We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skip Smiley's” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smiley's Guesthouse

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Smiley's Guesthouse
Ranked #388 of 500 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Skip Smiley's”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I've been living in Asia for the past 4 years or so, and I've done my fair bit of traveling around SE Asia while staying in cheap hotels and guesthouses. But Smiley's takes the cake for being the worst place I've stayed.

It's out of the way from the city center. So, you'll be hiring a Tuk tuk or motorbike anytime you want to go to pub street of the night markets. It's down a dark alley with several shady men who are either pimps or body guards for several prostitutes who are standing right in front of the guesthouse. If you're alone, be careful.

The staff are also very rude. When I checked in I asked for an air conditioned room, but it wasn't working. As I was only staying for the day I didn't mention it to the front desk until I was checking out the next morning. When I asked for a reduced price because of the no air conditioning, they said "No, you asked for no air conditioning." It was a lie because they were asking me to pay for the air conditioned price. I told them they were wrong, and they accused me of lying because "It's so cold now. No one asks for air conditioning." Their definition of "cold" is 28 degrees C (83 F) during the day.

They cheated me out of the prince for the cheaper room. They also started yelling when I told them they were wrong and that I would be leaving a poor review on trip advisor.

So, in short, skip Smiley's guesthouse. There's plenty of other better options for guesthouses in Siem Reap. There's a reason all the most recent reviews for Smiley's have been poor.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank expatluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    25
    14
    10
    14
See reviews for
1
21
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bath
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This was the most digusting place I stayed at in SE Asia so far, I will spare you the details but believe me when I say disgusting. When I asked the staff to clean the bathroom (as it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while) they only cleaned the floor eventhough I specifically told them what needed cleaning (which did not incl the floor). The rooms are very old and dedperately need refurbishing.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karlijn02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Siem Reap hotels

Nakhon Pathom, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

The staff was rude to us upon arrival. We had arranged our room in advance at a set price and when we arrived they acted like we were crazy. We also had a horrible experience with the tuk tuk driver. DO NOT USE THE HOSTELS DRIVER!! There are much kinder and more reasonable drivers on the street. The driver at the hostel told us that he couldn't fit us all in one tuk tuk because of a law against foreigners in Cambodia and tried to rip us off for a day trip to Angkor Wat. He was very unpleasant. The food at the hostel is overpriced and takes a long time to prepare. There are definitely better options in Siam Reap for backpackers, this wouldn't be my first choice if I was to return..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

When I first went to Smiley's (some thee years ago) it was a very different place than it is today.
Instead of being greeted with a friendly smile etc you are now met by a very surly/aggressive female receptionist.
The rooms with their leaking sinks still remain. However, the price has increased considerably. On my last visit I was offered a box fan room without tv for 10 dollars.
The dogs are still a problem as is the cockerel.
The food, while always being mediocre has hit rock bottom.
This downward trend seems to stem from two things. Firstly, the ( Mr Smiley him.self) having passed away and secondly, the opening of the Smiley hotel in Phnom Penh which, I assume their better staff went to.
It is a real shame about this place. It used to be a real nice hide away.
There are much nicer, cheaper and accessible rooms in town.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Chang, Thailand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

SUMMARY:
For sure the worst stay on our three month trip. We stayed in hostels in Australia, campsites in NZL, jungle cabins at Sumatra and Hotels in Vietnam and Thailand. Even the budget guesthouse in Siem Reap, where we stayed before for half money, was much better. We would never go to Smileys again.


good news:

We slept fantastic because the bed was excelent.
Coffee is served with fresh milk and muesli is delicious.
You reach the Old Market area within a 5-10 minutes walk.

bad news:

CLEAN? The room was cleaned one morning (on demand) but after this there was the same stuff in our bathroom as the day before when we checked in, a shaver and an empty shampoo-folie. All in all: for the most expensive room (30 USD) the bathroom is small and shabby and not worth the money.

HOT WATER? Yes, there is hot water but not very much. We were used not to care about hot water because you don’t realy need it. But in this case it was the volume of water which was provided, or better to say not provided: water volume was much to low.

FREE WIFI? Never in our room because the signal is to low. When you are lucky, in the lobby. But sometimes the router gets too hot so that he has to be removed for half an hour or number of users is to large.

FREE PICK UP? We got none. We had to pay the tuktuk-driver.

FREE SAFE DEPOSIT BOXES? There are none of those boxes. If you want to leave e.g. your notebook it would be stored at the managers office. But if you come back late there is no manager. You have to carry your iPad when you want to get sure that it is safe and at any time available.

TV? Yes, there is one in your room. But it is neither a „free large screen“, nor an acceptable quality which is send out.

GARDEN („Eye-pleasing environment ... is kept immaculately clean at all times“)? If you don’t mind the empty plastic bottles, the smokes, full rubbish-bins, sleeping staff and a used teeth-brush, it could be nice.

LAUNDRY SERVICE? Yes, there is one. It costs only 2USD per Kilo. Ten meters outside the door you get it for 1USD. And you don’t get your cloth back well cleaned. Some of our cloth looked worse than before and some of them were simply gone.

BALCONY („Relax on the balcony and watch the sun go down“)? On the balcony is no chair because there is not enough space. But you can see the sun go down at about 4pm. But bring your sun glasses otherwhile you get blind because you have to look over some roofs in the neightbourhood with more altitude.

RESTAURANT? We had lunch on the fist day which was average priced. Quality was not better than acceptable. Butter at breakfast on the second day was used by an early-bird-guest before but they swapped it on request.

STAFF? The name of the guesthouse is not their program. In Cambodia we got hundreds of smiles from everyone but not during our stay in this guesthouse. As in many reviews mentioned befor we felt as „disturbers of family life“, too.

Room Tip: Go to an other hotel or guesthouse. Prepare your stay in Siem Reap especially in peak season. Have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiSchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

We arrived late evening tired searching a room they charged 12$ for a room which was 1 month ago 5$. We took the room to sleep it was awful. Then at 5am you hear the chicken every half hour. Switched hotel next morning at 7 to bunnath...this was very clean big rooms tv etc for 6$.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dronajrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Smiley's was recommended to me by a few expat friends and we (two single girls) stayed for 4 nights in 2009. Overall, the guesthouse is spacious, clean, airy and well maintained. Rooms are basic but comfortable. Staff are friendly, attentive, and very welcoming.

Bonus: The large courtyard is a peaceful place to read a book or to chat with other travelers.

I highly recommend Smiley's if you're looking for a quiet and quaint place to stay. Good price for the value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank city dweller s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Kandal Village Inn
Kandal Village Inn
#221 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
1.7 mi away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#58 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.5 mi away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#23 of 500 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
I Lodge
I Lodge
#192 of 500 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Petit Villa Boutique & Spa
Petit Villa Boutique & Spa
#53 of 500 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun Sengky Guest House
Sun Sengky Guest House
#288 of 500 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiley's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiley's Guesthouse

Property: Smiley's Guesthouse
Address: 21 Boulevard Sivatha | Krom 1, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #388 of 500 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Smiley's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiley`s Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing