We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly”
Review of Amansara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amansara
Ranked #97 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We have stayed at several excellent hotels during our travels in Vietnam and Cambodia, but this one tops them all. Peaceful luxury, wonderful service, excellent restaurant and beautiful rooms. We really couldn't have asked for more. The only negative is they don't have a gym -you have to go to the hotel across the ( busy) street for a mediocre gym.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertandRhoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

My partner and I came here for dinner at the start of February. I've wanted to come for years, but finally got round to it. The "Aman" experience was, from start to finish, amazing. From Audrey the restaurant manager, to the staff, everything was just perfect. Price is outstanding. We had a 3 course meal each, wine, beers, water and a cocktail (gorgeous "Angkortini") and the bill came to $185/£112. Amazing value for money. The food was the best we've had in Cambodia. The Khmer menu of beef curry, delicious greens, papaya salad, and fish soup was all balanced to perfection with flavours and herbs. My western meal of scallops and snapper was faultless and delicious. Best of all was the gingerbread cake and ice cream. By far the best ginger dessert we've ever had. Just amazing. High point however was the graceful and gentle but charming staff, all of whom made our experience memorable, even though we were not actual guests in the hotel. If you can make a reservation, do it. One day we'll be back to stay. One day!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLuxeTravelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights in a pool suite at Amansara during our 2 week holiday in Burma/Cambodia/Hong Kong. (We also spent 3 nights in the Strand Suite at the Strand Yangon, 3 nights in the Island Villa at the Aureum Palace Bagan, and 2 nights at the Upper House Hong Kong). Having stayed at many Amanresort properties in the past, we can say that all of the many accolades for Amansara are absolutely true and extremely well deserved. We loved Amansara.

Obviously, Amansara isn't cheap. However, we also had booked a free deluxe suite stay at the newly refurbished Park Hyatt Siem Reap for a mere US$280 plus 22k Hyatt points per night (trying to beat the recent Hyatt points devaluation), but decided in the end to stick with Amansara despite the cost. BEST DECISION WE MADE ON THIS TRIP! We had dinner one night at the Park Hyatt, and realized the money spent at Amansara was absolutely worth every penny. There was no comparison. Service, ambience, food quality, and the many little details STILL made Amansara the better deal in our opinion. Not to mention that Amansara provided the private guides as part of their rate, which we would have had to pay more for at the Park Hyatt without any likelihood that they would have been as good. When you come this far to see something like Angkor that we've wanted to see for so long, we wanted to do it right. Amansara is definitely doing it right!

Amans are about experience, and Amansara delivers. The property is beautifully chic in the 1960s manner in which it was originally designed.

First, the service. Aman service is the best there is, and Amansara delivered in spades--from the moment we arrived in Siem Reap's airport until the moment we checked in for our departure there. SEAMLESS. Everyone was charming, helpful, friendly, and always trying to please--and getting it done. So many times, people try so hard yet don't deliver; at Amansara, as with all Aman properties, everyone delivered.

Special shout-outs to Audrey & Molly, and to Sally, the GM. Rarely do we connect with hotel staff the way we connected with these amazing women. They all went OUT OF THEIR WAY to make our stay spectacular and memorable. My birthday happened to overlap our stay, and they helped to create stupendous and unforgettable birthday eve and birthday evenings for me. The special dinner they arranged on the rooftop bar was one of the highlights of our trip; my birthday eve celebration was surely a night I won't soon forget.

Second, our pool suite was wonderful. They are smaller overall than is typically found in Aman properties, more akin to the size of the regular Amangani room/suites in Jackson, WY. But the space was beautifully designed and wondrously different than any other hotels (Aman or otherwise) in which we have stayed. We loved the 1960s mod atmosphere. After 5 nights, we never felt cramped in any way. The pool and outside area was MUCH larger than the photos suggest on the website, actually, so we had wonderful indoor/outdoor time while in our suite. The weather was cooler than anticipated, so I only once used the pool, but we still enjoyed the feel of the water in our view. If you come when it is cooler, I don't think you will give up much by getting one of the non-pool suites. The air con worked perfectly during our entire stay, easily keeping the suite at 18 C the entire duration of our stay.

Third, we loved the food. Our arrival was late at night, but they still were able to arrange a wonderful dinner for us. We generally prefer to dine with the local cuisine, and we did mostly enjoy the Khmer offerings on the menu. With the single exception of our choices the first evening, we absolutely loved the Khmer menu and the different Khmer offerings. We rarely ordered off the Western menu, though I could never resist their gazpacho! Breakfasts were absolutely delicious--including their pancakes, which might be the best I've ever enjoyed. Molly, Aman's chef, does an amazing job with the menu. Audrey, the food and beverage director (but seemingly the activities director for the entire property!), checked in with us frequently to see if we needed anything and to offer suggestions for dining in town (which we did a few times, with great success), dining suggestions (she never did get me to try the Khmer breakfast despite her many attempts!), and other things we might want to try and experience. No stone was left unturned, indeed.

Finally, our guide and driver were wonderful. We didn't wake up at the crazy early hours as was suggested to us, instead opting to wake up at a decent hour and start our touring around 10:30 am in the mornings and 4:00-4:30 pm in the afternoons. That worked very well for us--as I hate awaking too early and feeling "on a schedule" and don't like to linger for hours hearing incessant details about the sites as much as most. We had given ourselves 4 full days to see the many temples, but we managed to see the 4 major temples (Bayon at Angkor Thom our first morning, Ta Prohm and some secluded smaller temples our first afternoon, Banteay Srei our second morning, and Angkor Wat our second afternoon) in our first 2 full days! So our 3rd full day we ventured out a bit further to see Preah Khan and a few other remote temples while spending that afternoon largely relaxing in our suite.

On our fourth and final full day, my birthday, we never left the property and instead relaxed in our suite (and my husband enjoyed the spa and a massage, which he said were wonderful). We never felt rushed, we felt we saw everything we wanted to see, and we never felt exhausted as a result. We felt we spent exactly the right amount of time to enjoy the Angkor temples while also enjoying the Amansara experience.

Amansara is spectacular. Sally, Audrey, Molly, and the rest of the Amansara staff went out of their way at every turn to ensure that we were happy, relaxed, and getting whatever we wanted at all times. When we changed our minds, they adjusted. When we couldn't make up our minds, they arranged multiple options and let us choose as needed, even at the last minute. Aman is about the experience as much as the location, and Amansara and Audrey, Molly, and Sally truly allowed us the chance to enjoy that experience better than we ever expected. They are a delight, and Amansara is a delight. We hope that our travels will bring us back to visit one day.

We highly recommend Amansara without a single reservation if it is within your budget--or even if you must splurge. It is an unparalleled experience, and an amazing way to explore Siem Reap and the Angkor temples.

Room Tip: Pool suites are great if you will use the pool and it's hot enough that the water will be comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Because I could go on and on and on about the many diverse magnificence aspects of this understated, elegant resort, I'll keep this review simple, just a Top Ten List of Reasons to Stay Here if you can possibly afford it:

1. The food is delicious, from morning to night, with three separate and equally well rounded menus, Khmer, Western AND vegetarian....but save room and peek under the Khmer woven baskets to see and eat the daily cakes, and Siem Reap's BEST brownie. Oh and the cookies are good too.

2. All treatments in the spa are sublime but my recent favorites include the fire meditation with Vijiaya who also trained four local blind massage therapists to give aman quality foot massages. These are THE BEST FOOT MASSAGES that I have ever had, with the added bonus of promoting this job training endeavor which is changing some lives for truly talented people.

3. If you can afford to stay here, consider upgrading for the cooling pleasures of a pool villa. Sexy, romantic, and spectacularly relaxing

4. Customized Angkor Wat tours included in this hotel’s all-inclusive rate are some of Siem Reap’s most comprehensive, and just more charming than all the rest, as you head off in the cool early morning by Aman’s custom Cambodian remork, a small carriage pulled by a motorcycle. For excursions further afield, book the Prince’s own vintage Mercedes limo.

5. Amansara invites the leading Angkor scholars like Roland Fletcher and Damian Evans to deliver their in-depth perspectives of the history, archaeology, architecture, and culture of Angkor

6. Make time to the weekly performance here by Landmine Survivors Cambodia, an inspiring troupe of land mine victims working hard to better their lives through this truly uplifting and entertaining show, suitable for all ages. Prepare to shed a few tears but know that your presence is part of the solution for Cambodia

7. Have a read through your villa's copy of the The Amansara Community Assistance Directory, comprised of around a dozen organizations which Amansara has carefully vetted. This was created to connects Siem Reap’s most effective social projects with Amansara guests who wish to make philanthropic contributions or deepen their involvement in the Cambodian community.

8. Breakfast at Aman’s traditional Khmer wooden house on stilts inside the Angkor temple complex, especially if you combine this with a session out here with the blind massage therapists

9. Shop the boutique, for upcycled chic KILT tire rubber bags, Eric Raisina 'silk fur' shawls, Weaves of Cambodia handloomed scarves, pretty little lotus bud earrings from Galerie Cambodge -- so many desirable items in such a small space

10. THE STAFF: They are English speaking but silent, yet still deliver world class, service in this remote outpost. I would like to take any and all of them home with me.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoppyHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

What a great spot. The rooms are perfect, the service is excellent. The in room amenities are perfect. I era all can't think of a better place to recover from the trips to all the wats. Expensive but worth every penny

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Our stay in the amansara was a dream: the architecture of the former king's palace, the old mercedes from 1965, the wonderful khmer food, the tour guides, the details everywhere. Of course the resort has its price, but it is very well worth every bit of it! In combination with the hidden temples it's one of earth's greatest spots.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Snugnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Having stayed at several Aman Resorts in Asia, it came as no surprise that Amansara met similar high standards. The staff were expert and accommodating. The manager (Sally) was welcoming and helpful with making suggestions for adding local color to our trip.
The facility fit in well with beauty and majesty of Siam Reap.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
6  Thank Alassio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
0.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#50 of 374 in Siem Reap
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#29 of 374 in Siem Reap
777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#43 of 374 in Siem Reap
1,356 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shintana Saya Residence
Shintana Saya Residence
#1 of 374 in Siem Reap
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amansara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amansara

Address: | Road to Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#16 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#74 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £1,240 - £1,667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amansara 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amansara, the former guesthouse of King Sihanouk, is situated on the edge of Siem Reap just 10 minutes from the entrance to the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage Site. Set in a garden compound, the 24-suite luxury Angkor Wat resort has the ambience of a private home and is the ideal base for travellers seeking to explore Khmer culture and the ruins of Angkor. A variety of Cambodia temple excursions and cultural walks is available as part of the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Amansara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amansara Siem Reap
Amansara Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing