We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel……woodwork was incredible” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ta Prohm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ta Prohm Hotel
Ranked #161 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
171 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel……woodwork was incredible”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

This hotel is very conveniently located so you could walk to all the shopping, restaurants, etc. The woodwork inside was incredible! Room was roomy, clean and quiet. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The place even had an elevator! If you need laundry done it was best to take it out as the hotel service was a little high. No restaurant at hotel, however just a block from Pub Street with lots of choices. The room I had did have a window only looking out about 15' to other room. Did not have room safe and had to sore all valuables at lobby safe which was minor inconvenience, however remember where you are!
Very nice balcony surrounding front and side of building for viewing.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    123
    36
    14
    5
See reviews for
24
53
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

I was going to wait until the end of our trip to write a review, but have been so frustrated in my first night here that I'm writing it now. First of all, the hotel is billed on their web site as having a "high standard of modern western comfort." This is definitely not true ... it's one of those developing world hotels with developing world standards trying to sell itself as a Western hotel. In addition, it is quite dated, and has not been maintained or updated to high standards.

Before tonight however, I was going to write a much more measured review. The hotel is not bad per se ... it's middle-ranged, reasonably comfortable despite the fact that things are somewhat old. The rooms are kept reasonably clean. The desk service so far has been very good. The location is very good. But it tends to be dark, and the dark wood that once upon a time was probably really fancy is now just ... dark and dingy. Also, our window faces a concrete wall ... so no light or ventilation there either. But overall, it's a reasonable place to stay if you know what you're getting.

However, tonight, we have not had any hot water. Not a problem if you stepped right off the hot Cambodian streets, but if you've been sitting indoors with the AC on (and you can't really not turn the AC on because the relatively closed rooms with minimal ventilation get quite humid and muggy), all you want is a nice hot shower to clean the grime off. They have been responsive in trying to help us out, but still ... no hot water. I appreciate the effort, but I appreciate hot water more.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bloobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

My favorite hotel to stay in Siem Reap. You can walk everywhere downtown, it's quiet, clean, staff are very nice, and a great price. would much prefer to stay in aplace like this than in one of those huge face-less hotels

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellenint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

Lived in the hotel for 3 days. The place (in the city centre), room rates and the value you get is outstanding. The hotel is quite beautiful and extremely clean with great accessibility to night market, pub street

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Purnima_Kumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

It's not fancy 5-star, it is simply provides an excellent room at great value. Room is spacious, very clean, bathroom excellent, aircon good. Bed is Asia-style hard. Numerous TV channels in English, Chinese, Korean, Japanese (and I presume Cambodian!). Buffet breakfast was good: not super, but it was pleasant and more than adequate. Nice staff at the front desk and at breakfast. Desk clerk was happy to show us the room before we rented it. Good value: USD 35 per night, 4th night free! It's right downtown, a block's walk to pubs and restaurants, but sleeping was fine: no noise problem. There are many hotels at all levels in Siem Reap, but few seemed to be really close to the center of the city. We were very pleased with this hotel. No business center, but there are numerous travel outlets downtown, which also have Internet access for rent.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller99ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lipa City, Philippines
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

The hotel lobby was spacious and we were greeted by two lovely ladies who knew about our arrival and gave us options even if we have booked online already. Although the first room was OK, we chose to move to the other room because it was bigger and can accommodate the three of us comfortably. The bed was Ok, the bathroom was spacious and clean. I like the smell of wooden floors and walls but it squeeks as we walk on the corridors especially if you are wearing rubber soles.
They seve good breakfast too.
The hotel is located less than 30 steps from the old market where we bought lots of souvenirs. Walk a litle more and you will reach the famous pub street where bars and restaurants can be seen.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papa-Caps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

If anything I shouldn't have cheaped out on the room, the window overlooked an alley. Totally my mistake, It's so cheap I should have gone for a suite. But even the cheap room was large and well appointed. We were one of three guests in the whole hotel when we were there. The hotel itself is lovely, the wood interiors give it a warm and comfortable setting for nearly anything.

Skip the breakfast though, it's a little iffy.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheese0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
#168 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Terrasse des Elephants
Terrasse des Elephants
#180 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Steung Siemreap Hotel
Steung Siemreap Hotel
#98 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#99 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan Kang Angkor Hotel
Tan Kang Angkor Hotel
#267 of 339 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#64 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ta Prohm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ta Prohm Hotel

Property: Ta Prohm Hotel
Address: Pokambor Avenue, Mondul I, Sangkat Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ta Prohm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ta Prohm Hotel offers exceptional value for money, a high standard of modern western comfort with traditional Khmer hospitality, style and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ta Prohm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ta Phrom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing