We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Relaxing place”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent place with really good food at the rooftopbar. This is THE place to meet new people. Book early, because the are most of the time fully booked. It's a 5 minute walk to the pubstreet. The rooms are clean and the swimming pool as well. Cheers!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank plaatje86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear guest - We are only as awesome as our guests are at any one time - and you were a stunner! Have a great trip - thank you so much for your review it really counts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,282
    241
    75
    42
    32
See reviews for
9
144
506
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I stayed in one of Mad Monkey's private rooms. It was a great, affordable way to stay in Siem Reap. We had the privacy of our own room, but still had the wonderful community feel of a hostel. We met so many great people at the pool and the rooftop beach bar who shared their experiences and made our trip even more fun. The staff at this hostel is really great. They answered several questions about the area and booked a few things for me. The beach bar also has really great food. Also, cleanliness has been in issue in some hostels I've stayed in....not this one. Every time I walked around, I always saw someone sweeping or mopping. I can't say enough good things about this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Boom Boom :-) It was fantastic to have you here, you enjoy your next adventure and we shall see you again soon we hope :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Mad monkey is a cool hostel and a good place to meet other backpackers. It has a wonderful party vibe. The beds are inexpensive, the rooms are clean and the location is great. Sadly I hadn't booked a bed in advance and so had to move out after one night.
I am a heavy sleeper and so didn't have any problem. Light sleepers may face some problem due to the noise from parties especially if they have to leave early in the morning to see the Angkor sunrise.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChittaranjanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi ya! Thank you so much for your fantastic review - i am really pleased you had a good time here - do come back and visit us soon. Thanks again! Love The Mad Monkey Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Great vibe, really clean and well run... easy to meet people. The pool was brilliant. Staff friendly but could sometimes be unhelpful. They have a rad rooftop bar that was always busy, and Mad Monkey's is so central that nearly everything in Siem Reap was walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
It was great to have you and your party as our guests, thank you so much for choosing us as your hostel - you were an awesome guest, we hope we see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sihanoukville Province, Cambodia
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We have been travelling Asia for around 2 months now, and this is by far the best hostel so far :)

Cheap, great pool, amazing beach bar and both the staff and the people staying there were awesome to say the least.

Location was great aswell, smileyface

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gargarenzis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest - I am so pleased you found time to write this awesome review - thanks again for staying here and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future we hope :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

what else can I say , they are inexpensive , the rooms are clean , nice pool greets u right where the front desk is , cool rooftop bar where I met people from Britain , Los angeles , Australia and more ....

location is perfect too , just 5 minutes from PUB street and so many food places around .....

awesome place for backpackers / solo travelers / bunc of friends and adventurous couples

not for family or those who prefers peace and quiet ......

my only regret is not staying longer cos I have to rush back to phnom penh .......

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HazleeSuip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you so much for a really cool review! We had a great time hanging out with you here - thanks for taking the time to jot down your positive comments! We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Had a great 5 days in this hostel. If your a single traveller like me it's a great place meet new people, but even if your a group of friends or even a couple travelling together I would recommend this hostel. Nice pool area, great rooftop beach bar, friendly and helpful staff, and nice food too.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Fozz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Well we were delighted to host you! We love cool guests that enjoy their stay here - 95% of our guests have a great time so i am ecstatic that you are in the majority! Have a fab trip around Asia ! Take care and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#87 of 356 in Siem Reap
860 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#7 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#50 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#90 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,441 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Siem Reap Hostel
The Siem Reap Hostel
#4 of 284 in Siem Reap
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap

Property: Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
Address: No19, Mondul 2 | Khoum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 0011, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 284 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most social hostel in Siem Reap! Come stay with 100+ backpackers from around the world. Clean, comfy accommodations (our dorm beds have massive 1.2m mattresses!). A swimming pool and poolside bar - absolutely essential on a hat Cambodian day. A Rooftop Beach Bar with epic sunset views. New events on every night. Tours of Angkor Wat, the countryside, and everything else you came to Siem Reap for. Free wifi. Visa service. We're here to handle everything, so you have the best stay and make the best memories in Siem Reap! Mad Monkey is a socially responsible hostel, too. Your stay will benefit local clean water projects and education organizations. Can't wait to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing