We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Borann”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SiZen Retreat & Spa
Ranked #94 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a lovely garden setting, pool, outdoor eating area and only 20 or so bungalows set amongst the palms and trees. Room was a terrific size and could have been even better if the bed was smaller. In many years of travel this was a genuinely ridiculous bed. Room also needed more lighting and the most serious omission was a small refrigerator. Siem Reap is hot and guests need to be able to organise their own drinks. Tea and coffee provision was also absent. We could not recommend this hotel for these reasons. Cleaning was fantastic. Breakfasts were very good, however the restaurant menu was quite limited.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoteWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thanks for your comment...even if i do not understand it. Beds are either one double of 200 x 160 cm or two twins of 200 x 120 cm...which are big beds. It is according to international standard...

Looking forward to welcoming you. Bénito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed at Borann after spending almost a month in 5 star settings and were really tired of being so divorced from the real world. It seemed a shame to be in a place like Siem Reap and be so distant from the people and culture. The Borann was the answer. The staff were as welcoming as they could be, friendly and helpful. The rooms are simple but clean. The food was beyond expectations. Access to downtown was easy via always-available tuk-tuks and never cost more than $3., including a tip, and they were always happy to come back to get us at an appointed time. We were there during the hottest weather (April). The air conditioning in the room kept us comfortable. The pool was great after a long hot day at the temples. We enjoyed it and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: steep stairs to second floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thanks a lot for your nice comment.
Looking forward to welcoming you again. Bénito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This was an excellent base from which to explore the amazing remains at Angkor. Rooms are simple and clean and we particularly enjoyed cooling down the Cambodian way using the giant water containers in the bathroom. Pool is decent. Food was fine. Location good if you are happy being a ride away from the very busy downtown. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being upstairs - but all rooms looked good - and the steps are quite steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheltenham5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thank you very much for your nice comment. As you may understand, it is very important for us when our existing guest do write what they do think about us. Competition is hard and some other hotels do use special marketing companies to create great comments. They do produce a lot of comments and it is always difficult to compete with them.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at Borann. Bénito and Borann's team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We are a family of 4 and we stayed 5 nights at Borann Hotel end of Feb- beg of March.
The place in itself is very nice, nice garden, nice swimming pool, in a quiet environment. The rooms are well decorated and the breakfast is great.
However, out of the 5 nights we stayed there, all of them were totally or partially with a power cut. we had some difficult nights as the weather is really hot at that time of the year!
And the hotel has no generator!! Very disappointing for an hotel aiming to be at a certain standard.
The staff kept saying that it was very rare that there was power cut .... but then why do so many of the shops, restaurants and small hotels/GH in the area have a generator???
So yes I would recommend this hotel, but definitely not during the hot season.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Albane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoBenoit, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Dear Albane,

Thanks for your comment. It is nice to hear you enjoyed our hotel and services despite the huge inconvenience you mentioned about electricity cut that unfortunately has affected very negatively your comment on us.

I am sorry about the electricity problem and would like you to know that we were not responsible. Unfortunately, noone could have anticipated that 70 km far from Siem reap, a drunken driver had lost control of his truck before hitting one pylon sustaining cables bringing electricity from Thailand. It had plunged the entire province in the dark from February 28th for 3 days. This accident had created the break of 8 pylons and it took 3 days for people from Thailand to come to repear it. The consequences were huge for all customers in Siem Reap, and for all of us (losing a lot of food and dairy products...).
Authorities managed to produce some electricity with old machines but not enough for the entire city at night. Hotel belonging to militaries high ranking managed to get priority access to it and many small hotel like us didn't receive any of that electricity at night despite reapeated requests. We had tried to find generators big enough to fit our needs but nothing was anymore available. As you'll discover in the press if you make some research, it was not our case alone.

All staff of Borann and myself would like to reiterate our deepest regrets and hope you'll come again to enjoy fully our hotel and its services as it should have been.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Benito and all Borann's team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Absolute nice quiet, calm & charming little Hotel in a beautiful garden with a nice pool & a restaurant to relax after a long temple day around Angkor ... the service is welcoming & the bungalows are really beautiful ... the very best one is on the First Floor & with view over Pool !!!
It's also a good place to stay with children. L' Auberge is within a walking distance along the River to the old city of Siem Reap where you have a lot oft nice restaurants & Bars ... or you take just your personal Tuk Tuk Driver !!!

Room Tip: The best one's were the rooms on the First Floor of the bungalows, the BEST ONE is that with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoBenoit, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Thanks a lot for your nice comment. It is nice to get your feed back and we will be happy to welcome you again. Bénito. and Borann's team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in this relaxing hotel. We'd come back from the temples and relax either by the pool or on our balcony overlooking the lush garden. The staff were wonderful, either in giving advice, sorting tuk tuks or helping with our luggage (including in our case a bicycle). It's peaceful ambience comes from it being a walk or short ride into the heart of the town. The bathrooms are particularly lovely, with an urn full of water to tip on yourself as well as a traditional shower.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Thanks a lot for your nice comments.
We hope to see you again soon. Bénito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed for 4 nights with friends, enjoyed very much this small and relaxed place. Nice and clean rooms, very good breakfast, beautiful garden and nice saltwater pool. Staff is pleasant available and very helpful.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

Thanks a lot for your nice comment. With all the staff of Borann, we are looking forward to welcoming you again. Bénito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#85 of 361 in Siem Reap
871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 20th Street
Hotel 20th Street
#121 of 361 in Siem Reap
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
#158 of 361 in Siem Reap
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#40 of 361 in Siem Reap
500 reviews
2.0 mi away
Angkor Spirit Palace
Angkor Spirit Palace
#188 of 361 in Siem Reap
450 reviews
1.1 mi away
Asanak D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
Asanak D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
#165 of 361 in Siem Reap
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SiZen Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SiZen Retreat & Spa

Address: Wat Bo Street | Just a 300 meters from the Royal Pavillon, Siem Reap 17251, Cambodia (Formerly Borann, l'Auberge des Temples)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#32 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £14 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SiZen Retreat & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your SiZen Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borann Auberge Des Temples Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing