We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SiZen Retreat & Spa
Ranked #110 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

A bit aside from busy Siem Reap (walk 25 minutes to the downtown). This is a peaceful guest house where we spent four days, with quite many hours lazying around the pool. Internet was very poor in our room.
Please note that two women had their bag snatched at night in front of the gate when we were there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krsto57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks a lot for your nice comment. Since, we have upgraded our internet in order to have access to the room and have wired it to be finer 1giga at the hotel. It is a lot faster, but due to nature, treees are not good friends with wifi, when it rain too much, the trafic might be a bit slow...but a lot better that what you experienced.
In addition we have completed our beddings with upper mattress which will provide you more comfort.
And just to be fair, no we are not far from the centre but far enough from this noisy pub street which is good to have a drink, but surely not to sleep next to it...and where robberies are common.
Looking forward to welcoming you again, Bénito and all the team of Borann.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    63
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
72
123
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Borann L'Auberge des Temples for 4 days. The hotel was perfect, with immaculate rooms and a real charm with the colourful gardens and swimming pool. It was just a 20 minute walk to the centre of Siem Reap (Pub Street), somewhere we could easily access if we wanted to but were pleased we weren't staying.
The temples could be accessed easily and the hotel offered a welcome comfort and relaxation after a long day on our feet. Staff were friendly and food was also good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magoose33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks a lot for your nice comment. Hope to welcome you again in Siem reap...or any of your friends, of course. Bénito and all Borann team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband, 9 year old daughter and I stayed at Borann for 4 days in April. It was a very relaxing and peaceful stay. The staff was great. The breakfast was very enjoyable.. We especially loved the homemade jams. We would place our order the night before and request a time and breakfast would be ready when we came down at that time the next day. We stayed in a second floor room with a lovely balcony...stairs very steep as others mentioned. It was extremely hot during our stay and we appreciated the Khmer style "shower" and took advantage of it more than once per day. There is a shower with hot water in the bathroom as well but in that heat we didn't want a hot shower anyway. We had twin beds and the bed was large enough to accommodate my 9 yr old and I comfortably. We had a late flight on our last day and they let us check out late.. If you plan to hire a driver through them and get picked up from the airport, I'd suggest emailing them to confirm their prices so there are no surprises. Their website was out of date in this regard. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Siem Reap!

Room Tip: Would recommend ground floor if traveling with very small children or seniors as the steps to the 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CB1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks a lot for your nice comment.
I do appreciate your comment on our homemade jam as we tried to have the best quality breakfast as possible;
Looking forward to welcoming you again, Bénito and Borann's team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Very quiet place, kind staff, very clean room and affordable. You're in the center of Siem Reap or at Angkor within 10-15mn of Tuk Tuk, and 5mn from the museum. If you need a driver ask for Kim San, very nice and reliable man. His number is (855) 12 322 411 - san613496@yahoo.com

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank jcarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks a lot for your nice comment. We do appreciate to have comment to highlight the peaceful character we try to keep at Borann.
Thanks and hope to see you again. Bénito and all Borann's team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This place is a jewel in this town. The welcoming staff start your visit off with a welcome iced drink before they walk you to your villa with its own verandah. A dip in the pool is just what is called for after a short hop from Singapore and a short ride from the airport. Although there our plenty of places to eat and drink in town we chose a quite evening with the pool and restaurant to ourselves. The food and service is fantastic. The rustic and unfussy nature of this hotel is a hark back to how visits to Asia should be - easy going and relaxing. The rooms are excellently maintained and there is no need to bring toiletries as these are all provided. This is our first trip to Cambodia and without a doubt won't be out last; certainly always choosing to stay at the Borann Hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks a lot for your nice comment. Regarding toiletry, yes indeed you can find them in the room with those natural products from Bodia Nature, made in Cambodia. We are providing 3 different flagrance for you to choose the one you prefer.
Hope to see you again. Bénito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore River, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Arrived at the hotel this afternoon from our home in Singapore. What a fantastic surprise to be greated by such character and friendly staff, a million miles away from the purgatory of crowne plazas. Rooms are fantastically basic in a colonial style but you still have ac and a ceiling fan, there is also a fan on your private balcony. We were too tired to got out for dinner so ate here - also fantastic. I haven't yet left but can't wait to return :)

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good as are set around a central palm filled courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks a lot for your nice comment, especially regarding the quality of food. It was a dilemma : to offer food to customers who would like to stay and have dinner or lunch on site in order to benefit longer from our peaceful garden, without proposing a too large choice. To have a too large menu does not allow to have it fresh or to open to outside guest to worth it.
We choose to keep the peaceful atmosphere but having quality food. Therefore the choice is not large, but we can make it really tasty...and we do appreciate a lot when customers do enjoy it.
Thanks a see you again at Borann. Bénito and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I didn't travel so far for long time and we followed Lonely Planet's recommendation when we planned our trip to Siem Reap. It was the right decision for staying in Borann!
The hotel is a bit out of town (a 15 minute walk or a 2 minutes tuk tuk ride) but that is to its benefit as it is a little oasis of peace outside from downtown Siem Reap.
Borann has a really beautiful garden and a nice swimming pool, very quite and relaxing.
The rooms are simple, nice designed in Cambodian style and clean, with everything you need. All rooms have aircon and fan and a safety box.
Every room has a little terrace facing the garden.
All the staff are friendly, smiling and nice.
Breakfast is included and food at the restaurant is very good.
We recommend this pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 710RoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks a lot for your nice comment. We know that customers do appreciate the efforts made by all the team for you to have a nice stay...and it is always good to hear it from the customers.
Thanks again and see you soon (or your friends) at Borann.
Bénito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#86 of 353 in Siem Reap
856 reviews
0.8 mi away
Central Indochine D'angkor Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
#157 of 353 in Siem Reap
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sidewalk Never Die Hotel Siem Reap
0.4 mi away
Villa Um Theara
Villa Um Theara
#171 of 353 in Siem Reap
164 reviews
1.5 mi away
The White Terrace
The White Terrace
#79 of 353 in Siem Reap
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SiZen Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SiZen Retreat & Spa

Property: SiZen Retreat & Spa
Address: Wat Bo Street | Just a 300 meters from the Royal Pavillon, Siem Reap 17251, Cambodia (Formerly Borann, l'Auberge des Temples)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#28 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#33 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SiZen Retreat & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your SiZen Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borann Auberge Des Temples Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing