We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amansara...there is no other choice!”
Review of Amansara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amansara
Ranked #93 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Mississippi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amansara...there is no other choice!”
Reviewed 13 August 2008

I cannot think of ONE thing that Amansara could possiblly do that could make it any better! It is perfection! Amansara is a very discreet hotel...there is not even a sign. Though the hotel was almost full, it never felt like it. Our room....(they have thought of everything and even more)....was sublime! The dining room was beautiful. The food was topnotch....as was the wait staff. We loved the atmpsphere, as well as our treatments, at the spa. Our private tours of the area were wonderful! We loved our guide. He was very knowledgeable and passionate about the area. The general manager was very personable, friendly, professional and helpful. The pools are stunning! Amansara is commited to the success of the Cambodian people and culture. Entertainment is provided at night by native performing artists. We loved the rich history of Amansara...it was once the palace of the king. We felt like the entire staff...from management all the way down to the grounds keepers want each guest to have the best possible experience. They suceeded!

Helpful?
3 Thank WanderingMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    24
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
71
183
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

This was my first stay at an Aman resort, and I now realize that these resorts are really for those who crave (demand) privacy, exclusivity, and personalized service that you just can't get at hotels more than 20-30 rooms in size. And this is also why a $300 room ends up costing $700. Whether this is worth it depends on what type of experience you are after.

Overall, I enjoyed the feeling that I owned the place, with few other guests in sight. But this also makes the hotel very quiet and dull around the clock. But again, if you want the private villa type experience you are in the right place.

PROS
- You always feel like you are in a very exclusive and private resort
- All the staff know your name and room number and the GM personally will personally greet you upon check-in
- Nice room (but nothing fantastic)
- Excellent tour guides and programs for temples
- Like other Aman resorts, just a beautiful and manicured resort that is always a pleasure to look at wherever you are
- Picked up at the airport in 1962 Mercedes (classy car with history)
- Food/drinks are basically included and you never see a bill
- Good stereo in the room
- Always accommodated every request we made

CONS
- No TV in the rooms or any gym in the resort (typical of Aman resorts)
- Picked up at the airport in 1962 Mercedes (slow and bumpy ride with uncomfortable seats)
- Set meal plan with no a la carte dining and only one dining venue (though a beautiful room it is)
- Very hard/firm mattress and pillows that weren't that great
- Limited wine list, though a few house wines are included free with the set meals
- Always had a nagging feeling that $1,000/night (incl meals/taxes) was a bit much to pay for this, good as it was

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank AgodaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2008

We just spent a fabulous 2 nights at this property...

I have worked in the Travel Industry for the past 14 years and am lucky enough to have experienced many high end properties. I can truly say that this is the best I have ever stayed at. Everything from check in to check out was absolutely flawless. The rooms were stunning...extremely private and discreet, the food and service was exceptional, and most importantly of all, the staff were so helpful and genuine and always went above and beyond...there was no such word as no.

We were so sad to check out but thank you so much to Siddharth and his wonderful team for everything. We'll never forget the Amansara!

AW-KUN!

Nick and Tash, Auckland, NZ

  • Liked — Where to start...the room, food, service, discretion, atmosphere...
  • Disliked — Seriously not a single thing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NSKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2008

We loved the Amansara. We were met at the lovely airport in Siem Reap in an antique Mercedes and driven to the hotel in the dark. We were checked into our rooms and had sandwiches and tea waiting for us. We stayed 3 nights and had immaculate service. The staff are very attentive and completely professional. The relaxed environment with the half board package is great. Drinks are included and so are breakfast and dinner. The local Khmer food was a great option.

The tours to Ankgor Wat were very well set up including a pre-dawn arrival at the most important temple site.

We saw the manager every day and although this is a small boutique hotel it is clear he runs a very tight ship and does not allow much to be out of place. One of our best Aman stays ever.

  • Liked — Quality of service
  • Disliked — slightly cramped site
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Pieterkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2008

Quite simply, the Amansara has got to be the best hotel in Siem Reap if you prefer small boutique hotels (only 24 rooms) offering discrete, friendly and personalised service. It is not a hotel for those who like "bling." In other words, it is more Armani than Versace. It is a calm oasis in the midst of a busy tourist town.

It is without doubt the most expensive hotel in Siem Reap but it compensates with the best tour guides included in the price. The guides will ensure that you experience the ruins of Angkor without the normal hordes of tourists.

We do not believe the criticism of poor value is warranted. Together with their private tour guides and drivers, the hotel staff ensured that our experience of the Angkor ruins exceeded everything that we had expected.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank kogatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2008

Our arrival from Bangkok was marred by the absolutely ridiculous process of getting a visa at the airport. Our aircraft arrived at the same time as two others and there was total chaos. No one to give instructions, several lines for different parts of the process and tour guides pushing individual travellers out of the way to get their groups through. It took nearly two hours in an unairconditioned facility -- get your visa before you go. The driver and host from Amansara were waiting patiently as we emerged and immediately handed us cold towels and water and placed us gently into a supercooled car. And it got better from there.

The temples are fascinating but it is hot, humid and there are a lot steps at every temple. The town is growing rapidly and is full of construction, general rubble, rubbish and dust. Accordingly, the cool, quiet, roomy and almost spare surroundings of Amansara are a refuge. We found the service to be gentle and caring in a faciltiy that was immaculate. We elected to eat Khmer food in the dining room and found it delicous and surprisingly nonspicy. The chef who is Indian has a deft touch with all the dishes.

The GM was much in evidence looking for issues or ways to improve one's stay.We tipped our remork driver and guide separately as they are not hotel employees and simply added a percentage to our bill for the general staff (the GM indicated all tips are shared).

We departed after three days for the aiport in a grand old 1960's mercedes somewhat reluctant to leave this soothing place.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippinbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2008

Our trip to Siem Reap was at the end of a three week holiday to Vietnam and Cambodia and inevitably towards the end of any holiday of that length or more where you have been active sightseers you may begin to get slightly weary. Angkor Wat was one of my expected highlights of the trip, however, and I was therefore trying my best to keep myself motivated. All I longed for was a nice relaxing hotel and quite frankly to be downright lazy for the three days we had in Siem Reap other then when we were out visiting temples.

Thankfully, we got all this and more from our stay at the Amansara. The hotel is hidden away behind the main road, and you wouldn't even know it was there if you drove past. The moment you pass through the gate you begin to relax. As soon as you arrive your luggage is whisked to your room and you are given a tour of the hotel, which given the number of rooms is small, initimate and beautifully laid out and appointed so doesn't take very long. Check-in takes place in your room when you are also provided with the itinerary the hotel has suggested for your temple trips over the length of your stay. Obviously, if you want to do more/less or organise trips yourself it is entirely up to you as you have an assigned driver for the length of your stay.

Rooms are well appointed, and as you would expect from this level of property. As one person has pointed out, the toilet and shower are in the same room with no separating door, although the toilet is hidden discretely behind a wall. This never bothered us, but obviously everyone has their personal preferences. You also have your own private courtyard, which to be perfectly honest we never used as we were either out on trips, sleeping or around the main pool. One further thing to point out in respect of the rooms is how hard the staff work, they are serviced at least three times a day (unless you hang the do not disturb up to get some sleep!) and are therefore kept immaculately.

The room rate as well as including a driver and guide for your temple trips includes breakfast and also one of either lunch or dinner. The menu changes daily and there is always a choice of 'home' food or khmer food, however, if you aren't happy with the choice then you can discuss with the chef and they will try their best to accommodate any requests. All the food we had there was fantastic and we had no complaints at all. As well as this half board you also get inclusive house wines and selected spirits, inclusive cakes/cookies all day, an inclusive minibar in your room and also inclusive cheese and bread.

These things may all sound small and relatively simple but when you have been up early to tour temples and are already jaded not having to worry about working out the cost of drinks/dinner, etc. at any time of the day just makes it even more relaxing.

One previous reviewer has complained about the tipping situation, I would have to say we never found this a problem at all. You are able to add one gratuity for all hotel staff on your bill as you leave (so no reaching in your pocket the whole time you are there) with the exception of the driver/guide who you can tip again on the last trip you have with them.

While we were there we were also lucky enough to be able to view the shadow puppet show put on by the hotel for which we had to pay a very small amount.

Yes, the hotel is expensive but I can honestly say I never had an issue with feeling I was not receiving what I had paid for. Having never been to an Aman resort before I have no direct comparison with their other properties. However, in comparison with the other hotels I have visited (and reviewed on this site) I would say this was up their with one of the best and certainly provided everything I wanted and more from my stay.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank RobM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#46 of 342 in Siem Reap
1,255 reviews
2.0 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#27 of 342 in Siem Reap
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.3 mi away
J7 Hotel
J7 Hotel
#55 of 342 in Siem Reap
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amansara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amansara

Property: Amansara
Address: | Road to Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#16 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#29 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#67 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amansara 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amansara, the former guesthouse of King Sihanouk, is situated on the edge of Siem Reap just 10 minutes from the entrance to the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage Site. Set in a garden compound, the 24-suite luxury Angkor Wat resort has the ambience of a private home and is the ideal base for travellers seeking to explore Khmer culture and the ruins of Angkor. A variety of Cambodia temple excursions and cultural walks is available as part of the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amansara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amansara Siem Reap
Amansara Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing