We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice and welcoming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SiZen Retreat & Spa
Ranked #102 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

In Siem Reap for working purposes, I have decided to stay at Borann. And I really enjoyed it. After a busy day of work and meetings, I always appreciate to be in a relaxing and quiet atmosphere, an undeniable asset of this hotel. In fact, everything is done to make you feel comfortable. Staff is very nice and always helpful. The room is simple but very nice, the area is quiet, a guarantee for a good rest during the night, and the breakfast gives you a good start for the day. I will definitely go back to that hotel next time I am in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RV-Cambodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thanks so much for your nice comments. It is always nice to see that people enjoy the effort we do for them to stay comfortably with us. As you wish to come back, you'll discover some new little things to make your stay even nicer : shower gel and shampoo from Bodia Nature and Spa, made in Cambodia from natural products ( Ylang Ylang or Rice § Lemongrass gels and Kaffir lime and spirulina for the shampoo). In addition, coffee and tea are now available free of charge in the rooms with the nice pottery from Roluos.
So, looking forward to welcoming you again. Bénito and Borann's team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

I came here on a business trip. The place is really quite, calm and beautiful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff is friendly.
I really recommend this place if you want to relax after hours of visit.
I wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie_G_PP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thanks so much for your nice comment. It is always nice to see that people enjoy staying with us. Looking forward to see you again. Bénito and all Borann's team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Booked for three nights but stayed fro an extra 3 nights as pool and gardens were such a refreshing reward at the end of the day. Staff extremely professional and friendly. Breakfast was fresh fruit (mango, banana, water melon, Dragon fruit), croissant, French bread, coffee, fruit shake and eggs of your choice - very nice. Walking distance of centre of town but cheap tuk-tuks available at door. Rooms comfortable with good air-con, including fan on balcony. Free WIFI also.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCCCDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thanks a lot for your nice comment. Yes, indeed, all the team of Borann is working hard for you to enjoy your stay with us and it is a pleasure to read it worth it...
Looking forward to welcoming you again. Bénito and Borann's team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay for 4 days at Borann. The staff were very helpful and arranged on short notice an excellent guide and driver for our group of 5. They cheerfully made reservations at the excellent cooking school at Le Tigre du Papier and also other restaurants. The rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast fresh and tasty (but limited.) The two story bungalows with 4 rooms each situated in an attractive garden with pool was perfect for our family. Don't expect luxury amenities (no TV, spa, etc...) but wifi worked at the breakfast table. The Borann is not downtown, but some good restaurants are walking distance and the tuktuks seemed always available and reasonably priced for trips to Siam Reap center. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PikaKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thanks for your nice comment. It is nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. For the location of Borann, yes, it is downtown...when looking a map, but fortunately far enough from what some consider now to be downtown, the busy and noisy "Pub street" which is located in the south of the city. ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Nice and neat rooms in bungalows under the shadow of the trees, lovely garden, nice pool, fine food and (last but not least) great staff, warm, efficient and helpfull. The owner is the founder of the first Cambodian Foundation for children, "Krousar Thmey" (88th best NGO in the world 2013, The Global Journal). He built this hotel several years ago in order for him to earn his living and be able to work for free for the Foundation. He still does. An impressive lifestory and a great place to stay...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thanks for your nice comment. Yes, indeed, i had created Borann in order to earn my own living and not to cost anything to the organization i created some 22 years ago as you mentioned. And i am happy to contribute also to give tourist a great image and memories of their stay with us.
Thanks a lot. You may find my story in the book "Healing Cambodia, One child at a time".
Bénito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a lovely garden setting, pool, outdoor eating area and only 20 or so bungalows set amongst the palms and trees. Room was a terrific size and could have been even better if the bed was smaller. In many years of travel this was a genuinely ridiculous bed. Room also needed more lighting and the most serious omission was a small refrigerator. Siem Reap is hot and guests need to be able to organise their own drinks. Tea and coffee provision was also absent. We could not recommend this hotel for these reasons. Cleaning was fantastic. Breakfasts were very good, however the restaurant menu was quite limited.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoteWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thanks for your comment...even if i do not understand it. Beds are either one double of 200 x 160 cm or two twins of 200 x 120 cm...which are big beds. It is according to international standard...

Looking forward to welcoming you. Bénito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed at Borann after spending almost a month in 5 star settings and were really tired of being so divorced from the real world. It seemed a shame to be in a place like Siem Reap and be so distant from the people and culture. The Borann was the answer. The staff were as welcoming as they could be, friendly and helpful. The rooms are simple but clean. The food was beyond expectations. Access to downtown was easy via always-available tuk-tuks and never cost more than $3., including a tip, and they were always happy to come back to get us at an appointed time. We were there during the hottest weather (April). The air conditioning in the room kept us comfortable. The pool was great after a long hot day at the temples. We enjoyed it and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: steep stairs to second floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thanks a lot for your nice comment.
Looking forward to welcoming you again. Bénito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#85 of 361 in Siem Reap
870 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 20th Street
Hotel 20th Street
#122 of 361 in Siem Reap
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
#157 of 361 in Siem Reap
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#40 of 361 in Siem Reap
500 reviews
2.0 mi away
Angkor Spirit Palace
Angkor Spirit Palace
#191 of 361 in Siem Reap
450 reviews
1.1 mi away
Asanak D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
Asanak D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
#169 of 361 in Siem Reap
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SiZen Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SiZen Retreat & Spa

Address: Wat Bo Street | Just a 300 meters from the Royal Pavillon, Siem Reap 17251, Cambodia (Formerly Borann, l'Auberge des Temples)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#32 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £13 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SiZen Retreat & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your SiZen Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borann Auberge Des Temples Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing