We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Vacation but also an Education” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angkor Wat

Angkor Wat
Book In Advance
More Info
US$97.50*
and up
Half-Day Bike Tour from Siem Reap to Angkor Wat
Ranked #1 of 181 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Beavercreek
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Vacation but also an Education”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

My wife and I completed another of our "bucket list" vacations in February 2014. After a superb 2 week cruise on Holland America from Hong Kong to Singapore with 4 stops in Viet Nam, one in Cambodia and 2 in Thailand, we headed back to Cambodia to do justice to Angkor Wat and give it the time it truly deserves. We booked an itinerary through a company called About Asia and they really know what they are doing; they customize in tailoring a schedule to fit the amount of time you have available. We had 3 full days and a last morning so they filled our days with tours of the surrounding Wats (temples) before the climax on the third morning of seeing Angkor Wat at sunrise. Rather than wax on forever about their outstanding professionalism, I will merely say that to make use of a professional and personal tour guide and a driver for the entire time is so worth the money. No matter how much prior research you might do, I would argue that the local professionals can provide you with much more insight and appreciation of what you are seeing than you can do on your own. Apart from seeing all the highlights, another pinnacle was to be taken out into the Cambodian countryside and meet women transplanting rice in the fields and us actually participating with them, or visiting a local village where the shoeless children are excited to see you (but they don't beg) and interacting with their simple life (such as making and eating sticky rice with them and their parents). This is nothing short of a huge education, to see how these people survive in the world, their simple life, yet their happiness and worth ethic is a powerful example and education to us all. If you have half an inclination to head to Angkor Wat, do it and let the local tour professionals give you the works; for most of us, it's very affordable as the comparative cost of living is so low.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisP1354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31,328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25,635
    4,731
    810
    103
    48
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Notts, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Breath taking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This has to be the largest of the temples we visited on our one day tour, we didn't approach it from the front, as our guide took us around the lake, as we were also bird watching.
Which ever way you approach, it is an amazing structure which amazed me in terms of scale and detailing of the stone masonry.
It can and does get very very busy though, we went early morning and was quieter, so guess then or later in the day would be best.
There is a lot of walking and climbing steep steps, so need to have sturdy shoes and good mobility. Would also recommend you wear socks, as the ants can really get you as you walk about.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank themurtys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nethy Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“take your breath away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

should be on every bucket list, this place is absolutely incredible, take a camera and try and catch the sunset

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The Best..Truly Word Heritage.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Very nice Temple. Must visit. Unique architecture. Simply loved it. Don't forget to take your camera. Go in noon for best shots.
Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank holiday_lovers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A World Wonder not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

It's shear beauty and history. So much to see across such a vast area. Do what we did and see it by yuk yuk. Don't miss the Hill Temple

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark and Arlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angkor Wat also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Angkor Wat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing