We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in Every Respect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amansara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amansara
Ranked #79 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
178 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Excellent in Every Respect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in a pool suite and I simply do not know enough ways to communicate what a wonderful hotel this is. The service is IMPECCABLE. The staff is simply amazing. From the gardeners, to the housekeeping staff, to the restaurant crew, to the spa staff, to the drivers, they all have smiles on their faces 100% of the time. Serving you seems to be their greatest joy. They have an uncanny way of knowing the moment you leave your room and they scurry in to straighten and freshen everything up. We've never seen anything like it. The food in the all-day dining, dining room was never a disappointment: the menu was always creative and delicious. On top of all of it, Sally, the General Manager, is a seasoned professional who is an absolute delight. The only slight complaint is that the suite was small compared to comparably prices suites at other resorts. I cannot recommend a hotel more highly. It was virtually perfect! Bravo!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    24
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
72
179
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

If you are going to Siem Reap (and you should), and if money is no object (but then you should know that if we are talking Aman's), then the your choice of hotel is clear: the Amansara.

An impeccable property with intriguing pedigree and impeccable service. The service makes Four Seasons looks careless. It starts at the end of the jetway, where you get personalized (?!) passport control (the EU it ain't). And your car service is the lovely vintage Benz with the white cloth covered seats. It makes you want to be a tin horn dictator.

At the resort , they seem to have their own fleet of tuk-tuks (the adorable, quirky local mode of transport) and their own guides and drivers, as well as bicycles and a boat (with luxurious daybeds). It's as if they want to control ever moment of your Siem Reap experience (perhaps they know something we don't). In any event, the result is that you are pampered 24/7, whereever you go, by Aman staff always at the ready with your personal nearly frozen damp cloth.

But this anecdote probably best illustrates what Aman calls "service". Whilst whiling away the hottest hours of the day at our plunge pool, we called room service looking for frozen daiquiris and a snack. I mentioned I wanted something salty, and asked if by any chance they had any sort of chips (not french fries, American potato chips). The staff person said "Do you mind waiting? I can ask our chef if he can make some". He did and they were, you know this part, fantastic.

All that said, this property is a tad disappointing --- through not fault of its own. There are no vistas, no elaborate gardens, no views. It is a MCM walled compound expertly tended and stylishly executed, but it could be anywhere. Compared to the only other Amans I have been to (all three on Bali), it does pale a little.

Pros: Not-to-be beat service, perfect but also warm and genuine. Spacious rooms and spacious plunge pools. Excellent tour arrangements. Very very good quality food. Cool provenance. Surely the best in Siem Reap by far.

Cons: Not a stunning property. They should have a way to wash your feet off after touring --- you get back very dusty.

Things to know:
1) Think of the pace of a day here as being similar to safari. Due to the heat, you will want to get up at sunrise and tour a few hours, spend the heat of the day at leisure, and go back out to tour late afternoon.
2) You must stay four nights. This was a tad longer than I would want to spend there (1 night too many).
3) The language is Khmer, you can learn how to say some simple greetings on line.
4) This is a severely scarred and poor country, only 30 years or so removed from the reign of the horrific Pol Pot. It can feel a little unseemly to indulge in the ultimate luxuries in such a context. Do consider volunteering or at least donating funds to places like ThePLF.org, which is working to educate children (Pol Pot executed an estimated 80% of educators in his effort to remake the country as an agrarian society).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 6ContinentsNCounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

Amansara was once a guesthouse belonging to King Sihanouk. Today's visitors are treated equally royally. No praise can be too great for this brilliant boutique hotel. Our suite was elegant perfection, with a private pool and terrace. The cuisine is excellent, whether you choose European or Khmer, and every evening a senior member of staff comes to your table, welcoming you and engaging in discussion of whatever you want to discuss. The range of activities in our three-night visit included private rides and guided tours to Angkhor Thom and Anghor Wat, lectures and music in the hotel, and a constantly available tuk-tuk for visits to shops and lunchtime restaurants - for dinner we ate in, as we wanted to wake early for our pre-dawn departures to the ancient monuments. Words cannot truly describe the extraordinarily high standards of welcome, service and ambiance at Amansara. These standards aren't achieved without a great deal of vision and management commitment. It's expensive, for sure, but (if you are lucky enough to be able to afford it) it's worth every penny.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Horace4590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We've been in Indo china a few days and have had a great experience everywhere but Amansara is on a different planet. We have always been loyal to Four Seasons but Amansara beats even Four Seasons Bali (just!) The property is amazing but as with all great hotels it's the friendliness and attention to detail of the staff that sets it apart.

Room Tip: The pool suites are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick71959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Another fantastic Aman experience, thanks to Sally and her energetic, helpful and friendly team at Amansara. The hotel is perfectly located for temple expeditions as well as city restaurants, bars and shopping. The cuisine is a fantastic combination of local Khmer and western. And the spa and staff are second to none. For families traveling with kids, the Christmas/New Year week is the perfect time to visit, as most of the guests are families with young kids. For those in search of tranquility, consider visiting at a different time of the year.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DilagentDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

After my very poor Amanpuri experience, i was very glad to be back to real Aman standards with my Amansara trip.
Everithing here works perfect, allowing you to enjoy the magnificent Ankor at its best; super attentive and polite service, flowless organization (very well organized and timed escursions, convinient airport pick up, etc.), good food and baeutifull place.
Design wise not the most striking place, but still very very nice.
Pool rooms very private with outside space perfect for relaxing between escursions.
Would definitly go back

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supersayan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

This place is amazing! From the service side to the rooms to the staff, just the best experience i've ever had.
It is the perfect place to go visit one of the most beautiful city in the world.
Amansara offer a professional and efficient service. Concerning the dining room that we have been after sundrying on the pool, it great and beautiful place with an indoor swimming pool.The room are spacious and comfortable. A truly 6 - 7 stars experience from the excellent staff through to the comfortable stylish bedrooms, you will not be dissapointed if you stay here but it just only small thing that could be improved i was talking to the lady in dining room she working hart then the other what i saw, i just asking afew minute for waiting my food how long she working for amansara because i like my stay in this resort, and < she said she not the permanent staff in here just only for casual without service charge and holiday just only one day off per week> it make me wonder a lot why in the 6 star hotel provide this policy in it not fairly at all to them. i would comment to the general Manager Ms. Sally they like your hotel and they try very best service for the hotel at less 5 % or more service charge for them each month even you take them for only your busy season if i compared to the room charge $1000 per / night , it feel sad when i hear like that unbelievable. i will return back again next year and i hope it will be better information about your hotel. I love my stay there and would comment this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pual a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#39 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#19 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#26 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#53 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amansara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amansara

Property: Amansara
Address: | Road to Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#16 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#29 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#57 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amansara 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amansara, the former guesthouse of King Sihanouk, is situated on the edge of Siem Reap just 10 minutes from the entrance to the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage Site. Set in a garden compound, the 24-suite luxury Angkor Wat resort has the ambience of a private home and is the ideal base for travellers seeking to explore Khmer culture and the ruins of Angkor. A variety of Cambodia temple excursions and cultural walks is available as part of the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Amansara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amansara Siem Reap
Amansara Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing