We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautiful”
Review of Amansara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amansara
Ranked #95 of 343 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We did not stay at the hotel because it was sold out (really? at $1000/night?) but we visited the property and had lunch there. The place was absolutely beautiful, the pool, the restaurant, but especially the spa. Each room comes with its own retro tuk tuk. Food was so so but service was good. I didn't try the spa there because I booked spa appointment at Victoria across the street. That was a mistake. I'm sure the spa at Amansara is amazing; at least I'm sure it is the most beautiful one. I will try it on my next trip for sure.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jzwy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    24
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
71
183
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2010

i've been lucky enough to stay in some pretty nice places more often than not while traveling. i made a tripadvisor account specifically so i can review this hotel: the amansara is truly the best hotel i've ever experienced. though quality like this does not come cheap, it's so worth it if you can afford it because it includes daily tours, breakfast, lunch/dinner, and endless beverages & snacks. this review will be pretty detailed because i want everyone to know exactly what you get at the amansara.

the amansara is located in downtown siem reap, minutes away from all the temple sites. it is very unassuming from the street -- you wouldn't even know it was there if you didn't have someone pulilng into the driveway. but once you get enter, it's a tropical oasis of plumeria trees, flowers, fish ponds, swimming pools & lawns. it was a past cambodian king's summer house & there are only 24 rooms so the atmosphere is personal & peaceful. the food served at the hotel is simply delicious (you have a choice between western or local khmer style menus) -- we were constantly full & never even had to leave the hotel to eat. the rooms are all very clean, comfortable & zen-like. every night they draw a bath for you with floating lotuses, & instead of chocolates, they leave a little gift on your pillow, ie, jasmine rings, lotus bouquets, fans, & traditional all-purpose cambodian scarves.

though everything was top notch, i must say the amansara staff deserves the most credit. everyone is so warm & courteous, taking into account every single detail to ensure that your experience is nothing short of relaxing, fun, & tailored to your distinct traveling style..& i'm not even exaggerating. everyone makes an effort to remember all the guests & makes sure everyone is comfortable at all times. we didn't have to plan a thing -- they organize itineraries that include tour guides & transportation, carefully coordinated to avoid the large tourist crowds & unrelenting camodian sun, see all of the famous cambodian landmarks (as well as a few hidden gems) yet still making sure you have enough time to enjoy the hotel's wonderful amenities. additionally, they bring cambodian culture to you: during our stay, they invited traditional dancers & shadow puppet performers to come perform for the hotel guests!

a few instances really drove home how thoughtful & detail-oriented the amansara is. there are a few excursions that guests can pay extra for, & we chose to get a spiritual cleansing from a monk. the hotel arranged a car to take us there, & since custom dictates an offering to be made to the monk to perform these ceremonies, the hotel took care of this for us. afterwards, they even set up a little picnic with tea & snacks for us inside a nearby temple ruin -- a very unique treat for tourists! we also wanted to visit an orphanage, but we didn't know what to do or bring..however, fear not! amansara conveniently put together two types of gift baskets that we could purchase for $60 each to donate to the orphanage.

but what really sealed my love for amansara, though, was that the day we were leaving was my mom's birthday, & they mysteriously told us to go to the study after breakfast. turns out they drove in a monk to perform a blessing ceremony for my family, & hotel employees came in with a birthday cake to sing happy birthday to my mom! it was such a wonderful surprise & really made a lasting impression on our experience.

i have never been sad to leave a hotel in my life, but with such a warm & caring staff, it truly felt like i was leaving family. i can't imagine my amazing experience in cambodia had i not stayed at the amansara. i would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baybeelayzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Wow. I really loved this hotel, starting with our transfer in a vintage Mercedes limousine from the airport to the property. The service seemed almost psychic. They brought wonderful spring rolls and sandwiches to our rooms when we arrived because they thought we might be hungry (I was). Another example: After a long day of sightseeing, I was discussing with my colleague how a relaxing bath would be lovely. I open my door to find a warm bath drawn for me and strewn with lotus blossoms.

The open-plan suite was as lovely as could be, with Cambodian elements accenting the chic, contemporary furnishings.

The sightseeing they arranged was fantastic (standing alone in Angkor Wat at dawn is something I’ll never forget), and the Cambodian cuisine in the restaurant was unfailingly delightful. I also now fully understand the appeal of a private swimming pool. What fun to have a dip after a morning’s sightseeing, followed by a nap on the neighboring cushions! One of the best hotels I’ve experienced.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

My husband and I traveled to Siem Reap and stayed at the Amansara for 3 nights in 2005. We had an an amazing time there and felt the Aman experience was the best we ever had. We returned again to SE Asia to visit Vietnam this Nov/Dec and decided that we had to revisit Siem Reap. We booked 5 nights at the Amansara and were just as pleased on our second visit. The staff, managers and guides at this property create a magical feeling that is like visiting good friends. The service is attentive but relaxed and you are greeted with warm smiles every time you see anyone. The food is fantastic, particularly the Khmer menu which is included as part of the rate. Yes it is expensive, but hands down this is one of the finest travel experiences we have ever had and we have traveled extensively.
We did a number of activities while staying in addition to the temple visits:
-Visited an orphanage - arranged by the Amansara
-Romantic dinner at the Khmer village house
-Motor biking in the jungle at Mount Khulen and swimming in the waterfall at the river of a thousand lingas
-Visting the West Baray (West Mebon) and the Khmer village house for tea with scholar in residence - archaeologist Roland Fletcher

Highly recommend the experience it is well worth the price! Special kudos to the manager Siddarth who is a true dynamo.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelseaTraveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

We loved our six nights here. It gave us time to see everything we wanted, without being in a rush or hurry, and allowed our wonderful guide to arrange photo ops under the best light and conditions. Our pool suite couldn't have been nicer, and was cleaned several times a day. We ate like kings and loved the open bar and all of house wines. Be sure to get a pool suite. We also loved our cooking class at the Khmer house that you can read about in the materials. The staff are incredible, with virtually all willing to tell of how family members somehow survived the cruelty and murder of the Khmer Rouge. I can't say enough wonderful things about how we were treated here. Yeah, it's spendy.....but I had to admit it was worth it all. Feel free to write if you have specific questions.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2009

The service at Amansara really blew me away. It was absolutely top notch. I felt like a king. Staff were there when you wanted them and knew when to leave you alone. The hotel is quite an oasis in Siem Reap. It's a smaller Aman property, but quite exquisite. The food was uniformly excellent - particularly the breakfasts. The Pool Suites are very nice - very plush interiors, but a somewhat cold private pool terrace. The excursions to the temples are fantastic - one step ahead of the crowds every single time - excellent! Amansara made me feel like I was the only one at the hotel, and made me feel like they were losing a friend when I left. Very, very, impressed. There is no other hotel of this calibre in chaotic Siem Reap.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

My wife and I went last year (new to trip advisor; that's why I'm writing this only now). We had the most relaxing and elegant experience we've ever had at a . . . hotel, but one can't call this a hotel. Siddarth Mehra and the staff were like nothing we'd ever seen before. All the way down to the cigar lighter, everything spoke of the attention to the details. The food -- Khmer cuisine -- was superb as well. Go no other place in Siem Reap.

Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VanillaThunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#47 of 343 in Siem Reap
1,256 reviews
2.0 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#27 of 343 in Siem Reap
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.3 mi away
J7 Hotel
J7 Hotel
#54 of 343 in Siem Reap
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amansara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amansara

Property: Amansara
Address: | Road to Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#16 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#29 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#69 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amansara 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amansara, the former guesthouse of King Sihanouk, is situated on the edge of Siem Reap just 10 minutes from the entrance to the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage Site. Set in a garden compound, the 24-suite luxury Angkor Wat resort has the ambience of a private home and is the ideal base for travellers seeking to explore Khmer culture and the ruins of Angkor. A variety of Cambodia temple excursions and cultural walks is available as part of the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amansara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amansara Siem Reap
Amansara Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing