We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The absolute definition of average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The good: Mad Monkey is cheap. You can rent a private room for the price of many other hostel's dorm rooms. They have a rooftop bar with $1 beers and SAND that plays good music (not JUST the top 40 stuff, but really good music to dance to. Also the occasional Ace of Base, which could be considered both good and bad. I saw the sign back in the 90s, and I don't need to see it again.) It's pretty clean and there is a pool, which looks like it's cleaned (or at least fed chlorine) regularly.

The bad: The staff is borderline hostile if you ask them any questions at all, and act like you are inconveniencing them for existing or, say, needing to check in. You must pay in cash. Whatever they wash the sheets in caused an allergic reaction that made my eyes swell and my entire body itch. There's not a room in the place where you can escape the music so if you're getting up for that 5am sunrise, you're also staying up all night to that Ace of Base.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelEli7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear RachelEli7

Thank you so much for your review, it is always a little frustrating for us to understand that a guest only had an average time at The Mad Monkey, although almost all guests have a great time, and average is actually ok for most other hostels I am genuinely sorry that you only had an average time here.

Please let me state that had you asked us for different sheets we would have provided you with different ones, but also this is the only time ever we have had this identified as an issue. Secondly and after speaking to the receptionist that checked you in, I think this was a cultural miss-understanding. Normally in Cambodia people are expected to be very polite as it is the culture, where as in the west there is a leaning to a service culture which means you shouldn't need to say please and thank you to service staff. Although we are pleased that most guests do carry a certain courtesy when dealing with our staff we do not expect it and as a result our reception staff will undergo extra training in dealing with customers that may not be as polite as expected. Thank you for pointing this out to us, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

All that she wants is another baby, yeaahhh

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,683)
There are newer reviews for Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,217 - 1,223 of 1,683 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I found this hostel to be a great, social, party hostel. However the rooms were extremely basic and the staff were somewhat unhelpful. This is not common for Mad Monkey hostels so may have been a bad experience that I had with them.

The hostel has it's own pool which is very nice, however many hostels in Siem Reap also have this.

Great party hostel but don't expect any frills.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NATHAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest -

Thank you for your review. As per the review after yours we will carry out further training with our reception staff this week. I really do think it was probably a one off, possibly after a guest was rude to one of our staff, however this is not your problem so that you for highlighting it for us.

I have messaged you with a discount voucher that you can use for any further booking on our website. Many thanks again for your review.

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed at Mad Monkey for four days/three nights and I agree with every good review I've read on here.

First, it is a great place if you are traveling alone or with only one other person. I traveled with a friend and met a ton of great people - it was pretty much an instant party as long as you are at least somewhat friendly and enjoy laying by the pool or lounging around the upstairs beach bar. Just start talking to people - the place has such a friendly vibe that everyone there is down to meet new people!

It is as nice as the pictures look - the pool is fantastic and the restaurant has great food and a fantastic vibe. I cannot express how fantastic the passion fruit mojitos are - I think I have nearly two dozen over my few days... (which gives you an idea of how great the party scene is here too). I stayed in a twin private with a bathroom - no complaints at all. Clean, straight forward, very comfortable mattress, well priced. They provided room towels and had pool towels to borrow. They clean the rooms daily and included some bottled water.

$7 taxi ride from the airport (completely standard), $15 tuktuk for the whole day at Angkor Wat, food at the hostel ranged around $4-6 per plate and was really good. Drinks started at $1 and went up to $3.5 - I repeat, get the passion fruit mojito and try the coconut with malibu for a hangover cure. If you're American, get a grenade for your country.

Room Tip: Twin with a fan was great but really hot even with the fan on high so if you have little tolerance f...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atestafl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi ya! Thank you so much for your fantastic review - i am really pleased you had a good time here - do come back and visit us soon. Thanks again! Love The Mad Monkey Team! Thank you for staying at our socially responsible hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed in Mad monkeys Siem Reap for 5 nights, when looking back now may have been a little too long, however this is a great hostel for anyone looking for a good time socially and a nice place to relax with a few cod beers. The pool provides the perfect social spot during the day to meet fellow travelers and then after dark the bar upstairs fills this void providing free shots and well priced booze until 12 after which everyone heads to Pub Street and the music stops allowing anyone who needs an early night to get some shut-eye. But this is not all that Mad Monkeys has to offer, the staff were very friendly and ca help with booking tours to Angor Wat or organizing a tuk tuk to the night-market etc... All of the dorms have AC and the private rooms large fans, beds are comfortable and clean... The only fault I can find is that maybe the dorms are a little on the small side. Overall I would highly recommend this hostel to friendly social people who are up for meeting new people and having a few drinks in the eve. I would not recommend this to busy-bodies who complain about noise, go buy some earplugs/get some from reception (yes they provide them)!

Room Tip: Get in a 6 bed dorm, better AC as it's a smaller space. Try to get a first floor dorm if your a...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcylfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

It was great to have you and your party as our guests, thank you so much for choosing us as your hostel - you were an awesome guest, we hope we see you soon! Thank you for staying at our socially responsible hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

You'll never believe it!!!! You pay $8 for a dorm and get all sorts of goodies! First, you check in and walk into a large area with a huge pool with young sexy people everywhere, then you get to your room with a huge dorm bed with huge lockers below. The staff are so cool, always dancing around. You can literally spend all day around the pool just mingling with people and this is how you find people to go to the temples with the next day. We had 3 tuk tuks for a group of 12 people that all went to the temples together, we'd all met the day before at the pool!! A quick walk to pub street after a dozen or so Grenades and your night is complete. Make sure to try the Mozzarella Sticks if you've been away for a while! What more could you ask for when walking around through 6 inches of sand in the rooftop beach bar! Such a cool spot, don't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Book early or you're out!!!!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBOCONNOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest - I am so pleased you found time to write this awesome review - thanks again for staying here and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future we hope :-) Thank you for staying at our socially responsible hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Location, pool and bar - excellent. Good a/c in the dorms and good size beds. Avoid staying in the private 'deluxe' rooms as they are sub-standard (especially for the price). We stayed in the deluxe for three nights and first had to wait three hours after check in time for the room to be ready. Also, the power tripped every time we turned on the shower, knocking out the three rooms on our floor, got to the stage when my girlfriend went down to the circuit breaker and corrected the tripped switch herself as waiting for the staff to become available meant someone was standing naked in a cold shower in the dark. Overall positive experience because the hostel attracts lovely people. In summary, stay in the dorms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauronan127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest -

You happen to have stayed in one of the few rooms that is targeted for a refurbishment and refresh in the next few weeks, just to let you know that we have fixed the problem with the electricity supply as well which was a short on the system. Had you told us about your issues with the room during your stay we would have course have moved you. Thank you for the positive comments of your review - please be assured that we have resolved the problems as of today and reduced the price of the room waiting for refurb. Many thanks and have a great trip around Asia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Rolled in after being told to book online well ahead of time! Man was it worth it! Raged all day by the pool and all night at the rooftop beach bar! Staff is awesome, people who stay there are awesome, just a totally solid place! If ur in Siem Reap, you have no other choice! Grenades!!!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your glowing review of The Mad Monkey - we are delighted you enjoyed your time here ! We hope to see you again soon for more cocktails! Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#88 of 361 in Siem Reap
869 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#6 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#39 of 361 in Siem Reap
492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,344 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Siem Reap Hostel
The Siem Reap Hostel
#4 of 292 in Siem Reap
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap

Address: No19, Mondul 2 | Khoum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 0011, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 292 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range: £7 - £10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most social hostel in Siem Reap! Come stay with 100+ backpackers from around the world. Clean, comfy accommodations (our dorm beds have massive 1.2m mattresses!). A swimming pool and poolside bar - absolutely essential on a hat Cambodian day. A Rooftop Beach Bar with epic sunset views. New events on every night. Tours of Angkor Wat, the countryside, and everything else you came to Siem Reap for. Free wifi. Visa service. We're here to handle everything, so you have the best stay and make the best memories in Siem Reap! Mad Monkey is a socially responsible hostel, too. Your stay will benefit local clean water projects and education organizations. Can't wait to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing