We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Loved Borann Guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SiZen Retreat & Spa
Ranked #105 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2008

What a stunning place to experience Siem Reap. I would not stay anywhere else. People use the word oasis, and that's exactly what I thought when I arrived. Coming 'home' from the dusty hubbub of Siem Reap to Borann was just gorgeous. Room was exceptionally clean and was serviced everyday, bathroom was great, shower had hot water also if needed it. Balcony was lovely and spent many hours chilling and catching the last sunrays overlooking the pool.
Pool is a godsend to chill out around after temple trekking or Psar Char shopping, grab a pot of Jasmine tea and call it heaven.
Tuk Tuk into town is only 1-2 mins and charge $1 USD (though they will try to get more - I mean what's an extra 50c or $1 now and again anyway).
I got a guide and a car from the hotel ($25 for guide and $25 for car per day), both driver and guide were lovely, definately recommend it.. It's worth having a guide for the temples, otherwise you are walking around these magnificent structures with no knowledge of what is going on or what the carvings mean - you pay this much to get to Cambodia, pay another $50 to learn more.
Stay here and you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Katstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for SiZen Retreat & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2008

Large rooms with comfortable beds. The kids loved the saltwater pool and was enormously refreshing after a hot day exploring the temples. Cheap $2 tuk-tuk ride into town. Breakfasts were not special, but offered basic fare that was fine. Siem Reap is not a foodie's paradise, but the temples are AWESOME and arranging an informative guide through the front desk at Borann was easy. The best meal we had was a little place across from Angor Wat where our guide "Wee" took us for lunch.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hinkochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2007

Enjoyed a 2 night stay at this lodging for 2 people. Bungalow style rooms with air con, big beds, good private shower/bathroom, private veranda overlooking palm leaves, quiet and peaceful retreat from the hectic pace of Siem Reap. The location is easiet to get to/from the airport if you take a tuk-tuk or taxi as it is out of reach. But, it is nice it is out of the way because Siem Reap is full of busy and noisy mopeds and tourists. This is a nice place to be away from all of that but still close enough to get a tuk-tuk to take you around all day to the temples and sights. My only con would be the restaurant in which breakfast was over priced and mainly served with alot of bread, seemed to skimp on the other food...I would suggest you take a ride to the "old market" instead where you can get a much better meal anytime of day for cheaper and keep this place as a nice retreat for your lodging. Internet access (2 computers) is available next to the restaurant/checkin area for a small price.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank OT2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2007

Borann is beutifully apointed with simple elegance from the layout to apointements. With traditional Khmer architecture and relaxing gardens I can see why people call this place an oasis. The pool was a refreshing treat after the magnifigence of Angkor. My only complaints would be price at over US $40 and out of the way location. These issues aside this was my brothers favorite hotel of many and my favorite bathroom of the trip. The ceramic mandy cistern was a real nice touch. This place has the exotic feel of old Cambiodia.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2007

The Auberge des Temples is truly an oasis in dusty Siem Reap! Getting there is a bit of a hassle since it's on the other side of the river and you have to walk for about 100 yds down a back-alley (dimly lit at night) before reaching the gates. But once inside the grounds you realize that they were orignally an orchard and that the hotel has kept most of the vegetation. The hotel itself consists of a number of two-storey villas spread out among the tropical trees (lots of palms, mango, papaya and banana trees...and flowers everywhere). There's also a lovely pool...All the rooms have air-con and fans and separate "water rooms" with showers and traditional Khmer baths (great for those hot days trekking around the ruins!). Breakfast is served in the open-air lobby: French baguettes and croissants and home-made jam (for a couple of dollars extra). The hotel staff is very friendly and will arrange tours or rentals. It also rents out decent bikes.
There are always a couple of tuk-tuks waiting around if you need to get into town in the evening.
This hotel is a great deal for under 50$. If you're looking for a nice, quiet place with lots and lots of atmosphere...this is the place!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank RAPLongueuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2007

the hotel is very beautiful, is like a litle villa with only 20 rooms that you cannot see because of the big beautiful garden.
the swiming pool is very nice and is has confortable chairs.

for me the only problem of this hotel was the location... is far from the city center and if you want to have dinner or drink you have to take a tuk-tuk which sometimes can be expensive.
one other thing, if you stay outside in the evening put lots, i mean lots, of insects repelent.
the staff is helpful and they can provide almost everything you need.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank idependent_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2006

Highly recommend it if you are looking for a quiet and peaceful place. If you must have mini bars and tv, this is not your place. If you prefer a lush setting (with a good swimming pool), this is for you. The owner financially supports a network of orphanages throughout the country so your money also goes to a good cause. Really enjoyed our time there and the guide they recommended could not be faulted.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
#160 of 361 in Siem Reap
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 20th Street
Hotel 20th Street
#123 of 361 in Siem Reap
248 reviews
2.0 mi away
Angkor Spirit Palace
Angkor Spirit Palace
#188 of 361 in Siem Reap
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#87 of 361 in Siem Reap
869 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#39 of 361 in Siem Reap
491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Central Indochine D'angkor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SiZen Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SiZen Retreat & Spa

Address: Wat Bo Street | Just a 300 meters from the Royal Pavillon, Siem Reap 17251, Cambodia (Formerly Borann, l'Auberge des Temples)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#28 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#33 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £11 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SiZen Retreat & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SiZen Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borann Auberge Des Temples Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing