We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, inspiring, magical experience”
Review of Amansara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amansara
Ranked #100 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Aman resorts are always top notch in our book. Amansara is not only top notch all around but it has something special that no other resort has. It's magical...The staff is so caring, they truly made us feel like a queen and king every moment of our stay. They are so wonderful that they surprised us with a Buddhist Monk one afternoon to bless our marriage. That was so memorable, moving and beyond our expectations. They had our stay activities arranged for outings with an amazing guide and special access to locations for only Amansara guests. While there was no pressure to go it was highly encouraged. I am not sure why you would travel to Siem Reap with out the intent of seeing the sights anyway. Angkor Wat was amazing along with all the other hidden gems arranged for us to go to. The accommodations are beautifully appointed. Every evening there was a special touch awaiting us. Even when we arrived the first night...It was around 10pm or later. They had anticipated we might be hungry and delivered some lovely sandwiches on top of the amazing fruit bowl that was already in the room. They also remembered I was vegetarian, which, I have found some hotels easily overlook. They were above and beyond, on it. The food at the hotel is amazing. We crave it to this day. The staff is extraordinary in every way. The spa is also something not to miss.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I visited SARA for 2 nights in February and wish I would have been able to stay longer! The entire experience was incredible! The daily tours, circus in town, resort grounds, staff... Everything was AMAN! The most helpful and knowledgeable English speaking staff was very attentive in every way. The food was exquisite! Every bite ordered was great. No TV in the suites, no problem! That was something I really enjoyed, I let the "Lama's Chant" CD play my entire stay. It was so peaceful! The gallery had amazing pieces to pick up conveniently. Should I have the opportunity to return I will definitely stay longer!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank FK717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Very very good service and top quality food and accommodation, make this property an little jewel.

With just a few rooms, you would think that this is your own private guest house, so intimate is the atmosphere and so well trained are the staff.

We stayed there for six nights and at the end of it, we need wanted to leave.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but try the ones with their own little swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pradeep_Sagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is not a typical "blow your socks off architectural Aman experience". This is the exquisite conversion of a famous 1960 kings home done in clean crisp lines, white render, green lawns, and dry stone walls. Holding back in every way possible ( less is more) and resulting in a immediately settling and peaceful hideaway. You wouldn't know it was there if the driver didn't pull up to an almost unmarked large black gate. Beyond is a shangrila .
If you are looking to disappear into your own private hideaway after a big day of temples or market shopping, then this is it.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with pool. A skinny dip to wake up before a dawn viewing of a few Angkor te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauriceSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was my first time at an Amansara; I certainly hope it's not my last. Frequented and favorited by Charles de Gaulle and Jackie Onassis among others; it certainly was an other-worldly experience for us.
Yes, it costs an arm and a leg. However they thoughtfully draw you a bath (with fragrant flowers floating on top) at the end of the day; so you can rest your bones after walking around and reveling in the wonders of Siem Reap. Did I mention that the footed tub is in your bedroom (freestanding) with a view of your private Terrace and Key West style (dunking) pool? Parenthetically, I have to say that the pool did admit a foul odor; but we kept the sliders closed. On the other hand, the long lap pool at the back of the hotel was just glorious and a wonderful way to end the afternoon.
Each room has a minibar that they will stock and replenish even with your favorite booze daily or more often if needed. The hotel itself reminded me of a Le Corbusier building; and the service is impeccable.
I suppose there are some people who take the luxury and amenities for granted; but I am not (and never will be) one of them.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Amansara is the way to go if you are looking for the perfect way to be spoilt all weekend and see the sights with some of the best guides in Cambodia.
The staff are wonderful and no job is too big or too small for them. Once in our room we were presented with our own personal itinerary for our "Temple Adventures". There were some very early morning starts but worth waking up for as you arrive to the temples before the masses arrive and it truly is an amazing experience.
Even though the hotel was at full capacity other than dinner time, you felt as if you were the only guest around.
The rooms are gorgeous, comfortable and spacious. The food was delicious. The chef was so kind that she would even prepare Gluten Free muffins for our 7 yr old for our early morning temple adventures.
The spa is fabulous and the atmosphere is perfect.
All the staff made our stay special. A perfect visit to Cambodia. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our trip through Cambodia, and this place is pretty amazing.

First we were greeted by an imigration officer the led us through the lines to get us through as fast as possible, while everyone else wated in line. We were then picked up in an old school benz which was pretty sweet.

The welcoming of amansara was great, food was really nice, and the management was top notch. They took care of us in first class style.

The rooms were also very nice, and modern, which we love.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#46 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#27 of 361 in Siem Reap
742 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#41 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,336 reviews
0.3 mi away
J7 Hotel
J7 Hotel
#43 of 361 in Siem Reap
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amansara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amansara

Address: | Road to Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#16 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#28 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#72 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £1,146 - £1,510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amansara 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amansara, the former guesthouse of King Sihanouk, is situated on the edge of Siem Reap just 10 minutes from the entrance to the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage Site. Set in a garden compound, the 24-suite luxury Angkor Wat resort has the ambience of a private home and is the ideal base for travellers seeking to explore Khmer culture and the ruins of Angkor. A variety of Cambodia temple excursions and cultural walks is available as part of the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amansara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amansara Siem Reap
Amansara Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing