We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A beautiful haven in Siem Reap” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Polanka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maison Polanka
Ranked #63 of 334 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful haven in Siem Reap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Maison Polanka is a wonderful place in Siem Reap. It is owned and run by Nathalie who has a great passion for the country, art, style, food and life! My husband and I travelled to Siem Reap with our 3 children aged 5, 3 and 16 months and nanny - from the moment we were collected at the airport and driven to Maison Polanka we were welcomed into its relaxing, beautiful environment where nothing is a problem, the service is immpecable and the attention to detail is out of this world. We were greeted with the most delicious spring rolls and the children were spolit with beautiful sandwiches and fresh juices. Nathalie had helped us prepare an itinerary as we wanted to see the temples but also had children so were mindful that we wanted do other activities. Our rooms were elegantly decorated and reflective of both the culture and art of Cambodia and Nathalie's own innate sense of style. The beds were the most comfortable we have ever had with a choice of both hard and soft pillows. There is a choice of air-con and fans with beautiful dark wooden shutters that are closed over the windows at night time. There are also gorgeous old vintage french bikes for the guests to use to cycle along the river or to the markets. We spen the most wonderful 4 days touring around the temples with our amazing guide Yut (he is simply the best and we highly recommend him and all arranged by Nathalie), swimming in the pool, taking Tuk Tuk rides, exploring hidden art galleries and markets, taking boat rides to water villages, eating amazing food at the Maison and drinking delicious wine. The children had a fabulous time and even our 16 month old could be included in our activites. On other days, we had no hesitation whatsoever in leaving our children in the caring and wonderful hands of Nathalie and her amazing staff. There is even a fabulous play house called Jungle Junction were the children played for a whole afternoon and another time Nathalie organised for the children to make their own clay bowls at a traditional ceramic studio. We spent many hours sitting and talking with Nathalie over a glass of wine and it was wonderful to obtain a real sense of Cambodia, it's history, the people and it's future. You would not have this insight when staying in hotel - it was a truly memorable stay and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but our favourite was the Green Room and the Yellow Room for the childre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tors94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
100
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

The space that Nathalie has created in the middle of the jungle is something truly special. From the moment we arrived at Maison Polanka, we were treated like queens. My friend and I stayed in the incredible Khmer House - what an experience! Although the main house with its four guest rooms is also magnificent. Each room is unique and decorated in the most tasteful way, and all give the feeling of serenity, peace and spaciousness. Big airy rooms, wooden shutters, ceiling fans and beautiful artwork - the interior at Polanka is a fusion of traditional Cambodian and artful French decor. EVERYTHING at Polanka is special and Nathalie has paid impeccable attention to detail. At Polanka, you won't find a plastic drinking straw!

We spent our days at Polanka splashing at the pool, drinking iced lemon grass tea, eating divine food prepared by Nathalie's staff, strolling through the garden and lazing on our deck. I can honestly say that Maison Polanka is a place where LIFE BECOMES ART. For anyone looking to get away from it all, and be surrounded by beauty and healing, Polanka would be the first place on my list of recommendations!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie_LeeBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

A family of 5, with 3 teenagers, we spent one amazing week at Maison Polanka during our holiday break. We had two beautiful rooms with terraces, a lot of space, fabulous Cambodian meals taken outside on the patio, all in a lush and luxurious setting, with a fabulous pool and elaborate garden. Better than any other hotel, we benefited from all the beautiful amenities while being in an authentic Cambodian environment, with a few other families. Very easily accessible from the airport and all the temples, with taxis or touctoucs at our disposal, we could really feel we were in Cambodia while in total comfort and luxury and away from tourists. Service is impeccable, rooms spacious and beautifully decorated, one of our best stays ever.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mylene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Maison Polanka is truly a memorable place to stay in. It matches Angkor Wat, in the sense that it is a one of a kind place, both to visit and stay.
Nathalie, the owner, is an elegant hostess who makes herself accessible to her guests, yet knows how to give them their privacy. It is an art that she has mastered well. I enjoyed her company while I was there. She was kind enough to take me personally to the old market area and help me choose some lovely knicks-knacks to take back home. Her staff are well trained and are always at hand to do anything to help make your stay more comfortable.
I love Indian chai and am used to having it daily. Nathalie very generously asked me to make use of her kitchen to make my tea. Her assistant, Sukhorath, went one step further and learnt how to make it. He then proceeded to make and serve me perfect cups of Indian chai while I was there. Nathalie even produced a chocolate mousse cake at short notice when she heard that my son was ceebrating his 18th. birthday the next day. These many thoughtful gestures from Nathalie and her staff have touched us deeply.
We stayed at the Khmer house which is a gorgeous place - a real antique that is well maintained. Everywhere there is a pleasant harmony with the environment and the decor is perfect. Nathalie has impeccable taste and her staff keeps the place beautifully. We had a car, driver and even guide arranged for us. A word must be said about the divine food served to us by a smiling staff. We chose to mostly have their Cambodian food, interspersed with 1 French dinner. Everything was mouth wateringly tasty and served with elegance. I adored the peaceful ambience!
Of course, the only real negative is the road itself to Maison Polanka - it is, unfortunately, full of potholes and the scenery enroute leaves much to be desired.
However, once you enter the Maion Polanka grounds, all is forgotten as you will enveloped by warmth, beauty and you will just relax into Cambodia's age old hospitality.
Thank you Nathalie, Sukhorath and all the other staff people at Maison Polanka for giving us an unforgettable stay. We hope to return someday to see you all again.

Warm regards,
Swapna, Jay and Adarsh

Room Tip: Good to choose the Khmer house if you want to feel that you are stepping back in time. It adds a def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2swapna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

I visited the beautiful Maison Polanka just recently in August of 2012. When we arrived with a group of about (8 people) and walked down the windy, lush-landscaped entrance, I immediately realized that I had entered paradise. The staff were extremely polite and attentive without giving off an overbearing feeling. All of our needs were met and accounted for without even having to ask. There are actually two villas to be exact; but when visiting you wind up feeling very relaxed in the environment as if your lounging in an amazing private backyard. The pool is also a great place to relax and the food is perfectly delightful. Very creative, home-made flavours that warm the soul. I will return just as soon as I can get back to Siem Reap. My advice is to absolutely book a stay at Maison Polanka if you want a completely personalized cultural Cambodian experience, without the fuss and tourist feeling of any major 5 star. Blessings and happy travels

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2nd Villa that has 3 individual rooms. Our room was immaculate, it was the to p lef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shukura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

"Maison Polanka" is a truly A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. home in Siem Reap !!
It is definitely a unique and beautiful residence and a most special retreat.
So peaceful and tastefully done. Simply Heaven!!
The gardens and pool are so relaxing, and the decor of all the rooms have a unique French flavor. One is surrounded by beautiful antique furniture and exquisite art throughout.
Its a great place to return to after the tiring excursions to the temples and the city.
My stay there was most memorable and the staff and the owners are so friendly and helpful.
Will definitely return again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Efi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

had the most memorable stay... have worked and traveled in Cambodia for a long time, but there is no place like Maison Polanka. The rooms, the grounds, the people, the food... a whole other world behind those gates. Enchanted....the place is fantastic -it's like your own private retreat tucked away in the middle of Siem Reap. The staff is well trained and just lovely - Maison Polanka is by far the best experience you can have in Cambodia - I recommend booking a home-cooked meal which will be served "under the stars" in the most beautiful setting. Fresh, traditional Cambodian and French cuisines. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All rooms are just lovely and full of character -- photos of the website are exactly the way Maison...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#27 of 334 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#17 of 334 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nita by Vo
Nita by Vo
#15 of 334 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#11 of 334 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.9 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#1 of 334 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Clara
Hotel Santa Clara
#14 of 334 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Polanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Polanka

Property: Maison Polanka
Address: Upper East River Road, North of Wat Polanka, Siem Reap 93060, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 334 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Polanka 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Polanka is a collection of unique Cambodian houses offering hotel services in spacious tropical gardens. Set in the sprawling grounds of a family estate, the property hosts 5 luxury suites & rooms.Nestled in the heart of a local riverside village, close to the temples and the old market, Maison Polanka is a private Cambodian residence that will provide your stay in Ankgor with luxury and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Maison Polanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing