We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely first class all around”
Review of Amansara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amansara
Ranked #102 of 357 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Silicon Valley
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely first class all around”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I bridged two business meetings between Singapore and Vietnam to stay at Amansara at the advice of a fellow traveler last weekend. Airport pick up, rooms, food, service, tours were abosultely first class and amazing. We were initially reluctant to get up at 4:30am for the tours to the nearby sites but visiting them without anyone else around was a special treat and highly recommended. We missed the fitness center initially but the trecking at the sites made up for it. If you want to buy quality gifts for good price, the hotel gift shop is highly competitive in price. Nothing to complain about really.

Room Tip: we were upgraded to a room with private pool (thanks to American Express fine hotels booking) and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athertoncalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    25
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
75
184
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Pick up at the airport was very special experience, the old mercedes limo of the king (with new engine btw) and 2 drivers dressed in white uniforms.

The hotel organised daily private temple visits, each day with a different and special vehicle. The visits are organised in such a manner that we had the feeling that we where the only ones at the temples, we had a sunrise at angkor wat and we had temple completly for our own as the guide showed a secret entrance. As soon as the sun was set, there came the crowd (looked like disneyland in the morning:-), but we had our picture from the temple without any tourist, very exclusive experience.

The staff did an enormous effort to keep our room bug free, they even installed a special mosquito net, etc. We left the hotel without any bite ! Just need to ask them upfront if you are worried.

The hotel is well organised, supper clean and the most important part are the staff who know and greet you by name and take care of you as family, this was our first experience and feels very warm.

The manager of the hotel is around, all days, and is looking gor feedback, guess if you are not happy that you should just tell them. In our case we where 100% .

The quality of food was very good however the cambodian food was not our taste, but this is not the fault of the hotel and rather a personal taste.

I can recommend this hotel to everyone who is looking for an individual and special experience.

Big thank you to the amansara family for this great moment !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Having stayed at many Aman hotels, this is one of the most amazing due to its location. The aman provides support in the form of great food, a great spa, great tranport and great info about Angkor wat. We got a special tour of a conservation studio which was so enlightening. The aman has never failed me, and my standards are high! Miss the gift shop though as I spent far too much money...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Wow. From the airport pick-up service, through speeding you through immigration, and all along the way, the Amansara does not skip a beat. An impressive Mercedes Limousine with rich history whisks you away into another realty, both past and current. Cold towels lightly scented with lemongrass or lavender help take the heat of the day away on your daily excursions. Remorks (moped-powered trishaws) take you through the city of Siem Reap deep into the Angkor temples. Our guide, Sophea (I hope I spelled his name right) was amazing. Not only did he teach us about these ancient temples, but also taught us about Cambodian culture. I can't begin to describe how profound this experience was, you just have to come for yourself and see! It's worth every penny.

The Spa was tranquil and serene. The therapists were well-trained. The foot massage was heavenly.

The history of this facility should not be overlooked. A small book is available for purchase in the gift shop and available to read in your room. The rooms are all Aman. Full blackout is possible at night with sliding doors and shades. Typical music plays at night, baths drawn, and linens changed regularly. It's all very well-orchestrated. Despite being full, we were always remembered and greeted by name throughout our stay and the dining room never felt "too full" of people. The food menus were thoughtful and provided a selection for both Eastern and Western tastes. Dining entertainment was provided by locals, as part of the immersion experience. My room had its own completely private pool, which was great for a refreshing dip after morning and before afternoon excursions.

All in all, we only stayed here for 3 nights, which was sufficient to survey some of the "not to miss" sights. But, a longer stay would provide a more in-depth study of the Angkor area. The staff at this facility can be described and summarized as utterly gracious, thoughtful, and ready to provide an experience for you that you will not soon forget.

Room Tip: The pool suites are worth the extra dime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JToddWheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

GM Sally Baughen has an uncanny knack of gathering together the right sort of people and then working with them to create the absolute very best family which makes up the team that delivers what they preach.

Amansara is a top of the range boutique tourist resort where you quickly feel that you have belonged there for so long that everyone within the surprisingly quiet shelter of those beautifully crafted stone walls has been a part of your close family from day one.

An ill considered first impression might suggest that Amansara is a walled city. But you soon learn to love those walls because they create such a natural but effective barrier to the otherwise constant traffic noise of the main street.

Considering you are just a USD $1.00 tuk-tuk ride ( walking distance really ) to the absolute heart of the city you couldn't wish to be at a better location.

The food is top rate, the service is second to none, the historic accommodation is superb.

But above all the team who deliver the service do so with such pride in their work and with such attention to detail that they can match themselves with the best in the world.

Our lasting impression? The genuine warmth of the smiles on their beautiful faces.

Room Tip: Just ask the Amansara team!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

You are not paying for a fancy hotel. You are paying for a magical experience from amazing staff that want nothing more than to share their culture with you. The staff arranged for three days of amazing activities with a wonderful guide that showcased what makes Cambodia a special place. The food is wonderful and the grounds are peaceful. The property itself has its own fascinating history. Everything I needed was anticipated ahead of time and everything I wanted was there for the asking. This is the 5th Aman property I have stayed at and definitely ranks among the top.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank zedulon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Large compound with 24 rooms, 2 large and refreshing pools, rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable, great outdoor patio area and relaxing shower that looks onto it, amazing service and friendliness of staff and manager, wonderful activity options, located near all the beautiful temples of Angkor, nightly entertaining events, everything is included like drinks and food, perfect time to go is in the low season (June-August) because its emptier and, in turn, a more tranquil atmosphere, and weather really isn't that bad, some rain but it doesn't inhibit your experience to a large degree.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank critquaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
0.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#48 of 357 in Siem Reap
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#29 of 357 in Siem Reap
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#40 of 357 in Siem Reap
1,322 reviews
0.3 mi away
J7 Hotel
J7 Hotel
#37 of 357 in Siem Reap
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amansara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amansara

Property: Amansara
Address: | Road to Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#16 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#29 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#73 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amansara 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amansara, the former guesthouse of King Sihanouk, is situated on the edge of Siem Reap just 10 minutes from the entrance to the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage Site. Set in a garden compound, the 24-suite luxury Angkor Wat resort has the ambience of a private home and is the ideal base for travellers seeking to explore Khmer culture and the ruins of Angkor. A variety of Cambodia temple excursions and cultural walks is available as part of the guest experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amansara Siem Reap
Amansara Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing