We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel in Siem Reap”
Review of Amansara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amansara
Ranked #93 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Jewel in Siem Reap”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Like all Aman hotels, Amansara is top notch, peaceful and truly makes a guest feel utterly comfortable, restful and happy. The Suites and the Pool Suites are large and spacious, with comfortable King size beds. The bathroom is lovely, with a glass wall that looks onto the walled compound of a small pond and verandah area. It is in fact a perfect place for a cozy honeymoon or even a solo visit. You literally get everything you need with the staff being very meticulous and caring. For example, I had a cold and cough and the service staff was kind enough to fetch me Vitamin Cs on request and even provided me hot water to drink whenever I dined. Therefore their attention to detail far surpasses any other hotel and I have to commend them for their hard work.

Also the food is delicious! I had “Bor-bor” at Amansara for breakfast (it is a Cambodian broth cooked with prawns or chicken) and this was sublime! Other food was wonderful too, like their strawberry ice cream made out of fresh strawberries, their chocolate milk shakes and the macaroons they had stocked in the dining room jars for guests to snack on whenever they wanted.
However the most brilliant aspect of Amansara is the tailor made excursions in Siem Reap. If you pre plan the itinerary prior to arrival with the reservations team (either the central or resort based), they will make sure that you spend your stay wisely and enjoyably. The outings too start extremely early in the morning (around 05:30 AM), hence you have to make sure that you pre order breakfast (preferably something light like a croissant with coffee/tea). This will enable you to last for two hours or so, and then you can return at approximately 10:30 AM back to the resort (after the first outing of the day ends) and in turn dig into a much larger and filling breakfast. Alternatively, you can wait an hour or two to have a hearty early lunch too (depends on how hungry you are!)

All in all, my advice to all travelers to Amansara is that you could not have chosen a better place to stay actually. It will satisfy and exceed all your expectations, especially providing that you plan it carefully well before advance and to spice up your stay a bit, try to visit the sister property Amantaka in Laos as well. In fact, I recommend that you stay at Amantaka, Laos first and then visit Amansara second if you take the “Indo China Past & Present” offer.

Room Tip: There isn't a huge difference between the Pool Suite and the Suite rooms actually. I recommend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spiritlandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    24
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
71
183
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Of all Amans so far, Amansara exuded the comfort of family, and deep connection to the local culture and the astounding legacy of Angkor. 3 days dissolved into a feeling of forever: nothing was overlooked, everything was done with such warm graciousness, no request was too big nor too small, and all the staff seemed so genuinely pleased to be working there.
Hotel Highlights: being whisked through customs to be met by the vintage Mercedes, coming back to the room at long day's end to a filled tub in which floated lotus flowers; your personalised log book for excursions with scholarly notes; Molly's vibrant cuisine; the perfect mini bar set up that included candles and incense and divine cookies; the luscious long black pool; the energy of ancient trees that encircle this intimate gem; being ferried around the sites and the town in charming remorks (moped-powered trishaws).
Experience Highlights: pre dawn being taken to a small temple inside Angkor to chant with the monks and emerge to a glistening sunrise the day before the full moon; such wonderful interactive, expert guides who could speak on so many subjects and seemed to also know the hidden byways and least visited temples of Angkor Thom where you could be alone amongst the ruins; breakfast at their delightful village house overlooking the ancient bathing lake (the best ever, delicate, herbaceously fragrant green curry with fresh rice noodles); a very very special fire meditation at the North West gate of Angkor Wat; the dreamy sunset cruise on their gorgeous boat on Tonle Sap drifting past exuberant water-bound village life.
Life Transformative Experiences: the Spa hosts 2 remarkable people with very special souls and talents (and certainly unlike the sort you expect to find in hotel spas that focus only on pampering): Vijaya, not only a gifted yoga teacher and craniosacral therapist but profoundly adept at other healing modalities and Stephen Jeanes, whose seemingly mysterious methods of healing works miracles. Blessed to have a session with each, I was renewed so completely within and to my self I left filled with light, and an enduring lightness and clarity that has set me in new directions.
All in all a most special abode in a most special place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariekesAoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

October 4 to 9th 2013.
We spent 5 nights in a pool villa and had a magnificent stay. The resort is very peaceful, exceptionally clean and tidy. The staff from management down all were there to make sure your stay is wonderful. The meals, breakfast to dinner were excellent, incorporating a mix of local and European/Mediterranean dishes. The tours that were included were to the temples, a personalized program directed by well informed polite local guides that went out of their way to make sure you saw what interest you. We had the same guide for the five days which added to the stay. The two extra tours we did are a must. First was a trip to the local floating village in the late afternoon which included sunset, champers and nibbles, and we did a private cooking course at a traditional Khmer house.
On our own we wondered through the museum and the town, taking in the local market which we loved, seeing the fresh veggies, fruit, fish and meat being traded. Such an atmosphere and buzz and observing local life.
If you are planning to visit Siem Reap Angkor Wat we highly recommend staying at the Amansara, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Therese S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

If you want comfort, service, amazing food and great guided tours to the Temples of Angkor. This is the place to come. The rooms are spacious, specially the one with private pool(is worth the extra). The food either Western or Khemer is great. The house wine was a Chilean red carmener of great quality. The chef Molly is a great chef that takes care of detail. The service of the guided tours are very good. You can go to areas that no one has access. The f&b manager Audrey was always attentive to the clients and had always a good suggestion.

The 1965 Mercedes Limo is a charm and a must for transfers from the airport.

The hotel is very well run and detail is at the top of their agenda. The candles around the pool, the candles on the tables on the corridor reflecting the lotus flower. Very nice spa but need more massages and less raps. Spent 6 fantastic nights.

Room Tip: Rooms with the private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monaco98000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

You invest lots of money to visit Siem Reap to see the Angkor temples. Do you squander the investment by failing to invest in the best possible tour experience? Amansara is not a hotel. It is your luxury home away from home with staff who completely understand how to maximise your experience. It is calm and delightful.

But it is the organisation of your tour experience that excels. Early wake up call followed by a light breakfast in your room and you hit the road in a jeep or people mover or tuktuk, depending on the ideal form of travel. Your guide speaks good English, is passionate about Angkor temples and knows what you want to know. He takes you to temples by the back door to avoid the crowds and whisks you away just as the hordes of tourists are arriving.

Back at Amansara it is another much longer breakfast or lunch of excellent food beautifully catered. Then the pool or just lazing around in preparation for the afternoon expedition.

At night there is an exclusive Cambodian dance group in the library or you are taken to the circus and the best seats. There are so many options.

I wanted to charter a helicopter for an aerial perspective and it just happened with no fuss. The staff even suggested that another guest may want to share the experience and the investment.

When we were due to leave our room at 4pm to go to the airport after 3 nights, I opened the door and there were 5 staff waiting to take our bags. All the staff farewelled us and we were made to feel special.

This is the only way to see Angkor and we look forward to more Aman experiences in other locations as we negotiate our retirement. Well done all at Amansara

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Hedonist_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I bridged two business meetings between Singapore and Vietnam to stay at Amansara at the advice of a fellow traveler last weekend. Airport pick up, rooms, food, service, tours were abosultely first class and amazing. We were initially reluctant to get up at 4:30am for the tours to the nearby sites but visiting them without anyone else around was a special treat and highly recommended. We missed the fitness center initially but the trecking at the sites made up for it. If you want to buy quality gifts for good price, the hotel gift shop is highly competitive in price. Nothing to complain about really.

Room Tip: we were upgraded to a room with private pool (thanks to American Express fine hotels booking) and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athertoncalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Pick up at the airport was very special experience, the old mercedes limo of the king (with new engine btw) and 2 drivers dressed in white uniforms.

The hotel organised daily private temple visits, each day with a different and special vehicle. The visits are organised in such a manner that we had the feeling that we where the only ones at the temples, we had a sunrise at angkor wat and we had temple completly for our own as the guide showed a secret entrance. As soon as the sun was set, there came the crowd (looked like disneyland in the morning:-), but we had our picture from the temple without any tourist, very exclusive experience.

The staff did an enormous effort to keep our room bug free, they even installed a special mosquito net, etc. We left the hotel without any bite ! Just need to ask them upfront if you are worried.

The hotel is well organised, supper clean and the most important part are the staff who know and greet you by name and take care of you as family, this was our first experience and feels very warm.

The manager of the hotel is around, all days, and is looking gor feedback, guess if you are not happy that you should just tell them. In our case we where 100% .

The quality of food was very good however the cambodian food was not our taste, but this is not the fault of the hotel and rather a personal taste.

I can recommend this hotel to everyone who is looking for an individual and special experience.

Big thank you to the amansara family for this great moment !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#46 of 342 in Siem Reap
1,255 reviews
2.0 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#27 of 342 in Siem Reap
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.3 mi away
J7 Hotel
J7 Hotel
#55 of 342 in Siem Reap
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amansara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amansara

Property: Amansara
Address: | Road to Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#16 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#29 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#67 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amansara 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amansara, the former guesthouse of King Sihanouk, is situated on the edge of Siem Reap just 10 minutes from the entrance to the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage Site. Set in a garden compound, the 24-suite luxury Angkor Wat resort has the ambience of a private home and is the ideal base for travellers seeking to explore Khmer culture and the ruins of Angkor. A variety of Cambodia temple excursions and cultural walks is available as part of the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amansara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amansara Siem Reap
Amansara Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing