We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amansara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amansara
Ranked #82 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect in every detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Our stay in the amansara was a dream: the architecture of the former king's palace, the old mercedes from 1965, the wonderful khmer food, the tour guides, the details everywhere. Of course the resort has its price, but it is very well worth every bit of it! In combination with the hidden temples it's one of earth's greatest spots.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Snugnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    24
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
71
181
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at several Aman Resorts in Asia, it came as no surprise that Amansara met similar high standards. The staff were expert and accommodating. The manager (Sally) was welcoming and helpful with making suggestions for adding local color to our trip.
The facility fit in well with beauty and majesty of Siam Reap.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Alassio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed 6 nights in the beginning of October in a Pool Suite. Many people had warned me in advance that this might be too long, but I did not at all think so. We could easily have stayed longer as it was a great resort with so many things to explore nearby.

Pre arrival and arrival
The Amansara team was wonderful in helping us planning our stay through several email before our arrival. Given that we really wanted holidays and relaxation as well as sightseeing, we thought it was very important to find the right balance between seeing the main sights and having plenty of time on our own to enjoy the resor. Because of this, we limited ourselves to one outing per day, mostly in the morning focusing on seeing the main temples relatively quickly, sometimes combining two outings into one. This worked really well for us, see below when I talk about activities in more detail.

We were met at the airport by a representative from Amansara as soon as we entered the airport building and were helped with visa application etc. Outside the old Mercedes was waiting for us and after a 20 minutes drive, passing the main entrance to Angkor Wat, we arrived at Amansara. A number of senior management were there to welcome us and we were taken to our suite where one of the front staff employees gave us information about the resort, our programme (as for Amansara, there was a nice booklet prepared) and everything else. Drinks and freshly made spring rolls were brought to us in the room. A perfect start.

Accommodation
I must admit that we - at first - were a bit disappointed about our suite. It is quite a lot smaller than other Aman suites, and the open solution, extra bed and all our luggage made us wish that there had been an option for a larger category accommodation. However, the walled garden with private pool outside was larger than we had thought by seeing pictures, and we soon found out that we would have a very comfortable stay in spite of the first little disappointment.

Bed was very comfortable (mattress topper!), our son's bed was next to ours, the shower had fantastic pressure, the bath tub (always filled after we returned to the room in the afternoon), the most wonderful smelling incense, candles, fresh fruit every day etc. We loved it.

Service
As at Amantaka service was very good, warm, personal and friendly. The GM Sally was away during our first days, but someone else from senior management would always make sure to see us during dinnertime to make sure that everything was according to our wishes. The front desk team was really very efficient, always aware of our programme, making sure we got our wake up call when needed, bringing the early morning breakfast before outings, making changes when needed with no problem etc. When Sally came back, she made sure to give us a special greeting and were always around to think about and suggest things to make our stay even better.

Housekeeping was brilliant. They were in our room (at least) three times a day: During our morning outing or breakfast, some time in the afternoon and during dinner: Lighting candles, bringing flowers, making up the beds, running baths, leaving wonderful presents at our beds every night etc.

Food
All meals are served in the main restaurant, outside or in our suite. We preferred to eat breakfast and dinner in the restaurant inside as there were some mosquitos around especially at night as it was rainy season. The wonderful roof terrace was unfortunately closed, again because of the season.

There are are fixed menus with plenty of choices for breakfast and lunch, and a new dinner menu every night where one can choose between Khmer or international food. The Khmer food was very good, especially the curries and we also enjoyed the international menus.

The cakes and cookies at tea time were to die for and new ones every day.

We had one special dinner which was the food highlight of our trip. It was a Khmer BBQ, prepared in the kitchen, served in the main restaurant. Our table was decorated very nicely and the food was just exceptionally good.

Roomservice was very quick and good. Nothing to complain about.

Spa
I had one massage in the lovely spa and actually regret now that I did not try more treatments as this massage was one of the best ever.

The main pool was really lovely and we spent some time there as a variation from our own private pool.

Activities
The highlight of our stay!

As mentioned, we had limited ourselves to one outing per day which worked really well. We were assigned one guide for the complete stay, which was great as we got to know each other well meaning that the outings could be even better tailor made to our needs. Our guide was very knowledgeable, spoke really well English and - most importantly for us - was very flexible in terms of tailor making the trips to us and especially our son.

On our first day, we went to see Bayon and one of the less visited temples in the jungle. Beautiful lush and green temples, water in front meaning beautiful mirror pictures and a route avoiding the hordes of tourists. After seeing the two temples, we chose a longer drive back home, through the country side, passing floated fields, cows, children fishing, local markets, little village houses, the less touristy part of the town - seeing everything from the open remok was just great. As being in the middle of everything able to see, smell and hear, but still in our own private area.
In the afternoon we went to the old market on our own. An Amansara remok with driver would take us there and wait for us while we did our shopping/looking around and then take us back later.

On the 2nd day we had the extremely early morning call to go and see Angkor Wat before and during sunrise. Using the back entrance our guide was able to get us inside the temple while everyone else were still waiting outside. A very special experience.

After seeing Angkor wat, we went to the temple in the jungle (definitely the highlight for us) and then on to Amansaras Khmer house to have a traditional noodle breakfast. Lovely!

Next day we had the morning off and left Amansara around noon to go to Tonle Sap for the cruise at Amansaras fantastic boat.This was the very best outing: A fantastic boat with a lovely picnic lunch, lots of floating vilages to see. A must - even if you have to pay extra for this trip.

On day 4 we drove 45 minutes to come to the temple of women. Again beautiful and different from the others, so well worth the visit. On the way back we decided to stop at the small informative Landmine museum which we found very interesting as well

On our last full day, our son had a private cooking class at the Khmer house (again extra charge for this). We all went to the morning market to shop ingredients together with an Amansara chef, and while me and my husband went shopping in the city and thereafter relaxed in the sun at Amansara, our son went with Amansara personnel to prepare a full lunch for all of us. My husband and I went to the Khmer house at lunchtime and truly enjoyed the tasty food prepared by our own small chef. Having had the lunch, we went on to a school to which we had donated money before leaving on holidays. The school was built as a cooperation between a local tour guide and an American family. We were met by the tour guide and a volunteer telling us the story and answering questions before we were able to hand out school material to pupils that had been bought using some of our donation. A very memorable way to end our holidays - giving something back to such a wonderful people.

Others
Beginning of October is actually the worst possible time to go to Siem Reap weather wise if looking at he averages. For some reason we were, however, extremely lucky. We had some rain upon arrival and during a small trip to the town one afternoon, plus heaving showers at night, but during the day it was really lovely with blue sky and sunshine.

Conclusion
A very wonderful stay in a beautiful resort with the most memorable excursions ever. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Musken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Like all Aman hotels, Amansara is top notch, peaceful and truly makes a guest feel utterly comfortable, restful and happy. The Suites and the Pool Suites are large and spacious, with comfortable King size beds. The bathroom is lovely, with a glass wall that looks onto the walled compound of a small pond and verandah area. It is in fact a perfect place for a cozy honeymoon or even a solo visit. You literally get everything you need with the staff being very meticulous and caring. For example, I had a cold and cough and the service staff was kind enough to fetch me Vitamin Cs on request and even provided me hot water to drink whenever I dined. Therefore their attention to detail far surpasses any other hotel and I have to commend them for their hard work.

Also the food is delicious! I had “Bor-bor” at Amansara for breakfast (it is a Cambodian broth cooked with prawns or chicken) and this was sublime! Other food was wonderful too, like their strawberry ice cream made out of fresh strawberries, their chocolate milk shakes and the macaroons they had stocked in the dining room jars for guests to snack on whenever they wanted.
However the most brilliant aspect of Amansara is the tailor made excursions in Siem Reap. If you pre plan the itinerary prior to arrival with the reservations team (either the central or resort based), they will make sure that you spend your stay wisely and enjoyably. The outings too start extremely early in the morning (around 05:30 AM), hence you have to make sure that you pre order breakfast (preferably something light like a croissant with coffee/tea). This will enable you to last for two hours or so, and then you can return at approximately 10:30 AM back to the resort (after the first outing of the day ends) and in turn dig into a much larger and filling breakfast. Alternatively, you can wait an hour or two to have a hearty early lunch too (depends on how hungry you are!)

All in all, my advice to all travelers to Amansara is that you could not have chosen a better place to stay actually. It will satisfy and exceed all your expectations, especially providing that you plan it carefully well before advance and to spice up your stay a bit, try to visit the sister property Amantaka in Laos as well. In fact, I recommend that you stay at Amantaka, Laos first and then visit Amansara second if you take the “Indo China Past & Present” offer.

Room Tip: There isn't a huge difference between the Pool Suite and the Suite rooms actually. I recommend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spiritlandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Of all Amans so far, Amansara exuded the comfort of family, and deep connection to the local culture and the astounding legacy of Angkor. 3 days dissolved into a feeling of forever: nothing was overlooked, everything was done with such warm graciousness, no request was too big nor too small, and all the staff seemed so genuinely pleased to be working there.
Hotel Highlights: being whisked through customs to be met by the vintage Mercedes, coming back to the room at long day's end to a filled tub in which floated lotus flowers; your personalised log book for excursions with scholarly notes; Molly's vibrant cuisine; the perfect mini bar set up that included candles and incense and divine cookies; the luscious long black pool; the energy of ancient trees that encircle this intimate gem; being ferried around the sites and the town in charming remorks (moped-powered trishaws).
Experience Highlights: pre dawn being taken to a small temple inside Angkor to chant with the monks and emerge to a glistening sunrise the day before the full moon; such wonderful interactive, expert guides who could speak on so many subjects and seemed to also know the hidden byways and least visited temples of Angkor Thom where you could be alone amongst the ruins; breakfast at their delightful village house overlooking the ancient bathing lake (the best ever, delicate, herbaceously fragrant green curry with fresh rice noodles); a very very special fire meditation at the North West gate of Angkor Wat; the dreamy sunset cruise on their gorgeous boat on Tonle Sap drifting past exuberant water-bound village life.
Life Transformative Experiences: the Spa hosts 2 remarkable people with very special souls and talents (and certainly unlike the sort you expect to find in hotel spas that focus only on pampering): Vijaya, not only a gifted yoga teacher and craniosacral therapist but profoundly adept at other healing modalities and Stephen Jeanes, whose seemingly mysterious methods of healing works miracles. Blessed to have a session with each, I was renewed so completely within and to my self I left filled with light, and an enduring lightness and clarity that has set me in new directions.
All in all a most special abode in a most special place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariekesAoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

October 4 to 9th 2013.
We spent 5 nights in a pool villa and had a magnificent stay. The resort is very peaceful, exceptionally clean and tidy. The staff from management down all were there to make sure your stay is wonderful. The meals, breakfast to dinner were excellent, incorporating a mix of local and European/Mediterranean dishes. The tours that were included were to the temples, a personalized program directed by well informed polite local guides that went out of their way to make sure you saw what interest you. We had the same guide for the five days which added to the stay. The two extra tours we did are a must. First was a trip to the local floating village in the late afternoon which included sunset, champers and nibbles, and we did a private cooking course at a traditional Khmer house.
On our own we wondered through the museum and the town, taking in the local market which we loved, seeing the fresh veggies, fruit, fish and meat being traded. Such an atmosphere and buzz and observing local life.
If you are planning to visit Siem Reap Angkor Wat we highly recommend staying at the Amansara, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Therese S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

If you want comfort, service, amazing food and great guided tours to the Temples of Angkor. This is the place to come. The rooms are spacious, specially the one with private pool(is worth the extra). The food either Western or Khemer is great. The house wine was a Chilean red carmener of great quality. The chef Molly is a great chef that takes care of detail. The service of the guided tours are very good. You can go to areas that no one has access. The f&b manager Audrey was always attentive to the clients and had always a good suggestion.

The 1965 Mercedes Limo is a charm and a must for transfers from the airport.

The hotel is very well run and detail is at the top of their agenda. The candles around the pool, the candles on the tables on the corridor reflecting the lotus flower. Very nice spa but need more massages and less raps. Spent 6 fantastic nights.

Room Tip: Rooms with the private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monaco98000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#41 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#20 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#28 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
2.3 mi away
Phum Baitang
Phum Baitang
#13 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amansara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amansara

Property: Amansara
Address: | Road to Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#16 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#29 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#61 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amansara 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amansara, the former guesthouse of King Sihanouk, is situated on the edge of Siem Reap just 10 minutes from the entrance to the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage Site. Set in a garden compound, the 24-suite luxury Angkor Wat resort has the ambience of a private home and is the ideal base for travellers seeking to explore Khmer culture and the ruins of Angkor. A variety of Cambodia temple excursions and cultural walks is available as part of the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amansara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amansara Siem Reap
Amansara Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing