued guest rather a hindrance.

There is a marked difference between the maintenance of the fan rooms and the A/C rooms. In the Fan room we stayed for about 5 nights and not once were we offered clean towels, sheets or for the room to be cleaned or even the bin to be emptied, there were a number of ants on the bed and around the bathroom and the window was facing the wall of another building and there was no TV.
In the AC room things were very different, new towels were put in the room daily, the bed was made up daily, room and bathroom were very clean, the window looked outside and a TV was included, Excellent!

One of the highlights of this guesthouse from my previous visit was the fact that all the rooms (AC anyway) centred around a large garden area in the middle of the guest house, there was something very pleasant about opening your door to lush green plants, the sound of birds and the site of flowers. Unfortunately it appears this has been removed and instead there sits a large empty space of soil and nothing more and it gives the guest house a depressing unloved vibe. I have been told that this is going to be turned back into the garden I once saw.....so here's hoping.

I think currently this is an average guesthouse, but it has the potential to be a great one, if the management can perhaps move the TV out of the restaurant area to solve the issues in regards to service (which have been mentioned in these reviews a few times), try and strike a balance between the servicing/Maintenance of the Fan rooms and A/C rooms and sort out the large and somewhat neglected garden area in the centre then I think this could be a real gem in Siem Reap.

I recommend this place, (well the A/C rooms at least) and I hope things pick up soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LewisTheCritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews