We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Happy hostel with a sense of humour and a conscience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy hostel with a sense of humour and a conscience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

If you are looking for a backpacker hostel this place is great. Mix of rooms and dorms (rooms were good value and clean with decent mattress). Run by a New Yorker, who relocated a couple of years ago it's a fun place with great staff. It's not especially Cambodian, more a typical international hostel with a roof beach bar and hammocks. Bit more expensive than some places in Siam Reap but all local staff are paid well and have health insurance etc so the money is going back into the community in a real way.

Very knowledgeable about travel and will help you work out how to get about, navigating buses, boats etc .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naec101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
It was a real pleasure to host you here with us - do find the time to come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,209
    224
    71
    39
    26
See reviews for
6
137
472
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

If your looking to party meet tonnes of people and just generally have a great time then mad monkey is the place for you! The best part in particular the rooftop bar which serves amazing food and cheap drinks! Get yourself upstairs for the grenade challenge where countries compete to do the most grenades! Come on England!!!! You can play beerpong watch films or kick back and relax in a hammock! What more could you want? Best bar tender ever zack from Nevada so keep an eye out for him! Top bloke! Gutted to be leaving will definitely be returning in the near future!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
We are delighted that you loved your time at The Mad Monkey SR - We very much look forward to seeing you soon! Love SR Mad Monkey Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

I spent 4 nights in Mad Monkey (one night in the quad-share room and 3 nights in the single room), and can therefore conclude that this is not a place for everyone.

Location-wise, Mad Monkey's very strategically placed, just a couple of minutes stroll from the main market (think cheap food and souvies) and the famous Pub Street. There are many tuktuks waiting downstairs, and the area is also well-lit at night.

The two rooms I got were clean and came with the facilities you would expect of a good backpackers' hostel: hot shower, hard but comfy bed, airconditioning (for the shared rooms only) etc. The free wifi connection was adequately fast and stable, so no complaints there.

If you're unsure where to go or what to do in Siem Reap, the place organizes some tours and trips around the city and to the temples. One of the highlights is the hostel-organised weekly boat trip on Tonle Sap: the sunset's spectacular, and there's a free flow of drinks in the boat as well, all for $30.

The kitchen upstairs serves good food at reasonable prices, and the menu is pretty diverse, from the local amok to mac and cheese. Good alternative if you don't feel like going out for dinner after a long day of exploring the temples.

Mad Monkey is a place that attracts (pretty much decidedly) the young, vibrant and party-animal kind of backpackers, so if you're looking for a quite night, this place's definitely not for you. There's a rooftop bar upstairs, which is a hive for activities- pongs, games, you name it. It's a great place to meet other backpackers. Expect the noise to really affect your sleep: while the whole thing was fun, I didn't have adequate sleep for the whole span of my stay there. It's worse if you get a room on the ground floor: 2-3 am is the time when the hammered folks would come back from Pub Street, so expect the reception area to be very noisy.

Well, I had a good stay at Mad Monkey, but be forewarned that this place is definitely not for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fayhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam293925, Manager at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Hi and thanks for your review! It sums it up perfectly - the fact is that The Mad Monkey has a 90% approval rating on most of the hostel sites so I am pleased you fell into the 9 out of 10 of our customers that loved the Mad Monkey!

We are a party hostel - there is a bar - it is noisy - some people may get naked - there is a focus on group tours - meeting people and having fun - most people will love but of course some wont. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

weve spent 3 nights in mad monkey and i have very mixed feelings about the experience.
the staff are amazing, all friendly, helpful, will bend over backwards to help. no request they cant handle. they are the best point of the hostel.
the hostel is nice, big, clean, lovely rooftop beach bar, tv and internet in lounge area.
the rooms are standard price for siem reap hostel and are just basic. clean sheets, working shower etc. cant complain for $4.
however, most people come to siem reap to go to angkor wat or the floating village etc and need some sort of decent sleep. me and my bf stayed in a private room anticipating some early mornings for sight seeing. however, sleep is IMPOSSIBlE. they advertise their bar shuts at 12- yes, they stop serving at 12 but people tumble down the stairs until 1am and congregate in the lobby shouting about what bar they will go to next. there is always staff present but nothing is ever said to quieten them down. this echoes through the whole hostel and every single night has woken me up/kept me up. when u have a 5am start to see the sunrise over angkor wat which youve paid $50 its quite upsetting when youre lying in bed awake knowing your day will be ruined.
i understand its a backpackers hostel, but its not much to ask people to be quiet after 12pm is it? or even just to be loud in their own room? just not in the middle of the lobby for a whole hour.
basically, this hostel is ok, but its overrun by young drunk backpackers who think they own the place and have no respect for other people unless you are in their little group of 'lets go get dru in the bar every night' group. ive seen the owners commments on 'were not going to ask 70 people to be quiet for 1 person needing to sleep' and i think thats rediculous. theres only ever 15 ppl in the bar max, and its not just one guest. there are many frustrated, tired and upset guests sat quietly in their beds listening to the drunk few keep them awake. if ur looking to come get drunk amd meet people to drink and party with then this place is for you. if youre here to experience any sort of culture and sightsee - avoid.
location is good, few mins walk from markets.
wont be recommending this place

Room Tip: theyre all loud. bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear Guest - Thank you for your review, firstly thank you for all of the positive contents about the hostel - we understand the main issue relates to a noisy group who stayed with us during your stay so i will address that accordingly -

Please understand that we never provide a generic response to an issue we always research any negative issue and respond. In the particular instance of your review there was a very noisy and boozy group that had checked in during your stay.

Whilst we do try and keep everyone happy, had you asked to be moved to a lower level (Less noisy room) at the time we would have been able to do that for you - at the same time although we ask our guests to be respectful to others please do understand that reasoning with drunk people is also not without its own difficulties and we also do not want to be the "Fun Police" As such its always a tough call - we have again briefed our security team to tell people to keep the noise down after 12am - Although telling a six foot drunk Irish man (or women) who insists on singing whilst pulling down his pants to show you his "monkey" after 20 shots is not without its own challenges so we hope you understand. Have a great trip back home! Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Minimalist rooms - the private room we stayed in had just the beds, good aircon, a fan and bin. Bathroom a good size, hot water, the sink leaked a bit though.

At $8/night each though it was a great deal.

The entire hostel was clean and decorated nicely. Free wifi available that works well.

The only negative was, despite each day putting the DO NOT CLEAN sign on our door (rooms do not have safety boxes, we came back every day to find that sign had been ignored and our room cleaned. Nothing was ever stolen but it didn't sit well with us.

The Top Banana Bar is great. Slightly over priced but with a huge menu and a wonderful beach theme - sand on the floor, hammocks, cushioned beach chairs and a table especially for beer pong.

Staff organised mail, bike hire and a bus to Bangkok for us and were generally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thanks so much for your good review! We are happy with clean and fun! Thanks again for your feedback and enjoy your travels around Asia! Regards Mad Monkey Team SR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

My time at Mad Monkey was good. The check in was quick and they answered all our questions. The staff is top notch...they helped me get a bike and bus ordered fast. The bar on the roof is great for relaxing and having food/drink. The rooms were alright. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm. Someone brought a girl in from outside one night and another night some came in really drunk. It's hit or miss on your dorm mates. The room was a bit old and dirty. The A/C worked but was weak, as are the lights in the room. Also there were ants all over the bathroom walls and near some beds with Mosquitos flying around often. I highly recommend this place if you won't stay in your room for more than a couple hours of rest each night.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Highlighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thanks so much for your good review! It was super having you here and we look forward to seeing you again on your way back around Asia! Love the team here at The Mad Monkey !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deutschland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

By far the best hostel I have ever been to!! Had an amazing time there, met the best people and love the staff. The rooms (especially the bathrooms) are really clean and with hot water. I stayed in another hostel in Siem Reap before I moved to Mad Monkey and it was the best desicion I could make. I extended 2 times during my stay... and not just me ;)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiChiDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Hi and thanks for your review ! We enjoyed having you here and wish you the very best for your travels around Asia! Love The Mad Monkey SR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#2 of 334 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#6 of 334 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#34 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#3 of 334 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
0.3 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#75 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap

Property: Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
Address: No19, Mondul 2 | Khoum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 0011, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 254 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to stay in the most social party hostel in Siem Reap with over 100 other backpackers and young travelers and generally cool people? Providing accommodation for over 105 guests a night and with a lively bar scene the Mad Monkey provides clean rooms and dorms, a social environment, free wifi, a large sun drenched pool with its own beach bar and an international restaurant. Would you like to enjoy hanging out in the ONLY roof top beach bar in Cambodia? If the answer is yes then The Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap is the destination for you, full travel, tour, visa service provided! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing