We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charged double the normal price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smiley's Guesthouse
Ranked #373 of 489 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Charged double the normal price”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We arrived late evening tired searching a room they charged 12$ for a room which was 1 month ago 5$. We took the room to sleep it was awful. Then at 5am you hear the chicken every half hour. Switched hotel next morning at 7 to bunnath...this was very clean big rooms tv etc for 6$.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dronajrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    25
    14
    10
    14
See reviews for
1
21
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Smiley's was recommended to me by a few expat friends and we (two single girls) stayed for 4 nights in 2009. Overall, the guesthouse is spacious, clean, airy and well maintained. Rooms are basic but comfortable. Staff are friendly, attentive, and very welcoming.

Bonus: The large courtyard is a peaceful place to read a book or to chat with other travelers.

I highly recommend Smiley's if you're looking for a quiet and quaint place to stay. Good price for the value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank city dweller s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

There are two listings for this guesthouse and I wanted to make sure that travelers viewing both posts got this heads-up!

Smiley is a beautiful guesthouse, nice garden, nice rooms. The owner is very nice. I really enjoyed the dogs and chickens (maybe not the rooster at 5am).
To me, bad service implies that it is inattentive and slow.Food comes really fast (if they are in a good mood, if they are not they will make you wait for it and glare at you) For the most part the kitchen staff are down right mean! They made no attempt to even hide their disdain for us.
As volunteers we paid up front for 3 meals a day through our program fees. Perhaps this is why the treat us so poorly?
I would move guest houses if it were possible. I have another month here and every time I head to the kitchen I have to psyche myself up for it and brace for their dirty looks. (Sometimes worse, one staff took my friend's order from her room number notebook and then threw it at the window! How dare we ask for meals we have already paid for!
Good luck getting their attention when they are watching TV (which seems to be the majority of their day)
If you are staying long term try to find another place! Their attitudes are just not worth it!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Siem Reap hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

There aren't many hostel-type places in Siem Reap, as most of the accommodation is in guest houses, so this is a good find. The rooms are clean and spacious, the staff are friendly, the food and drink is good and cheap, and the communal courtyard is a great place to meet other travellers. The location is central enough to walk into town, it feels very safe, and the prices are very reasonable too.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

I stayed at smileys for a long time and for the money- $8 a night for your own room- it is excellent value. Staff are friendly an rooms are pretty good... Only downsides is that sound travels terribly from room to room so you can hear everything, and it gets pretty bright in the morning so it is hard to sleep in. Location is very good- 5 mins from pub st... But be careful of the laneway outthe front with escorts and pimps! If you don't bother them they don't bother you though. For the dirt cheap prices it is pretty good!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel12345678910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manly, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Out of the way enough to be quiet, but central to everything in Siem Reap! Walking distance to Pub street, night markets, the river front etc. Super cheap and the food there is very decent too for the price. A place to do your washing a couple of doors up for $1 a kilo. The staff were absolutely incredible, always keen to help out and will organise your transport for you as well if you ask them in advance. Great courtyard in the center to eat at or just relax. Pool at a hotel down the street for a very small fee per day. They offer push bikes for hire for around $1.50 which some people used to ride to the Angkor Wat Temples.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brydie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The staff was very friendly! As a 23 year old at the time, I felt very safe. The food in their restaurant was so good and had american food (with a Khmer touch). The courtyard in the hotel was beautiful! There was a internet cafe close by with friendly staff! The air conditioning didn't work in my room so they were nice about putting me into a different room! Beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Kandal Village Inn
Kandal Village Inn
#212 of 343 in Siem Reap
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#85 of 343 in Siem Reap
848 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#90 of 343 in Siem Reap
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Aviary Hotel
The Aviary Hotel
#36 of 343 in Siem Reap
216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#47 of 343 in Siem Reap
1,256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mekong Angkor Palace Hotel
Mekong Angkor Palace Hotel
#151 of 343 in Siem Reap
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiley's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiley's Guesthouse

Property: Smiley's Guesthouse
Address: 21 Boulevard Sivatha | Krom 1, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #373 of 489 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Smiley's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiley`s Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing