We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and breathtaking”
Review of Angkor Wat

Angkor Wat
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Angkor Temple and Sunset Viewing
More Info
US$93.80*
and up
Full-Day Angkor Tour by Tuk Tuk from Sunrise
More Info
US$97.50*
and up
Half-Day Bike Tour from Siem Reap to Angkor Wat
Ranked #1 of 181 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Amazing and breathtaking”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Angkor is a thing on it's own. You can almost say it's a miracle, when you look at the smartness and beauty they build it with. If you wanna see the main temple at a cool sight, make sure you're there with sunrise. Get yourself a nice tuk-tuk driver for the days you're there and also go farther away in the temple-zone, specially Bayon and Ta Phrom (from the Lara Croft movie).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kjbooij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34,386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28,161
    5,156
    900
    115
    53
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This is amazing. With a good guide you get soooo much information, with base reliefs explained, statues identified and stories told. We watch the sunrise (along with half of Siem Reap), and although crowded people respect the quite awe inspiring scene.

If you're going in British summer time it's well worth getting up mega early anyway, as we saw loads of temples after our pre dawn start, and it gets pretty hot as soon as the sun comes up, so you'll be grateful for the long shadows of early morning.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Prudence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“visit a wonder of the world..”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

what an amazing place, many temples to visit (2 day ticket), joined hundreds of tourists from all over, we had a wonderful and friendly tuk tuk driver, he would drop us off at the start or entrance of a temple and then pick us up "the other side", then onto the next one, its so hot,so tiring,a great idea...every temple had its own special beauty, the" tree temple" my favourite, its a place you must NOT miss, dont forget your camera, an 8 gb should do the trick........yes, magic !!..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always come back”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Angkor Wat is one of the oldest temple in Cambodia, and is the heart of Siem Reap. It attracts millions of local and international tourists. I am Cambodian, and Siem Reap is my parents homeland. I've been there so many times but I never missed visiting Angkor Wat every single time I visit Siem Reap.

Helpful?
1 Thank Voleakztc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
466 reviews
235 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Inspiring...”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This monument is the largest religious temple in the world. Dedicated to Vishnu and built in the 12th century, you just can't believe your eyes. The five towers of Angkor Wat are just incredible and have three levels with one grand central shrine. Sunrise or sunset, this monument is a marvel of the ancient world....don't forget to take a panoramic picture from the causeway or pictures of the beautiful Apsaras.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank romazzino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angkor Wat also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Angkor Wat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing