We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secret garden escape from the busy city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SiZen Retreat & Spa
Ranked #111 of 340 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A secret garden escape from the busy city”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights with my mom and we both absolutely loved it!!!
Pros: villa style accommodation with pretty garden in the middle, clean and refreshing pool, beautifully decorated rooms and bathrooms, helpful and friendly staff, fan and aircon in room, friendly tuk tuk drivers waiting right outside with reasonable prices to downtown so distance to town was never a problem, breakfast included, computer available to use if needed, decent wifi but not always available in rooms
Still give it a 5/5 but the Cons are:
Not very comfy pool lounge chairs, food is just decent: breakfast always the same and the one dinner we ate there was ok, bed and pillow were also ok: just a little too hard for my liking, small fridge in rooms could be great for cold water...instead you must buy new ones if you want cold

Cons are all just minor things as I would stay here again and recommend it to friends! Thumbs up, thanks Borann!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gmurph1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Yes indeed, our garden is a big part of the atmosphere of Borann. As you have seen, the staff is taking good care of it, and we keep this big land of 3500 sqm for only 20 rooms for everyone to have a unique part of it.
Hope to seen you again, thanks for having taken some time to review your stay with us. Bénito and all Borann's team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    63
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
72
122
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed for two nights in this lovely hotel, which is about a 15 minute walk to downtown Siem Reap. Our room was on the top floor of one of the little multi-unit buildings that are arranged around a beautiful garden and pool. The hotel arranged a guide to the Angkor site for us - Mr. Sovandy - who was a top notch, English speaking guide. He walked for hours with us in the 100 degree plus heat through in Angkor Thom and Angkor Wat - describing the history not only of the temples but also about his life and experiences in Cambodia. What a wonderful, knowledgeable person he is - I wish I could include his email address but ask Mr. Bunna at Hotel Borann to set you up with him as your guide. It was a fabulous introduction to Cambodia and the amazing sites in/near Siem Reap. We look forward to going back again some day soon.

Room Tip: Our top floor room was great - a nice balcony in the tree tops with lots of birds, flowers, and palm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thanks a lot for your nice comment. Yes, we do pay attention to have great guides as we understand the disappointment spending time with a incompetent one. We always prefer saying having no guides available than sending a bad one. So, we do appreciate your comment to tell you have enjoyed our services and the guide we had chosen for you. Hope to see you again. Bénito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

There is no doubt that the atmosphere created by the gardens and non standard touches in the rooms makes this a unique experience. If I am honest I loved the 'non standard' elements like the Khmer shower. Pouring a bucket of cold water over my head was a great was to cool down from the heat. I also loved the fact that we could swim late at night. This added to the overall ambience of the place. In terms of location, it's a 20 minute walk from the centre of town. We never paid more than $2 for a tuk tuk and hired one from the front of the hotel for a three day trip to the temples.

Now the downside. We travelled around Cambodia and Vietnam for a month. On the whole I thought the customer service lacked focus in this guest house. On numerous occasions we were left standing at reception for minutes while staff appeared to talk on mobile phones. This is not a criticism of everyone. Several of the staff are very focused and attentive but there was definitely a variety of standards.

I found the food at the Borann to be a disappointment. The breakfast was ok on day one, but after the 4th day it became a complete repetition. I can understand keeping costs under control but introducing variety would improve the service and standard. Compared to the rest of our extended trip it was among the worst breakfast we experienced. We decided to eat lunch at the Boran and it was by far and away the worst food I have ever had from a restaurant in south east Asia on this and any other trip. The Fish Amok looked like a plate of 'sick', with presentation to match. The chicken curry had the most bland insipid sauce I have ever tasted, again with poor presentation. Thankfully I sampled the Amok dish on several other occasions later in my trip and it was fantastic. .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg4bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thanks for your comment.
I have appreciated your comment, despite being mixed. I am sorry that your perception of the staff was so so as we always have nice comment on their availability and capacity to respond immediately to customers request.
For the past years we have improved our service to fit better customer's expectations. Recently we have imported matress toppers in order to provide more comfortable bedding.
Going to the center by touk touk is a maximum of 10 minutes, and 20 minutes walking quietly but being a little far away from the noisy pub street allow customers to enjoy the peacefull garden.
I hope you'll be able to come back to Borann in order to enjoy the way customers usually do with us. Bénito and Borann's team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The a hotel has a luxurious garden and a lovely pool (a must in Siem Reap to survive the central hours of the day) and big and well decorated rooms (the khmer shower is a plus). The staff proved helpful and the internal restaurant is quite good.
Why not the maximum rating then? The first night we stayed in one of the ground floor rooms (15 - IIRC) and the noise/vibration from the AC machines bolted on the outside of the room made it quite a horrible night. Notified of the problem in the morning the staff moved us to a 1st floor room and the rest of our stay has been perfect.

Room Tip: Higher floows have less AC unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giomagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thanks for your nice comment.

I have noted your comment related to the A/C and have requested the staff to double the rubber pads in order to stop vibration. Hard weather conditions make their life short and it was true that it needed to be changed.
Hope to see you again. Benito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My mother and I stayed in Borann hotel for 2 days and I would come to stay there for many more. It is a lovely boutique hotel with a beautiful garden, inviting swimming pool, and well-trained and friendly staff. A minor negative point - for me the matress was a bit hard but my Mum felt it was ok. Also, the lighting in the rooms is quite dim which may be not to everyone's taste. Overall, it was great.
There was something about the atmosphere of this place which made it really special. We would like to say a big thanks to the staff of the hotel for being so helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulyushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thanks a lot for your nice comment....and to make it better next time, you'll discover from mid-april that we have followed your advice in adding toppers to the mattress in order to be even more comfortable.
Hope to see you again soon. Bénito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The location of the hotel is great, away from the buzz of the bar street. Rooms are big and clean, but a litle dark. The bathroom was really great. The staff was very helpfull at finding us a great guide last minute. There was some noise in the early morning, but it didn't bother us because we had to get up early.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soba1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thanks so much for your nice comment. We do appreciate to read that our customers do enjoy the place we keep in good condition despite the climate.
See you again. Bénito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Maybe the loveliest of guesthouses at Siem Reap. It was a great find by my wife. Owned by a French man, its made like a french place with central court yard lined by white washed rooms. The entry is into a high roofed open to air place to sit and eat. Ahead is a great pool and all around are rooms.

The morning buffet breakfast is great with some baguette, eggs to order, coffee and fresh fruits.

Have some pictures attached.

Definitely recommended.Definitely.

Room Tip: Choose the one just beside the pool. FIrst floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ankitparul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thanks so much for your nice comment. You enjoyed it..we enjoy it. Hope to see you again. Bénito and Borann's team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.5 mi away
Sekla Villa Angkor
Sekla Villa Angkor
#71 of 340 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#84 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#56 of 340 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
#139 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.8 mi away
Central Indochine D'angkor Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SiZen Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SiZen Retreat & Spa

Property: SiZen Retreat & Spa
Address: Wat Bo Street | Just a 300 meters from the Royal Pavillon, Siem Reap 17251, Cambodia (Formerly Borann, l'Auberge des Temples)
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#28 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#33 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SiZen Retreat & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SiZen Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borann Auberge Des Temples Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing